We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value, yummy vegan sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Appetit

Grand Appetit
9,rue de la Cerisaie, Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)
01 40 27 04 95
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,648 of 13,399 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Neighborhood: Hôtel-de-Ville
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Hôtel-de-Ville
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic value, yummy vegan sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I had lunch here, and spent €6.6 (which BTW is less than a coffee in Paris) for an excellent plate of vegan sushi w/tofu. Vegan sushi is easier said than done in Paris: the standard vegan options that are always available in the U.S. (e.g. inari) aren't standard fare here. But this is not a sushi place, it's a cool, menu-on-a-chalkboard café that serves interesting food, a variety of cereals, and takes pride in tea. And I always love when a super-hippie place is run by someone who doesn't look the part; the dude looked straight out of Fiddler on the Roof. Very friendly, spoke English, took credit card.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTE - THE FINEST VEG FOOD IN PARIS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Fresh...Fresh...Fresh...the portions are just enough...the service is great and the prices will make you come back again and again. I move this veg restaurant to the top of my Paris restaurant list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Resto simple mais nourriture irreprochable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

A simple style and a balanced menu + reasonable prices = will return.
Apparently the strange hours are linked to a jewish owner/sector but apart from that, I saw nothing to change. I think they have found an excellent formula for success

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Hospitable, given the lack of food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We found in Paris that some vegetarian restaurants are out of food at the end of lunch time. This was one of them. We showed up (four people) close to 3pm. They are supposed to be open. They were, but they had nothing left and were busy preparing dinner. They should not post open hours if they can't serve all day. But, the proprietor was very hospitable, managed to serve two bowls of miso soup (what was left) and three pieces of vegetable pie (that were in their health food store next door). It was decent, but not great. We appreciated his attempt not to turn us away completely hungry, because if you eat only vegan food, then your choices are limited, and you can't find something on the next corner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great veggie food in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

So glad we found this place, very friendly, great to find somewhere to eat in Paris. Always been reticent to come to Paris because of the food but this was one of three veggie restaurants we found - all veggies please go here and support it!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Appetit also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Grand Appetit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Appetit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.