We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Dining Experience in Paris, and Goumard is Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goumard

Goumard
9,rue Duphot, Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)
01 42 60 36 07
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #4,004 of 12,028 restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Louvre / Place Vendôme
Ventura
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First Dining Experience in Paris, and Goumard is Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Goumard is located on Rue Dephot, a quiet street across from Hotel Le Burgundy. My wife and I love seafood, and Goumard served extremely fresh and deliciously prepared dishes! Additionally, the service was excellent, and the staff is friendly, efficient, extremely patient and professional! They answered our every question regarding the preparation of any of the dishes. Goumard's wine list is superb and had many affordable offerings. The restaurant is quiet and tastefully decorated.
We loved Goumard and returned for another dinner on our last night in Paris! Over the 2 visits, we tried snails, crab meat, foi gras, and smoked salmon for starters, and the roasted sea bream, Dover Sole (twice), and lobster as main courses! The lemon macaroon is heaven!!!
Mr. Phillipe Dubois has a wonderful restaurant in Goumard, and he is a charming host!
Goumard is an excellent choice for a beautiful dining experience!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    56
    67
    43
    38
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely disappointing - bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by the hotel and it appears that everuyone dining there had been sent from hotels close by. There was not one French person to be heard. Our meals were of very poor quality and the couple at the next table had a similiar experience so much so that we compared notes. The staff were indifferent at best and with so many other great and less expensive restaurants in Paris to go too this was a total waste of time and money.
Under no circumstances would we ever return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

An excellent restaurant. Incredible service and hospitality. The food was great, specially one of the salads served. Very romantic French place.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NJ
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, creative interior, haughty service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Despite the somewhat haughty service (which incidentally was our first negative experience of that kind despite the alleged stereotypical rudeness of the French/Parisian waiting staff) Goumard is a truly great restaurant with a superb food, great location, and unusually (for Paris) comfortable and very roomy interior. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but we categorically disagree with the majority of the negative reviews.
First is the interior. Goumard features the most privacy-oriented dining area offering lots and lots of space. None of the famous seafood restaurants in Paris can come even close if a competition was held in the privacy department. Le bar a huitres, Boffanger, Dome, Coupole, A Pied de Cochon, and probably 99% of other Parisian restaurants would involve sitting in a close proximity to your neighbor's elbows and having to listen to the strangers' conversation. At Goumard it is luckily not the case. Great plus beyond any doubt. The food quality is very good, on par with other great Paris seafood restaurants.
We ordered one appetizer, a portion of Bulots (11 euro), which was very good. For main courses we had a Speciale Plateau Ecailler, which wasn't as big and diverse as you can get at other places in Paris, but still was mouth-watering, beautifully presented and decently priced (89 euro). Our other main course was Turbot Sauvage served in a pot. Truly a success and comes highly recommended. The desserts were honestly great, both of them in the equal way and measure. The Duo Peche Abricot (15 euro) and especially Financier Framboise (the same price) were extremely well prepared and arranged. With a bottle of 2000 red Rosario (75 euro), one large bottle of sparkling mineral (6 euro) and two coffees (5 euro each) our bill came up to 263 euro after service and taxes. The La Fourchette's discount took care of 86 euro, thus the total came up to 177 euro which is a superb deal for a great meal in a great Parisian seafood restaurant. If the service were on a tad friendlier side, the restaurant would be getting 5 stars. (Our server's haughtiness, by the way, was on the subtler side and short of outward rudeness). In any case, highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“nice surprice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Is not a cheap restaurant but worth the experience. For 2 persons, 2 courses each without alcohols we paid 150 Euro. If you like fish and sea food just try it. From outside looks normal but inside we will bound an elegant and restaurant. We also appreciate that the density of table and chairs is not as big as it is in other Parisian restaurants

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goumard also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Goumard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goumard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.