We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is french cooking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Rene

Chez Rene
14,boulevard Saint-Germain, +75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)
01 43 54 30 23
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Chez Rene is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,825 of 12,975 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $0 - $88
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Panthéon
Paris
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This is french cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have eaten at many restaurants in Paris. This is a favorite.

Really warm hearty food.

Bone marrow appetizer - was broiled and served in the actual bone, split in two. Interesting and tasty!

If you like kidneys this is apparently the place to go. (We both hate kidneys so did not order it but that's the word . . . )

My favorite thing there is the Coq au Vin. So good I actually went back to have it again. The sauce is so thick and meaty that I call it the French version of Mole sauce. Really, really tasty. Save bread for soaking it up . . . it is that good.

My wife had veal liver one visit and loved it and the most recent time a steak. All good.

Apparently their Beef Borgegnion is out of the world as well (we were with relatives who ordered that and they loved it.)

Deserts are great as well. Though have to admit they looked good. We are always too full to have desert.

Finally with our meal we had a really great (actually quite unbelievable) red wine for 22 or 24 euros. I can only think of a few times I actually took a picture of a bottle of wine to remember to order it. This is one of those occasions. Crue de Paradise Maderan 2004. Though honestly perhaps it was just the setting that made it so great as it is not that expensive on the Internet. But it was very tasty and went well with the meat.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    67
    11
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“French Classics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Chez Rene serves up some delicious BOEUF A LA BOURGUIGNONNE, and Coq Au Vin... yes, they are in very similar sauces but luckily they are both delicious. Other French classics are served. Most importantly, this place is very reasonable. Make a reservation because they have no issues turning away walk in's (which they did to us the first night we tried to go). The service is English speaking and friendly, they won't even be rude to you when you spill a glass of champagne, as I did.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, WA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Quentisential Paris - Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

The concierge at our hotel recommended Chez Rene to us, made our reservations and arranged a cab for us. What a wonderful evening. This restaurant is quentisential Paris. The food was exceptional as was the service. My husband had the Veal Stew which he still talks about and I had Beouf Bourgonion - just what I was hoping for. The service was wonderful and everyone was very cordial to us. We also had a bottle of Pommery Champagne which just made everything that much better. With the Champagne, dinner, and dessert our tab was only about $100. Not bad for dinner is Paris and worth every penny. It is in a lovely area too so you can walk around after or before dinner. Right off Pont Marie and Isle St. Louis on Blvd. St. Germain

  • Visited September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An old classic that's seen better days”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We went to Paris looking forward to being in the culinary centre of the world and tasting and experiencing some wonderful food. We were very much disappointed. It seems that Paris was once the place for fine food and cooking but it is now past its best. That would also describe this restaurant. It appears that it is riding on its reputation for classic French food and although it still serves these classics there are not anything special. We had the Coq Au Vin and the Boeuf Bourguignon. Apart from the meat both dishes tasted pretty much the same and the sauces were so thick and heavy it wasn't possible to distinguish any separate flavours.
The restaurant we wanted to go to was fully booked and if you are looking for great food in Paris my advice would be to do some research and make some reservations before you go. We thought we wouldn't need to book ahead as there would be such a choice but it seems that any restaurant worth visiting becomes booked up quite far in advance and what's left is second rate.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coq au Vin was dry, burnt and unapologetic...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

A typical looking, old Parisian bistro looking so nice from the outside....but, their time is over.

Having been there years ago and having a memorable meal, I am so disappointed in my return meal.

Twice I was turned down for a reservation but I forged ahead, thinking I was going to savor a momentous gastronomic experience. But, it was not to be.

The Coq a Vin we ordered came out with the dryest road kill-like fowl that was dumped in a sauce that had been burnt like a cigarette on on flesh.

Adding insult to injury, once we mentioned our disappointment, the infamous french attitude came to the surface. "It is normal for the Coq to be dry." He brushed us off as being stupid Americans. When in fact, we do know our food and we know this was not worth it and we did not appreciate the attitude.

What else did we have, how about a simple vegetable soup. You would think having been in business since 1957, they would have formalized the soup to perfection. But no, they said Americans....no good soup for you!!!

One good thing about the place, it's a great place to dump your boyfriend/lover, etc. You're probably too mad to eat anyway and he'll get the check.

With so many other fantastic, classic French restaurant experiences, pass on Chez Renee.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Rene also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Rene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Rene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.