We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A meal I will always remember” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Paul

Chez Paul
22,rue de la Butte-aux-Cailles, Paris, France (Gobelins)
01 45 89 71 64
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8,780 of 12,477 restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Gobelins
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A meal I will always remember”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Order the Steak Au Poive - medium rare. It comes with amazing potatoes. For dessert I got the little fried balls of dough, slathered in chocolate sauce and vanilla ice cream. It was epic.

The waiter was rude and condescending. I was by myself and he clearly served his french friends first. He was annoyed that I didn't speak french. Get over it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

21% Recommend
    3
    8
    13
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
in Paris
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice interior”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Chez paul has a nice interior compared to other Butte aux Cailles restaurants, which give it a little bit of a boudoir ambiance. In that sense good for the optical diversity in the scene. An evening there can be successful if you carefully select from the menu the original items. Sometimes there are good oyster and champagne deals. Otherwise the food and whine selection are solid, but not exceptional.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced and missing something”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We went there appealed by the suggestion from Lonely Planet.
We got there tired and hungry, so we walked in without checking the menu (mistake).
Too late we realized that the offer was not particularly appealing.
I ended up ordering only some roasted baby pig (turned up a disappointing fatty meat, not too different from what you would expect from a canteen).
My wife ordered the 3 courses menu: asparagus (boiled, with vinegrette), tuna fish and a dessert of cheese and honey (just fresh cheese, nothing impressing).
With 50 cl of house wine we reached a bill of 68 euro without being really satisfied.
Suggestion: look for alternatives!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It's open on Sunday & late.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The service was good, but I was not impressed with what I had. I feel bad, but your better off eating somewhere else. I ate my food (a few bites) more so as to not offend the owners, not because I enjoyed it. It was a disappointment for my last dinner in Paris.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Go for the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

This restaurant on Butte-aux-Cailles (Metro Corvisat) has great food and good wines. Oysters for starters went down very well. The pork knuckle in lentils was very good. Beware the prices are not cheap. The atmosphere is of a typically French bistro with windows on 2 sides. Reservation is recommended, The service is abysmal. The only waitress has memory lapses and forgot to bring us our wine for the main meal. That is probably the worst sin anybody can commit in France.

I was initially reluctant to post this review to keep the hidden gem Butte-aux-Cailles a secret. Hardly any tourists. A lively and charming little area. There are several other restaurants nearby also worth visiting..

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Paul also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Paul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.