We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional French cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Marcel

Chez Marcel
7,rue Stanislas, 75006 Paris, France
01 45 48 29 94
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 13,460 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Traditional French cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We booked for lunch and were not disappointed. The restaurant has a wonderful atmosphere even at lunch time. The staff are superb, both friendly and informative about the food.Food very tasty ,traditional cuisine.Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    75
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent tiny restaurant in the 6th, Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Chez Marcel was down the street from our rented apartment, so we gave it a try. The owner was amazing, worked us into his already full dinner seating in a most courteous and efficient manner. I am a vegetarian, so eating in Paris can be a challenge. The owner not only translated the entire menu for us, but also pointed out everything vegetarian to me. I had a wonderful meal of artichokes, mushroom salad, and green salad with chevre. My husband loved the duck. The restaurant is tiny and quite charming. Be sure to make a reservation!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tiny restaurant, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This restaurant must get most of its custom from the Hotel Le Six just across the road. It is too small to accommodate anyone else but this does not matter. Welcomed by the ebullient host, a native of Lyon (it shows in his food), you are seated very close to the next table (and I mean VERY close) and so quiet intimate conversation is soon forgotten. Instead, the evening becomes one for new friends and a lot of laughter. The food is excellent and served efficiently. So if you want a quiet romantic evening, forget it, otherwise just enjoy. Oh and steer clear of the huge bottle of plum brandy that is offered at the end of the meal...it is lethal (but delicious).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A terrific bargain, but very crowded and noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Chez Marcel is wonderful. The food is very tasty. The service is speedy and pleasant. The prices are low for Paris ($40-60 per person). The location is central.

Unfortunately, I am not the only person who knows this! Chez Marcel is in several guide books and online services. At 8:00 PM, we were surrounded by and shoulder-to-shoulder with English speakers. It's an opportunity to make new friends with people from Wisconsin.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I just returned from Paris. We stayed at Hotel Le Six in Montparnasse. Across the street was a little hole in the wall restaurant called Chez Marcel. We researched the restaurants we would visit during our week, but this one was not on the list. The first few restaurants were okay. We finally were tired of running all over Paris for dinner & asked our Concierge if Chez Marcel was any good. Yes! He said. Very good! So we asked the hotel to make a reservation for dinner for us. Well...this was by and far our most memorable meal in Paris. The restaurant is small, with tables tightly packed side by side. The staff is super friendly. You quickly find yourself laughing with other patrons. Foods are offered to taste, drinks too. The menu is not large, but the dishes are amazing. The food is in the style Lyonnais. I had a fish dish that I must learn to make at home. Everything was delicious. Everyone was warm and welcoming. You definitely get the impression that there are regular diners that eat at Chez Marcel quite often. If I lived in Paris, I would find my way to this restaurant on a regular basis. You leave feeling like you have eaten exquisite food prepared by an expert chef AND had an evening of entertainment to boot. Do not miss an opportunity to dine at this restaurant if you are in Paris.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Marcel also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Marcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Marcel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.