We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and Good Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Jean

Restaurant Jean
8, rue Saint-Lazare | Trinite, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)
+33 (0)1 48 78 62 73
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Restaurant Jean is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,121 of 13,308 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Opera / Bourse
Leinster
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Had a excellent meal at Resturant Jean.The veal was outstanding and presentation was superb. The atmosphere was very good and the waiting staff very pleasent. Overall a very good experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    46
    27
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

An excellent small restaurant, I went for a business dinner on wednesday the 7th of November with 2 of my colleagues and the experience was just superb, we went for the surprise menu (4 courses) and we were so delighted with the dishes that we ordered an additional cheese platter with another round of wine.

The food is just excellent, not over complicated like some gastronomical restaurants can be, just simple food refined that taste very good.

The only complaint I have is probably that the red wine offered as part of our 4-course meal was a bit too young and could be of a better quality, this did not take anything away for the enjoyable experience.

At the end of our dinner we were offered a glass of aged cognac which I thought was a nice touch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food - poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Arriving slightly after our eight thirty agreed arrival we unfortunately felt treated like secondary guests. It continued with a half our wait for the menue. We had wine by the glass and was highly surprised when red wine was poured in the same glass as used for the white! It did not help that the red wine had a significant amont of substance - so the half-emptied glass had to be returned to the waiter. Expensive desert wine was added to please - we only later discovered it was put on our bill! Having said this - it is a shame that such poor service overshadowed the superb food - nice composition of tastes and the use of first quality raw materials. Had we been Michelin inspectors we sadly would assume the restaurant would have lost its star momentarily.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurantjean, Propriétaire at Restaurant Jean, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Sir,
First of all, we want to thank you for your frankness and are very annoyed about your disappointment.
We absolutely don't want to find excuses but we've been confronted with the whole change of our service's team. Unfortunately we sometimes have to be more indulgent... We sincerely regret that Jean doesn't live up to your expectation and hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you another time for a better experience. Thank you again for your comments which are always constructive.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The four of us were directed here by a friend in the US of the French owner. Dinner was delicious. We had the pre fixe menu for four, and enjoyed all aspects of each course. Wine pairings were excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It is a little off the beaten path for someone staying in St. Germaine, but easily accessible by metro.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“can do better . . much better. . . a pity!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

a nice small restaurant with one michelin star. . that sounds promissing!! but....

1. there was a kind of bad smell in the restaurant... the heat and the lack of air flow during the summer break were for sure the culprit. . but this was indeed disturbing. . and unacceptable.
2. entree at around 23 E and dish for around 40 E seems a reasonnable price for the expected high satisfaction!! I took filet de saint pierre. . and then , very quickly, comes a big plate , with a single filet , one small raviole, one tomato little thing and one calamar little roll. . that s all!!! then you start to be angry and hungry!!! this is near to ridiculous!!
3. cheese plateau was great. large choice. but the serving of such little pieces was again very annoying.
4. we had wine by the glass, macon blanc or rouge, very good wine.

overall, the menu is not large, and the serving is ridiculously tiny and small. I would not mind to pay 5 euros more for each dish, and have a nice and filling plate!!!!
it s a pity because the cooks seem to be very talented, and the number of customers is not very large. .

i will not go back to this restaurant. .

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Jean also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Restaurant Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Jean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.