We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alain Ducasse Au Plaza Athenee

Alain Ducasse Au Plaza Athenee
Plaza Athenee, 25 Avenue Montaigne | 75008 Paris, 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)
+33 1 53 67 65 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,276 of 13,462 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $100 - $1,000
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Champs-Élysées
Description: Alain Ducasse will present for his eponymous restaurant his very own brand new expression of contemporary French Haute cuisine in a completely revamped decor by designer Patrick Jouin. The cuisine will be based on a trio of exceptional produce : fish, cereals and vegetables . Beyond food itself, guests will be treated to a unique experience.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

What can I say this was one of best dining experiences we have ever had. The dining room was stunning, food words can't describe it and great wine list. Very expensive but well worth it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François D, Directeur général at Alain Ducasse Au Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for your nice comments and compliments. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant.
Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon,
Sincerely,
François Delahaye - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    44
    26
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We love Alain Ducasse at the Dorchester and thought we'd try the food at the Plaza Athenee on our Paris visit. We wanted a place close to the Eiffel Tower and this seemed like a good option.

There's nothing really badly wrong with this place. Its just really bad value for money and believe it or not, too much attention!

The starters were nice as was the dessert. But I've had much better elsewhere at much lower prices. My main was okay, nothing unpleasant or wrong but disappointing. The chicken my husband had was dry, and the sauce/sides that came with it were very uninspiring. I've cooked better chicken at home!

Another annoying thing was the constant questions about if we needed anything else. To be asked if we wanted additional drinks by 4 different waiters within a short space of time, and telling them all not to pour me any wine (I don't really drink alcohol) over and over got really tiresome. We were there very early and the staff didn't have many customers to look after but that shouldn't mean that they constantly hang around us. Excluding the times when we placed our orders and received the food/wine, we had additional visits by waiters more than a dozen times.

Everyone was very pleasant here etc but in a city full of amazing restaurants, you'll find better value and better food elsewhere.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François D, Directeur général at Alain Ducasse Au Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments online.
I am very sorry for your disapointment and please be assured that your remarks have been forwarded to our team and Alain Ducasse.
Sincerely yours,
François Delahaye - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Utmost Decadence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I finished our first trip to Paris at Alain Ducasse Au Plaza Athenee, based on Tripadvisor reviews and its 3 Michelin Star status. The place did not disappoint.
I ordered the chef's tasting menu which offered a plethora of unique dishes which was nearly overwhelming. The last dish was roasted venison which I could not even finish as it was too much food. The best parts in my opinion were the dessert table and the wait staff. With the tasting menu, there was a variety of cheeses to choose from at the end, as well as a huge selection of desserts and chocolates which were to die for. The waitress was very attentive and was, as someone else wrote on trip advisor, almost telepathic. No attitudes, just very pleasant people all throughout. When I went to use the ladies room, I almost made it to the door before the manager himself saw that I was about to open the door myself and literally bolted just to open it for me.
Yes, it is very very pricey (the menu is on the website so you can see for yourself). But the service and experience itself is worth going to, if you have some cash to spare, or someone to impress. If you budget allows, this place definitely will not disappoint!.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François D, Directeur général at Alain Ducasse Au Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you so much for your great review following your meal in our restaurant Alain Ducasse au Plaza Athénée.
We look forward to seeing you very soon.
With our very best regards,
François Delahaye - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Once in a Lifetime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had heard all the reviews and local chefs had suggested we try. So we booked the restaurant. We were treated like royalty. The bread alone was exquisite, the room was beautiful, the staff amazing. This is probably the best service we have ever had. The food was a masterpiece. We enjoyed everything and were given salt and macaroons when we left. A lovely touch. Whilst we could not fault the meal, it was not inexpensive so we will not return but wonderful to go, just the once for a super special treat and see how the other half dine (probably most of the time). In fact, we had just been at Chateau Les Crayeres in Reims and when we were at this restaurant, the same lady was at Alain Ducasse- and 'shock horror', in the same amazing white, puffy, organza, what could only be couture ensemble!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François D, Directeur général at Alain Ducasse Au Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for your positive feedback and be sure that your compliments have been passed to our teams.
We look forward to seeing you very soon.
With our very best regards,
François Delahaye - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Incredibly sumptuous...(and eye-popping prices)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Back for a second meal here, this time we did the tasting menu (Menu Decouverte). This was €380 (currently almost $500) each, before drinks, tax and gratuity. So by the time we were out the door, we were in the $1,500 range for two. Service-wise, it is almost like the staff is telepathic. Each need is anticipated, the merest hint of a question brings a staff-member rushing over to attend. The ratio of staff to diners seems to be at least 1:1, or somewhere near that. As professional and nice and attentive as they are, it can sometimes feel a little toooo serious, they could lighten up a little. The selection of dishes on the tasting menu was interesting and quite diverse, everything was flavorful and delicate and expertly prepared. Personally, I think they could freshen up the dessert menu. We had the famous Baba au Rhum and their brebis (sheep cheese) panna cotta, with caramel and ice cream. Both of these were good, but not what you expect at a top Paris restaurant (or with a $500 meal). So, if you can afford the tab you will have an elegant and delicious evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François D, Directeur général at Alain Ducasse Au Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your review following your meal in our restaurant Alain Ducasse au Plaza Athénée.
We look forward to seeing you very soon.
With our very best regards,
François Delahaye - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alain Ducasse Au Plaza Athenee also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Alain Ducasse Au Plaza Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alain Ducasse Au Plaza Athenee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.