We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fortunately I knew Lebanese cuisine before” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Al Dar

Al Dar
8, rue Frederic Sauton, Paris, France (Panthéon)
01 43 25 17 15
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,578 of 13,368 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Panthéon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fortunately I knew Lebanese cuisine before”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The meat quality was one of the worst I've ever had. We ordered 2 lamb skewers and lamb tongues... Actually it was not lamb but mutton! Taste has of course nothing to do. Strong old meat flavor, not even balanced by the spice.

We finally ended eating only the complimentary pita bread

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    19
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great authentic Lebanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great authentic lebanese food. The falafel and meat/spinach pies are great. The stuffed grape leaves/cabbage and zucchini were just ok. We had a nice meal outside and bought some stuff to go as we are staying in an apt in Paris. All in all it was a great experience. I would've liked more flexibility in choosing different items to make up a plate but they seemed to be pretty strict about that. The service can stand to be a bit friendlier. We ended up going back to this place a couple more time during our visit. Our last time there, I witnessed an instance of the restaurant not wanting to service a couple of tourists (this is in the takeout/patio area, we never tried the sit down dining room). An american couple was in line behind me, when it was their turn to order, the person taking orders played "busy" for the longest time until they got tired of waiting and left. I felt really bad for them and hoped they didn't realize what was happening. They were very excited about the food. Coming from Toronto where everyone is served everywhere equally, I don't understand this kind of behaviour. Why turn away business?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
944 reviews 944 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
706 helpful votes 706 helpful votes
“great Lebanese cuisine in the shadow of Notre Dame”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We walked past this place a few times on our way to Notre Dame from our hotel. On a Sunday afternoon, feeling like eating something a little different, we decided to stop in. No fancy ambiance at all, just great Lebanese food. All the outside tables were taken, so we went inside. Service was quick and friendly. Portions were large and good value for the price. If you're in the mood for great Lebanese cuisine without a lot of fuss, try this place. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Food was averige, have been to other Lebanese restaurants and got some better food there. Price was pretty hi and was not really in class with the food.The waiter run nervously buy the table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Our second visit - both times excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After staying in Paris for a week we have had our fill of traditional French cuisine. So, we start looking for ethnic food. In particular, the countries that are former French colonies or close allies that have good sized populations in Paris. Al Dar is wonderful Lebanese food...Beirut was once called the "Paris of the Middle East".
We have been for lunch twice in the past few years. Each time we order 6-7 entrees (appetizers in the US). Felafel, salads, tabouli, kibbe, cooked veggies, grilled haloumi cheese. Its great fun and really good food. Each dish is fresh, flavorful, unique and authentic. Service is excellent.
Both times we have gone it has been for lunch on a weekday. We were once alone in the restaurant and the other time the restaurant was rather empty. I assume they are much busier at dinner - I hope so - hope they are there for our next trip!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Dar also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Al Dar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Dar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.