We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful reasonable restaurant near Rue Cler area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cafe de Mars

Le Cafe de Mars
11, rue Augereau, 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)
01 45 50 10 90
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Cafe de Mars is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #288 of 13,398 Restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delightful reasonable restaurant near Rue Cler area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I happened upon Cafe de Mars for dinner with my daughter one rainy cold night in January. Felt very fortunate to have found such a jewel. The restaurant is near the Champ de Mars and Rue Cler areas. The food is French cooking with a modern flair. The atmosphere was quiet, intimate, but friendly. Service was excellent, and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals - one was steak, the other was shrimp. Both were delicious. The "hands -on" owner was gracious and helpful. My dessert - a chocolate Gateau (named Pasteur) was outstanding. I think the owner said it was a family recipe.

The prices were surprisingly reasonable. I highly recommend this inviting excellent restaurant. I do not think you will be disappointed.

Oh, yes, I uknowingly dropped my prized scarf under the table and left it. The next day when I returned to ask about it, they had saved it for me.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    44
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“fun lunch experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

we had a nice and pleasant lunch here right upon arrival in Paris. The place was just about to shut down for the afternoon, but the server was pleasant enough to accomodate us. He made an amazing and affordable wine suggestion and the food was incredible. Very affordable, yet a culinary delight! Wish we could eat there every day. The staff was so friendly!! We are an American/German couple. My French is horrible, and still, they were very friendly and helpful! Love this place!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner was nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The food was good (typical brasserie fare) and the waiters were friendly and helpful. We ate inside because it was chilly out and if was not packed full, which I thought was odd.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus Beach
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“best steak ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This area of the 7th arrondissement has an embarrassment of great restaurants. Les Cocottes, Cafe Constant etc (all very good) were bulging with people, and Cafe de Mars had some empty tables. Hard to believe, because their steak meal was nothing short of fabulous - and cooked exactly as we each had ordered. My husband had his sliced thinly, well-cooked, and without pastry, I had mine thickish, medium, and with pastry and tapenade. Both meals stunning, and reasonably priced. The waiters were attentive, friendly and English speaking. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Neighbourhood cafe and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had drinks at the bar one evening (extremely nice rose de Beaupre) and lunch on another day. Very engaging proprietors and chef and we had two very nice starters, girolle with rocket leaves and charcuterie, interesting main courses and one pudding and a good bottle of minervois. Quite busy at lunch, a bit quieter in the evening. Nice atmosphere, modern, minimal a bit cool. I would be very happy to have these guys around the corner in London and am sure if we are in the area we would visit again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe de Mars also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Cafe de Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cafe de Mars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.