We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go to Paris and not go here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe de la Paix

Cafe de la Paix
2, Rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)
01 40 07 36 36
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Cafe de la Paix is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,444 of 13,200 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Opera / Bourse
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Can't go to Paris and not go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Where to start, every trip to Paris requires a trip to Cafe de la Paix. SUPERB PEOPLE WATCHING! GREAT LOCATION! Worthy of a trip to Paris!! ROMANCE ROMANCE ROMANCE. Indoors or outside, both are great. Indoor dining is SUMPTUOUS SURROUNDINGS, outside is more 'bistro' indoors is more 'EMPEROR NAPOLEON'!! Food is very very good, steak tartare is very good, steak frites is GREAT, even if it's just for a cup of cafe or a glass of wine...DO NOT MISS IT!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    496
    231
    116
    105
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had a delightful lunch here today (on the terrace) with the family. It was a pleasant surprise to see a nice array of sandwiches (from croque monsieur to turkey club to salmon) and salads. As people new to French cuisine, it's been hard to find a good compromise between daring to try new things and something recognizable. The server was also very accommodating.

I tried the Mediterranean platter (assiette méditerranéenne pour les gourmands salade) with hummus, baba ganoush, and sea urchin tarama. All were fresh and delicious, especially the tarama! It was absolutely amazing on the baguette. Never thought I would try sea urchin!

Other family members tried and enjoyed the croque monsieur (although it is served without a side, so I recommend adding a salad or fries), the chicken tomato & mozzarella salad (salade de tomate a l'ancienne mozzarella), and the tartine cafe de la paix (too hard to translate easily but it's a delicious open faced sandwich with turkey and Parmesan).

The prices were reasonable (although the drinks, for example the soda which was 8 euro, are a bit pricey). The view was nice as well - looking out on the musee d'orsay and surrounding square. They also have a very elegant dining room for lunch or dinner... which we accidentally stumbled into originally.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Terrasse Cafe de la Paix Very Good for a Fast Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Terrasse Cafe de la Paix, part of the InterContinental Paris Le Grand hotel, serves a selection of fast meals all day long in both indoor and outdoor settings. During our April stay at the hotel we dined indoors with a full window view of the street for people watching. For us it was a marvelous way to have dinner at 5 - 6 pm without having to be involved in a lengthy, evening French dinning experience. The menu featured a plate du jour, soups, salads, sandwiches, excellent wines by the glass, coffees and deserts. The service was attentive and most waiters spoke passable English. Although not inexpensive the quality of the food made it a good choice during our short stay in Paris – and it was much less expensive than the Cafe de la Paix.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“It's Paris, you know it's going to be expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

OK, I know that there are cheaper paces for breakfast, but for great people watching, right in front of the Opera house, you are going to pay for it!
2 coffees and a baker's basket was enough to have for breakfast, €30 was enough(!) for the entertainment. Good service from our waiter, and an outside seat watching traffic (admittedly boring) and people (e.g. lady with poodle in her bicycle basket!) it was part breakfast, part entertainment.
Well known venue, absinthe poem etc, but a great location means that we would go back again if in the area..
If visiting the Opera house visit here too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful - especially the millefeuille and nice service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Visited Paris together with my wife and two grown-up grand-daughters.
Visited the historical Café de la Paix twice and we thoroughly enjoyed.
The millefeuille is grand. We returned for a dinner on the last evening of our stay and had delicious food and perfect attention by the waiter and waitress. The decorations are just wonderful and so was the experience - we hope to visit again on our next trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de la Paix also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe de la Paix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.