We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced garbage, an insult to French food.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Beaubourg

Cafe Beaubourg
43 rue St-Merri | Beaubourg, 75004 Paris, France
01 48 87 63 96
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,364 of 13,459 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Overpriced garbage, an insult to French food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I know this is one of those tourist trap kind of places that charge a fortune because of its location but I wanted to sit and people watch on what was a bright but chilly November afternoon. I ordered a tea and a Millefueille - being in France, how could they possibly mess this up? How wrong I was! What arrived were 3 long pieces of dry but soggy pastry, and sandwiched between each layer was the thinnest scraping (like it had been scraped on and then off again) of vanilla gunge. When I told the waitress that it was unpalatable she went into a big rant about how fresh their food was
( I wasn't saying it wasn't fresh, just horrible) and said that I would have to pay for it as there was nothing wrong with it, it was just my personal preference! Please avoid this place, it really is an insult to french food! the cafe on the opposite corner is far, far better and more reasonably proced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    48
    41
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terrible breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Eggs made from powdered milk, cold toast, cheap sausage and all yours for €25. On the positive the staff are great and the hot chocolate is good.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea, Hampshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good place for people watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Firstly, not sure the address above is accurate - it is on the corner of Centre Pompidou plaza (Rue St Martin/Rue Rambuteau). Nevertheless, sit outside and you can spend hours watching the hussle and bussle of passers-by.

Food and service good too, if not just a little pricey, but worth it for the experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A healthy meal all around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

How do you choose an outdoor cafe around the Pompidou and not feel like a schmuck? Go to Cafe Beaubourg. They're not in the racket to take advantage of tourists or serve sloppy and overpriced food. What a relief. I'll return now that I've found a place that welcomes me and that I can depend on. I enjoyed the eggplant crostini which was served with a large, lush arugula salad with juicy tomatoes and black olives. It was fresh and tasty. Service was attentive but invisible as you'd have in a finer restaurant. Merci!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“5 star view and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This is probably the best of all the cafes around the Pompidou Centre, assuming that you don't want to go in to the Pompidou itself. The Cafe Beaubourg is perfect for drinks and people watching. The food and service are fine. Parisians fret about the prices but they really aren't that much higher than other places in the neighborhood, and at least you get to enjoy your drink or coffee while observing the human comedy around the Pompidou, not staring at a wall.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Beaubourg also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe Beaubourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Beaubourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.