We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great option a stone's throw from Catedrale de Notre Dame” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie de l'Isle Saint Louis

Brasserie de l'Isle Saint Louis
55 quai de Bourbon, 75004 Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)
+33 (0)143540259
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,915 of 13,456 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $20 - $65
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Hôtel-de-Ville
Description: The Brasserie was established in 1870 and has been serving continuously since. It has become a Paris tradition, for Parisians and other friends from all over the world. The decor has been kept and the traditional french food is authentic and home made with only fresh products. Located in the most romantic and beautiful area, on the small island by Notre Dame right in the heart of the old Paris. The Brasserie will welcome you in a warm and cosy Parisian atmosphere in winter, while in summer you will enjoy a drink or a meal as well as the island's famous Berthillon ice cream on the terrace with its magnificent view of Paris. We serve from noon to 11pm (close on Wednesdays) and we do not take reservations so come whenever you want. We hope that you will enjoy our restaurant and we hope to see you soon.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great option a stone's throw from Catedrale de Notre Dame”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was recommended by a local as a good Brasserie option close to Notre Dame. It's literally about 5 mins walk from the Catedrale, just across the river on L'Isle Saint Louis (the island next to the one Notre Dame is on). I managed to get a table outside (the inside tables didn't look that inviting to be honest), and had a green salad and the cassoulet with a glass of house red wine. Delicious lunch, absolutely tonnes of food, and it all came in under €40. The tables are tiny though - if I'd been there with anyone else it would have been interesting to get two plates on the table as well as glasses. No way the bread and side salads would have fit. The service was excellent - I had a really nice chap who appreciated my attempts at French although corrected my use of le and la (in a friendly way)!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    84
    32
    24
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kauai
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Spent at least an hour looking for a quiet, non gas polluting place and this is IT. Accordion player on the side of the small bridge, hardly any traffic and great service. Food was more typical north/western France with pig's knuckles, cassoullet but we were assure by the almost insulted waiter that all was freshly made. A bit pricy but it was 5pm and a good meal is more expensive if you can find it or your choice is a croquet monsieur in the all day bars. If you can wait till after 7 there are restaurants in the area that are probably just as good and less expensive. Still the food was good, the ambience old Paris and the waiters harried but responsive and the one we had even funny. These are professional waiters and they move! English spoken and always busy. Better on the outside as the inside need sfurbishment. Restrooms clean.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The real deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited twice during our time in Paris. We found the quality of the items for which Brasseries are known: charcuterie, dishes made with sausages, cider and beer to be first rate. The staff were all very friendly. The items we tried- charcuterie maison, choucroute garnie, cassoulet and tripes en marmite were all excellent and the portions were huge- enough for sharing! Plus they serve ice cream from Berthillon which is simply the best ever. We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic fun and fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our family spent a wonderful afternoon dining here. We were seated immediately and the staff was friendly. We are foodies. We ordered the charcuterie and loved trying things like pig's knuckles (they were fabulous-who knew?). It was great to try this style of French cooking. For dessert, they claim to serve the best ice cream in the world, and we believe it. They let you choose two scoops--we liked the raspberry and dark chocolate (avoid the salty caramel). We did see tourists, but as many locals, so I was quite surprised when I saw the negative reviews. Expensive, yes, but it's Paris! Order their specialty and you will be delighted.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pretty good, not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a great place to see people and be in the middle of the action. Some of their food and drink could definitely be improved, but some is good. We went in a big group and the winning dishes were the spaghetti (not traditional bolognese but still tasty) and the burgers and the fish. The french onion soup, drinks, etc could be improved but can't beat the location.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie de l'Isle Saint Louis also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Brasserie de l'Isle Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie de l'Isle Saint Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.