We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing limited menu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie de l'Isle Saint Louis

Brasserie de l'Isle Saint Louis
55 quai de Bourbon, 75004 Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)
+33 (0)143540259
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,916 of 13,462 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $20 - $65
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Hôtel-de-Ville
Description: The Brasserie was established in 1870 and has been serving continuously since. It has become a Paris tradition, for Parisians and other friends from all over the world. The decor has been kept and the traditional french food is authentic and home made with only fresh products. Located in the most romantic and beautiful area, on the small island by Notre Dame right in the heart of the old Paris. The Brasserie will welcome you in a warm and cosy Parisian atmosphere in winter, while in summer you will enjoy a drink or a meal as well as the island's famous Berthillon ice cream on the terrace with its magnificent view of Paris. We serve from noon to 11pm (close on Wednesdays) and we do not take reservations so come whenever you want. We hope that you will enjoy our restaurant and we hope to see you soon.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing limited menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff but menu choices were limited and the wine list confusing. Better choices on the I'sle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    84
    32
    24
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Taking Advantage”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the owner of the apartment we rented for the week. Unfortunately, we feel like they took advantage of us. Usually we are pretty accommodating and not that fussy. But first, they insisted on sitting us right next to the only other occupied table in the place, an english speaker to boot. Requests to move one table over were denied. Next, they sold us a $50E bottle of cheap chablis as the house wine, without disclosing the price or letting us taste it. Last, and this is minor unless you already have 2 strikes, we were told they could not make toast to accompany the steak tartare, despite a menu of hot plates. By the end of the meal, we felt totally hoodwinked. The food was okay, but not nearly worth the indignity.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, AZ
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Not as good as all the hype had me believe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were crammed into a table at the very back of the restaurant by a service station and felt this was because we were Americans. There were lots of other open tables available. My steak was cooked rare as I wanted it, but it was really, really greasy. The snails were quite good My husband had a craving for cassoluet and we specifically choose this restaurant because we had heard it was the best in this area. NOT! We've had much better a few blocks away by Notre Dame the last time we visited. I thought the wine menu was good, but prices were highly inflated when compared with similar venues and the same wine. Desserts were good. One friend had the chocolate mousse that she was planning on sharing until she tasted it and then told us to order our own as she was going to eat it all. My husband and a another friend shared the tarte tatin. I took a taste and thought it was good, not great. I've made better at home.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very french brasserie with a good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We enjoyed lunch at the Brasserie de L'Isle Saint Louis and really liked the friendly atmosphere - it felt a bit like in a french family party...

The waiter was pretty friendly (definitely above average for France...) and also offered half wine bottles (even though this was not on the menu).

The food is not exceptional but of good quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Explore this menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

There are 2 or 3 specials on the evening however the depth of the menu is wonderful, inspiring, and stewed in tradition. Saturday night after a long travel back to Paris we ate here and the Goose gizzard and frisée salad atop lovely small brown lentils was nourishing, light for a late dinner (9pm), paired well the the house Bordeaux , and left me smiling on the walk back home. Just the week before I attempted the Jarret de porc and the joint was so large I left feeling a bit overfed...but that's not the problem of the Brasserie. The lentils appear again here as a great pairing. I forgot to ask if they use a fresh knuckle or salt-preserved because the flavors are hitting lots of notes. Also, if you're in the mood for Cassoulet their dish will deliver. I find the service highly tuned, very responsive, and enthusiastic. A bit noisy at the height of the Paris dinner hour but you can carry on the conversation because you're sitting close. Then, at the end Notre Dam awaits your exit. Stroll anyone?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie de l'Isle Saint Louis also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Brasserie de l'Isle Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie de l'Isle Saint Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.