We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Italian Cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Bartolo

Chez Bartolo
7, Rue des Canettes, 75006 Paris, France
+33 1 43 26 27 08
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,777 of 13,398 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $21 - $43
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

A little piece of Italy awaits you at Chez Bartolo. Located on a narrow cobbleston street, the ambience of Italy in Paris is too good to be true. The pizza with buffalo mozzarella was delicious as was the spaghetti a lemon. A bottle of red wine was perfect with our meal. We sat at a table in the glass partioned front on a Saturday night and enjoyed watching the casual strollers and young people enjoying the evening. The atmosphere is relaxed and the wait staff were somewhat busy. My only negative comment was when the waiter brought the wine bottle over he opened it and then just left it on the table instead of pouring a little bit so that we could taste it. The prices were reasonable and I would definitely go back again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    40
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A perfect respite from French cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

A friend recommended this restaurant as a great place for pizza so we figured it would be pretty casual. We arrived to find a very nice place with white table cloths and the maitre'd in a tie. The pizza was excellent - thin crispy crust style. I had lasagna and the pasta was perfect. The pasta carbonara was the best ever. No need for dessert after such a great dinner.
It was more expensive than we had expected but it was worth it. Be sure to make a reservation.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“By far the best pizza in paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I ve been a regular at bartolo for at least 10 years now. It s not only the best pizza in paris ( especially the gorgonzola) but it just gets better and better. Only problem is there are so many regulars getting a table can sometimes be a bit difficult.
Service is excellent (special mention to frou frou), just like the tonnato vitello= AMAZING!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A piece of Italy !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

There is a queue outside in the summer and inside in the winter between the full coat hangers and the flustered clientele, but its because the food is better than good in Bartolo. A small piece of Italy, with waiters near to retirement and kitch frescos on the wall with a pub atmosphere and a larger than life propriotor (Perhaps this is Bartolo?) behind the counter who gestures you to your table with his chin. And once you are sat down. Even though its not exactly intimate, everyone a little close together, everything is delicious.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stumbled upon this place after our Seine river cruise near Notre Dame at sunset. My husband wanted pizza at some point during our Paris trip and decided after the cruise would be a great idea. We walked through the St. Germain area and found this place down a street bustling with people. We had about a 10-minute wait for a table when we arrived at 10:15, but didn't mind waiting especially since we didn't bother trying to make reservations anywhere that evening. The restaurant was packed, and the people were packed in together inside. The noise level was a tad loud, but not overbearing. My husband's pizza was pretty good, but mine was even better. I had the souffle which seemed more calzone-like than a pizza, but was very tasty. The wood-fired oven taste was quite good. Definitely not a bad choice to pop into randomly.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Bartolo also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Bartolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Bartolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.