We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal twice in a row” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Au Petit Riche

Au Petit Riche
25, Rue Peletier | 75009, Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)
01 47 70 68 68
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,461 of 13,309 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Opera / Bourse
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice meal twice in a row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My friend and I visited Au Petit Riche after not having been there for a couple of years. We remained pleased with the experience and look forward to a third visit to the restaurant.
Service was generally attentive but not intrusive. The ambiance was fine, in that the restaurant is broken into several small but nice rooms.
I had green lentil salad, tuna with polenta, and a chocolate and praline cake. Beverages were a local artisan beer and a coffee. My friend dined on poached haddock and accompaniments. The food was very tasty and the portion sizes were quite good. I would not say that the meal was the best I have ever had in Paris, but it was very enjoyable.
Price was about 87 euros for the two of us, so the restaurant is not cheap by any means. Still, we would return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    187
    73
    34
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Had a working dinner with colleagues in a private room upstairs. The food was excellent but very hot in the room. I will return to eat in the main dining area as it's such a nice place

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We used to go to the Petit Riche 20 years ago or more, when it was a real culinary classic with beautifully authentic decor and cooking. Well, the decor has remained unchanged, but the cooking is now so far below average that it is really not worth it to have a meal there. We were in the neighborhood with a friend last night, so we dropped in out of nostalgia. The predominant language was English; few French people seem to go there any more. We had the pate, magrets de canard and a fish dish (cabillaud). All were industrial and boring. The best thing about the meal was the bread. We did not linger for dessert. The service was at best perfunctory, at worst disdainful. If you're curious about the decor, just have a look around and leave.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Une riche nuit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

It was a company dinner with the farewell of a person. There was a beautiful place and we felt very comfortable. Stylish but friendly. The food was good and the alternatives for drinks were very big and of quality.
We stayed there for almost three hours but never felt the time passing by, from the champagne at the start, the red wine, the codfish and steaks and the wonderful deserts, everything was recommend and worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had been traveling in France for 10 days and wanted a special dinner to end our vacation. We went to Au Petit Riche on a recommendation. The maitre d was rude from the get go. The sommelier was indifferent. My wife's appetizer of lentils was quite good but my pate was only mediocre. Our main courses were also mediocre. French cuisine does not mean just drowning in butter. After finishing, no one asked us if we wanted anything else or if everything was ok. We then waited 20 minutes and no one brought the bill even though all of our dishes and glassware had been removed. Finally had to ask the bartender if he could get someone to bring our check. Finally our waiter returned and acted if he was doing us a favor by letting us pay. It was the most expensive meal we had in France and the most disappointing. Ate at a great restaurant the next night with superb service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Petit Riche also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Au Petit Riche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Petit Riche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.