We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot chocolate was overrated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angelina Paris

Angelina Paris
226 Rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)
+33 (1) 42608200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #849 of 13,440 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $1 - $36
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Louvre / Place Vendôme
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hot chocolate was overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We heard a lot about the hot chocolate and some said that it was the best in the world. Unfortunately, it wasn't for us. We went to the branch at Galleries La Fayette. The restaurant looks very posh with chandeliers and all. We ordered the hot chocolate 1 each and shared the chocolate ice cream cup (Sorry I couldn't remember the name) since the chocolate eclairs were sold out. A bit sad I was looking forward to those.

The hot chocolate came with a serving cup of whipped cream. The hot chocolate was too rich to our liking and tasted powdery. I prefer mine silky smooth. An advice, buy one cup and share first as they are filling. Hot chocolate was 8 euros per person and the ice cream was EUR13.

The staff could have been better. The service is not the fastest and we were waiting for a while for our check.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    892
    679
    318
    110
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I went for brunch with a friend after several recommendations. The wait was long, but the service was decent. Nice atmosphere, but food was not particularly memorable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Expect to wait up to 20 minutes for a table to free up. Not a child friendly place! Very nice interior. Not a good place for a meal, but rather for designer cakes and sweets. An overall nice experience and certainly worth a visit, though a bit overpriced!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Ile, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chocolate lovers must try the "Choc Africain" and the African hot chocolate.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Everyone raves about the African hot chocolate, and they are right it is amazing. However, I found something even more amazing. The "Choc Africain" is the best desert I have had in the world. Here is the description from their menu: "Chocolate brownie, African pure dark chocolate mousse, bitter dark chocolate cream."

TIP: If you are visiting the nearby Louvre Museum there is a small Angelina's inside the Louvre that does not suffer from the long lines that can form at the main establishment. Menu and the prices appeared to be the same, although the atmosphere is obviously better at the main one.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overrated and not really worth a visit.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

After recommendations and reviews we decided to visit the Angelina. We waited about 15 minutes in line to get to our seat. Amazingly there were about 8 tables free despite having a queue of 20 people waiting outside - it seems the queue is part of the attraction. Despite the tight seating the the place itself does has atmosphere but it is already run down a bit and needs quite some repairs. We had a breakfast set and the mount blanc; the set was okay (nothing special) but the mount blanc was not really tasty.

Angelina is living from it's legacy and it's past, but not much effort is done to keep the quality and the service up to the top. Not really worth to come here, there are much better places in Paris.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelina Paris also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Angelina Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelina Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.