We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A la Pomponnette

A la Pomponnette
42 Rue Lepic, 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)
00 33 1 46 06 08 36
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,186 of 13,200 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $42
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Description: A la Pomponnette est un bar - restaurant de Montmartre, tenu par la meme famille depuis 1909. Son succes repose notamment sur une cuisine francaise traditionnelle et creative, ainsi que sur son decor authentique, inspire par Poulbot.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We ate here in July after stumbling over it whilst walking up to Sacre Coeur. It is a small family run traditional restaurant they were very accommodating in finding us a table with no reservation. The food was amazing and the nicest meal we had during our holiday in Paris & Nice the cost for 2 both having 3 courses and drinks was €120 which was well worth it - next time we're in Paris we'll be going back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    55
    18
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Really tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Ate here on our first night in Paris and we were suitably impressed. Food really tasty and good choice of food and wines. Slightly more expensive than some places we visited but enjoyed it so didnt mind. Would visit again when we next return to Paris

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

A lovely day in Paris via EuroStar July 24. Excellent meal and service at this genuine old Montmartre bistrot. We will be back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Iles de la Manche
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Celebrating le quatorze juillet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This family restaurant was recommended by a Parisian friend and lived up to its advance billing. Unique menu for the special celebration together with music and singing added to the occasion and enjoyment. It would make a good traditional place in which to eat as long as you are seeking to sample home-style and friendly food and service, Nice bar filled with locals and a covered road-side space for hot days and evenings. Right in the middle of the Abbess part of Montmartre.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“A Slice of Montmartre history, plus wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was the best prepared, most authentic French food we've eaten in Paris, period. We ate at this restaurant twice, under very different circumstances. The first time was as part of a small tour group from Culinary Tours of Paris. The tour guide was a young American expatriate who loved French food and French culture. We came in the middle of the day, I believe around 1:30 p.m. The food was included, as was the wine or our choice of other beverage. We could choose anything off the menu we wanted. I had the salmon, my husband had a pork dish. The wine was marvelous, the food was incredible, the atmosphere calm and civilized. While we were staying in Paris, we had a friend visit with us for a few days. We liked the food so much, we decided to return with her as our guest. By accident, the evening we picked was a Montmartre festival day, which came complete with a street parade and a live rock band playing to hundreds of people massed right outside the restaurant! The place was packed to the rafters, the serving staff were all in costume. It was a madhouse! After we made our way past the crowds into the restaurant, they found our reservation and seated us right away, and apologized for the confusion. "It's the festival!" The service was cordial, we never felt rushed or neglected, the waitress spoke passable English. My husband practiced his French without fear. My friend had fish (the trout, I think), my husband had rabbit in a wine sauce, I had chicken in a mustard sauce, and a salmon appetizer which was incredible. We all had a glass or two of the house red, which was excellent. The bread was great (but when isn't it in Paris?). I thought the dessert I had, a lemon tart, was only fair, but that was the only misstep out of the two meals. We tried to go back again during our last week but alas, it was a Saturday and they were booked for the time we wanted. This restaurant is over 100 years old, family-owned, and filled with original artwork and memorabilia. It is frequented by tourists and locals alike. All are welcomed. When we return next to Paris, we will most assuredly be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A la Pomponnette also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to A la Pomponnette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A la Pomponnette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.