We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek, stylish hotel but with issues” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 9HOTEL OPERA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added 9HOTEL OPERA to your Saves list
9HOTEL OPERA
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   14, rue Papillon | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #467 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sleek, stylish hotel but with issues”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at 9Hotel for a weekend at the end of August. Upon arrival, we were informed that we had been downgraded (!) but to make up for the inconvenience, we were allowed to have breakfast in the morning at which point we would be moved to the room we actually booked. We were a bit surprised but though oh well... Our first room had two twin beds put together which was disappointing as we were a couple visiting. Breakfast would have been nice except there was nothing left of it when we went downstairs despite this being 45 minutes prior to the time until which breakfast was supposedly served. I then went upstairs to tell reception (there being nobody anywhere near the kitchen) where the receptionist guy told me he didn't work in the kitchen, it wasn't his problem. I was startled and asked him to just call the kitchen then and tell them to prepare some food which he then did. The food was not too bad. We then packed our stuff and left our suitcases in the room, expecting that they would be moved later in the afternoon when our new room was ready. We were however told downstairs that we had to bring them down and they would then be put in our new room. Upon arriving back at the hotel that night, we discovered that our suitcases had not been put in our new room and the new room was just a twin room again, except this time they didn't even bother to put the beds together. Real shame for the service and other issues because the hotel has a decent location and is very beautiful, sleek and stylish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    85
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
96
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Good stay at 9Hotel, staff very helpful, helping us with restaurant booking and always very cheery. We had a standard room, not big but as you would expect in Paris. Comfy bed, good wifi and not much road noise even though we were on the front. Only downside was the breakfast, advise to skip it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice Hotel if you want some thing quiet and clean the rooms are rather small the bathroom even more so but it does the trick.
Excellent location Gare du Nord 10 min Metro Station Cadet 5 min Shopping Center Lafyaette 20 min this is all walking distance.
We did not eat in the hotel as we been out doing things for the whole day and our Room did not inlcude BRF but there are samll coffees around.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimona, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly, the rooms were pleasant, relatively wide, nice and interesting design with good service.
good location at quiet but central area. near Lafayette street.
very good location to jews people, near synagogues and kosher restaurants.
very close to 2 metro stations
we really enjoyed!

מלון קטן יחסית, שקט ונחמד שנותן תמורה טובה לכסף. במיוחד אם מזמינים כמה לילות.
מעוצב ונקי, ברחוב קטן ליד ריכוז של מסעדות כשרות ובתי כנסת, ולא רחוב מגלרי לאפייט ומהאופרה. ומאוד קרוב (2 דקות) מ-2 תחנות מטרו.
מומלץ!

Room Tip: choose the superior room' itws wider and not do expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, I was within walking distance of a lot of things in central Paris. It was also very chic and stylish. The reception team were friendly and helpful when booking taxis to places etc, but the lift did not work during my stay here which I imagine isn't pleasant for those less able to walk. The room was small but comfortable, the bed was so comfortable but it did take up most of the space. The bathroom was literally a box, but everything needed was provided. I would recommend this place.

http://followingstephanie.wordpress.com/

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lets start of with the downsides... breakfast is minimal, bathrooms are as expected (small) and the rooms are as expected (small) but this is Paris and this hotel is a wonderful design hotel in a great location. I walked around the local area in the evening and found several good bars and restaurants and there are some great Parisian back streets around. Its a short walk to the Metro and if you want a longer walk you can really use it as a base to get to many of the sites in the north of Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, the balcony is a great place to sit and sip a glass of wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed just a night at this hotel, but were pleasantly surprised to find that the room was spacious (by Paris standards) and with clean, modern style (another rarity in Paris hotels). We did pay another 10 euros for the superior room but were pleased with the extra space. Internet, shower and air-con all worked well.

Not a whole lot in terms of hotel facilities but it has a stylish lobby we spent some time in.

It's not particularly close to the tourist attractions, but the metro is close and there are a lot of restaurants and cafes nearby too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 9HOTEL OPERA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9HOTEL OPERA

Address: 14, rue Papillon | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#236 Business Hotel in Paris
#504 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 9HOTEL OPERA 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9HOTEL OPERA is a 48 rooms Lifestyle Hotel situated in the Opera district, in the center of Paris. The hotel is astonishing in its simple elegance, uncluttered, functional and comfortable spaces which are distributed over six floors.9HOTEL OPERA combines a traditional facade and historic surroundings with a totally updated and modern interior, designed by CASTEL VECIANA ARQUITECTURA. 9HOTEL OPERA has an ideal location, close to the department stores and to the Opera, Gare du Nord, the Montmartre hill, the "Grands Boulevards" and other hidden secrets.The rooms are equipped with large flat screen TVs with wooden floor, individual A/C, large flat screen TVs, a wide range of national and international channels, Free WIFI, Ipod/Iphone docking station in Superior and Club Rooms, slippers and many other welcoming gestures... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 9HOTEL OPERA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9HOTEL OPERA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.