We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't hit the mark...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 9HOTEL OPERA

Save Saved
You added 9HOTEL OPERA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
9HOTEL OPERA
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   14, rue Papillon | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #486 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
BenAhmed
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Didn't hit the mark...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

On arriving at the hotel I was plesantly surprised by the look of the place, great funky lobby, however it looking nice was where it stopped.

The room was tiny, the bed was very small, I am only 5ft 7 and found it cramped. The other thing that really annoys me is when they sell a twin room, without providing seperate beds. they were touching. The room is not suitable for anything other than couples.

Poor greeting on reception with confusing about the number of nights, even though we had reconfirmed the booking.

Breakfast was good, a nice offering however the coffee was awful! Service at Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly.

One of the guests was kicking off suggesting that it was like being in Africa. I wouldn't say it was that bad, but we were not able to shower as there was no hot water all morning. Perhaps a back up boiler is required.

So its a shame, in short, less attention candles and neatly placed books in the lobby, more attention on the basics, bed and hot water. Then we might (not likely) head back.

Room Tip: Another hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9HOTEL, Directeur général at 9HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for having taken the time to write your advise. Please do apologize for all the inconveniencies above all concerning hot water which was due to a technical problem !

Sorry again Sir,

Best wishes and Happy New Year.

Silvia Carrere
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    68
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
76
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

For people who travel often to Paris and want a simple, clean and friendly place to stay this is perfect. It is a short walk from Gare du Nord. It is good value for the money. It's been redone in the style of Ikea... in a good way. And it checks all the boxes.
The rooms are small and the hotel doesn't have frills -- the elevator is big by Paris standards -- but still bound to give Australians and North Americans claustrophobia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I chose this hotel for the location as I wanted somewhere near to Gare du Nord but where we'd be well positioned to reach the sights we wanted to see. On that level it was brilliant as it's also near Cadet metro station. There are good cafes and bars in the immediate area and great food shops - delis, boulangerie etc which was good as I thought the hotel breakfast was steep at 15 euros a head. As for the hotel, we had standard double. Just enough room for two, clean, nice minimal design and comfortable bed. What's not to like? I felt it was trying to be something a bit more than it really was and it fell short on some services - we had lukewarm water for our showers and the WiFi didn't work in the room, I expect a bit better as the price is for three star and with these services not up to scratch it fell short of my expectations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is a great location if you're travelling to Paris on Eurostar. We travelled to Paris for the weekend, arriving Friday evening. WIthin 10 minutes of getting of the train we were at the hotel. 9 Hotel is a simple, modern hotel, with small compact rooms. With comfy beds, free WiFi and lots of good bars and restaurants in the area it was an ideal hotel for a weekend break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north of Seattle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The lobby is actually large enough to relax in and includes a conference table [and well-stocked bookshelves ] for small meetings and planning. spread out your maps! Rooms are modern, stylish, small, no frills but not tacky. Reception was friendly and breakfast room with arched ceilings more attractive than most. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel is recent renovated in a clean , pared down 'Scandinavian chic' style. The standard rooms are as to be expected in Paris, small, but in this case also perfectly designed . Great bathroom, comfortable bed and nice styling. I had a room facing the inner courtyard and it was really quiet so a good nights sleep The lobby is small , but with comfortable sofas and chairs and free wifi. The hotel seems to operate with minimum staff and the service was friendly , but without frills. There is no restaurant in this hotel but you can have a glass of wine in the lobby ( at the extortionatE price of €8 a glass - steep for a 3 star hotel)
Breakfast is served in the vaulted basement. The service was friendly but very haphazard. Coffee machine was broken and there was no hot food as advertised. I was Also charged extra for breakfast even though my rate was sold as included in the price.

We asked for a for a nrestUrant recommendation and were told Bistrot Papillon a few doors down, Don't bother - this is not Good restaurant . Try Hugo's next door instead.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the inner courtyard . It is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9HOTEL, Directeur général at 9HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest, first of all my team and myself we would like to thank you so much for having left your advices concerning your last staying in 9 hotel.
We really appreciate that you like the style of the hotel and the confort of the room, we do apologize for all inconveniencies due of technical problem concerning the coffee machine which has been immediately repaired.
Concerning your final invoice and your breakfast don't hesitate to revert to us for any information you may require.

Best Regards

Silvia Carrere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our 3rd time staying in Paris so we were disappointed by the room compared to our other (cheaper) rooms in other hotels. Although very well decorated and modern, we were expecting a bit more luxury for our money. On arrival at the hotel, we were given a room card. On reaching the room, we met a Spanish man waiting for the lift. As we put the card in to open the door, the man remarked that that was his room and he had checked in earlier that morning. We then had to go back to reception to ask why we had been given somebody else's room. The recptionist was apologetic but I was a bit surprised that this could happen and was worrying about our room security for the rest of the weekend. After the Spanish man had left reception, the lady continued speaking Spanish to us even we had spoken English to her 2 minutes earlier! Our new room was on the 3rd floor and the road was quite noisy but room had black-out curtains so we slept fine. The hotel is close to 2 metro stops but the line doesn't have the best connections so you need to change lines much of the time when visiting the usual sights (lots of walking & stairs!) Overall an ok hotel but probably wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room onhighest floor possible to avoid the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9HOTEL, Directeur général at 9HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having posted a comment regarding my hotel. Feed back of our guests is very important because helps us to improve ourselves.
Shall I suggest you to get in touch with me ? I leave you my mobile number which is : 00 33 06 22 35 16 43.

Best regards

Silvia Carrere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 9HOTEL OPERA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9HOTEL OPERA

Address: 14, rue Papillon | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#283 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 9HOTEL OPERA 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9HOTEL is a 48 rooms Boutique Hotel situated in the Opera district, in the center of Paris. The hotel is astonishing in its simple elegance, uncluttered, functional and comfortable spaces which are distributed over six floors.9HOTEL combines a traditional facade and historic surroundings with a totally updated and modern interior, designed by the Castel Veciana studio.9HOTEL has an ideal location, close to the department stores and to the Opéra, Gare du Nord, the Montmartre hill, the “Grands Boulevards” and other hidden secrets.The rooms are equipped with large flat screen TVs with wooden floor, individual A/C, large flat screen TVs, a wide range of national and international channels, Free WIFI, Ipod/Iphone docking station in Superior and Club Rooms, slippers and many other welcoming gestures… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your 9HOTEL OPERA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9HOTEL OPERA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.