We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse to your Saves list
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #346 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
La Crescenta, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

There's just something special about this hotel. The lobby is not your usual sterile environment, but a place to relax, read, enjoy a drink, or even look through the guestbooks that are filled with well wishes from past and present tenants of the hotel. Some of the more artistic folks actually draw wonderful pictures in the guestbooks and those are great to look at. The rooms are small as are most in Paris but they are very up-to-date and the bathrooms are immaculate. The breakfast ranges from the typical continental to having them make eggs any style you may wish. You can enjoy a cup of coffee, tea, a glass of beer or wine anytime in the lobby. You are their guest and I know that sounds obvious but many hotels DO NOT make it seem that way. This hotel is all about comfort and personalized service. I did my best to pack shirts without wrinkles but there was this one special cotton shirt that I wanted completely wrinkle free so I asked if the hotel had an iron & ironing board. They said yes but it was in the basement and why don't I just bring the shirt down to the lobby and leave it with them and they will iron it. It was perhaps the BEST ironing job I have ever seen (and I am the king of ironing shirts). Oh...and there was no charge. They also helped me book a train trip to Luxembourg as I was having trouble navigating the SNCF website. I must mention that whenever I ordered breakfast or a drink in the lobby I was never asked my room number. The staff must be trained to remember who is in what room as the billing that came at the end of the stay was correct. One thing more...as do many hotels, this one plays music in the lobby however the Hotel de la Paix Montparnasse does NOT play that sterile, boring, muzak type of thing...nope, they play a range of jazz from Brazilian Bossa Novas to the big bands. How can I not stay in a place that I can eat breakfast while listening to Woody Herman's Herd performing Four Brothers?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary91214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Asyut, Egypt
Level Contributor
158 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

As other Paris Hotel, this is a small one. The reception and bathrooms are renovated. Rooms are small as expected. Breakfast ok. Free Wifi. The location is central to Montparnasse, with 10 min walk from the RER B station. But 1 min from Metro. Staff are welcoming and nice. Actually mis-planned my booking, so they gave me a discount on my other one.

Room Tip: Quieter if away from the street, but no View..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HatOrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I've spent 1 night in this lovely hotel and enjoyed it very much. Room 35 is a superieur deluxe room with bath. Roomsize is okay for Paris. Bathroom well equipped but although there is a hairdryer, there's no electrical plug in the bathroom to use...

Breakfast choice is limited but of very high standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fly_ebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Hotel de la Paix was wonderful and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking to explore Paris. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the metro, there are plenty of good food options locally and lovely bars/cafes.

The hotel itself ticks all of the boxes and is superb value for money. The rooms are reasonably sized for Paris and are cleverly furnished and have a lovely kitsch feel. The decoration is lovely. Good powerful shower, comfy bed and no complaints about noise at all. The lobby again is decorated well and is nice and relaxed; we didn't have breakfast so can’t comment on that.

Check in was painless and our room was ready earlier than planned which was greatly appreciated. We were able to leave our luggage safely after check out which was a nice touch. The staff were friendly and spoke English if required.

Wouldn't hesitate to return and would definitely recommend! For the price, for the location, for the comfort and for the décor, this hotel is the one to book!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah18O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We found this hotel from Trip Advisor and it deserves the high reviews. The hotel is right off the metro station and it was easy to get to from the airport. It took about 30 minutes total time to get there by train from the airport. The rooms are small, but comfy and quiet. The bathroom was clean and the water pressure was great and hot. The Wi-Fi worked great in the rooms. The hotel is within walking distance of a ton of great local restaurants and is about 15 minutes walking distance from the street where all the Crepes places are located.
With the train being so close, we could easily get to all the tourist attractions. The reception desk people were very nice and spoke fluent English. They even made a dinner reservation in advance of our stay when I emailed them asking them if they could do it. I would recommend staying here if you want a reasonably priced low key place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScubaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for 8 days and just loved coming back to it every night. The room was always tidy and clean. Exceptional staff, very friendly and helpfull. As was said in prior comments, the room was very small, as was the elevator, but we spent very little time here and although small, the room was nicely decorated, cosy and comfortable. Location was good, right next to two metro stations and about 7 minutes walk from a rer station. Also, lots of restaurants and bars around.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ba_hila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Charming small hotel, quietly located but very near a variety of restaurants, interesting shops and the Jardin de Luxembourg, a classic Parisian park. Good Metro connections. Our room was clean and comfortable, furnished with a retro school desk and chair and school posters (each room is different). Tiny but very well-fitted bathroom. Firm beds (which I like). The staff without exception were friendly and helpful. It was nice to return to the hotel after a hard day's sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cactusmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#290 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,589 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#83 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Montparnasse
Aiglon Hotel
Aiglon Hotel
#209 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#143 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
#342 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Address: 225 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the very heart of the gathering point made famous by painters, writers and poets, just a stone’s throw away from the Tour Montparnasse and the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Hôtel de la Paix welcomes you to a warm and friendly setting.Whether for tourism or professional stays, the hotel’s 39 bright and soundproofed rooms will charm you with their comfort and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing