We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small and cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Save Saved
You added Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Berkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“small and cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Charming small hotel, quietly located but very near a variety of restaurants, interesting shops and the Jardin de Luxembourg, a classic Parisian park. Good Metro connections. Our room was clean and comfortable, furnished with a retro school desk and chair and school posters (each room is different). Tiny but very well-fitted bathroom. Firm beds (which I like). The staff without exception were friendly and helpful. It was nice to return to the hotel after a hard day's sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    191
    32
    3
    0
See reviews for
82
222
26
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of days while I was en route to another city. Good location, steps from the Metro. Lots of good places to eat nearby. I would probably stay here again, but I wouldn't really have my heart set on it. The rooms are very tiny. My bath had been recently renovated, which I appreciated. And who comes to Paris just to stay in your room? Wi Fi was good too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Location - We were somewhat concerned their wouldn't be enough eateries in the area for our long (8-night) stay. But the streets around the hotel possess plenty of great places for breakfast and dinner (provided you do your research first). There is an excellent boulangerie on Rue Delambre. Also close to 2 metro stops and not a long walk to the Seine for the reasonably-fit person.

Room - as others have said, incredibly small! One of our suitcases had to be lifted onto the bed to be opened given the lack of floor space. Also a phone booth of a shower! However the room was surprisingly comfortable with good sound-proofing.

Service - exceptional and a reason to return. Very helpful and willing to assist with any request (eg booked dinner for an obscure restaurant for us one night). I suggest sampling the local boulangeries for breakfast as we found this to be a highlight of our time in Paris. I saw other American tourists getting the hotel breakfast each morning but couldn't help thinking they were missing out!

Overall - given how expensive Paris accommodation can be, the small room size was to be expected. We found the hotel met all our needs and was just within budget.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent service.
Comfortable and nicely decorated hotel.
Lift was quite small but at least this hotel had one.
Room was clean and not too small. Bathroom was great.
Good wi-fi.
Close to the Metro and quite central for visiting Paris sights.
Loved our two night stay here and would definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the courtyard at the back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Based on the reviews on TA, my wife and I selected this hotel for a 3-day layover in Paris at the end of our trip to Sicily. We were greatly disappointed with the quality of the accommodations, which bore no resemblance to the pictures on the hotel's Website.

The elevator was super tiny and ancient, and stopped only between floors. It actually ceased working for half a day during our stay. The circular staircase was narrow, uneven and creaky. I missed a step and almost fell down a couple of times. The carpet, both on the staircase and in the room, had seen much better days. The room itself was tiny and dingy (although we did book the Classic room, which was supposed to be one step above the basic Standard room). It could almost be a hostel room dressed up with a couple of Tintin posters.

The redeeming feature was the staff, who were uniformly super helpful and friendly. The chambermaid did a great job keeping our room clean and tidy. The reception personnel (with special mention to the young gentleman working the morning shift, whose name we forgot) was polite to the extreme, and very proactive with suggestions and assistance.

The location was average. Two minutes to a couple of metro stations, but within reasonable walking distance to only one worthwhile attraction (the Jardin de Luxembourg).

In short, this is a one-star property with a five-star staff, hence the three-star rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathJb, Directeur général at Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you for your review, concerning your stay in our establishment, in September 2013, in a CLASSIC room.

We are very happy, that you appreciated the courtesy and the availability of all the team of the hotel , but, we do not understand some part of your review concerning the decoration and the cleanliness of your room.

All our rooms were renovated in 2012 and the decorator who is the owner, Charlotte Ferrero made different atmosphereres in every room and unfortunately, this building of the 19th century, allowed us only, to have an half floor lift.

The hotel is situated in the Montparnasse district, artists' district, with the best Brasseries and restaurants of Paris ; a district which knew how to keep its Parisian charm.

We are very sorry that the room and the comfort of the hotel did not suit to you, and you did not inform us during your stay your feelling about the room as each time we are are trying to find a solution.

We hope, to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at the hotel de la Paix, to discover an another room.

Best Regards,

Mathieu RENAUDIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and were very comfortable. Gracious and helpful service, quite spacious room - we had a room for three with two bathrooms - and super breakfast served again with grace and a smile. Very convenient for the hop on hop off bus which was perfect for us as two don't walk we'll. Also, not far to walk at all for nice bars and restaurants. It will be a top choice me me when I next visit Paris.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Address: 225 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the very heart of the gathering point made famous by painters, writers and poets, just a stone’s throw away from the Tour Montparnasse and the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Hôtel de la Paix welcomes you to a warm and friendly setting.Whether for tourism or professional stays, the hotel’s 39 bright and soundproofed rooms will charm you with their comfort and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.