We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WEE GEM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Save Saved
You added Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A WEE GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had the most wonderful three days in this lovely hotel. Everything about it was perfect from the location to the friendly staff and gorgeous rooms. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and thoroughly recommend it to everyone who visits Paris. Incidentally, if you are looking for a straightforward no fuss place to eat you could do worse than a wee Italian called La Mamma which is just down from the hotel. Turn right and follow the road down past the red canopy of La Rotonde and it's first street on the left. looks like nothing outside but food is delicious and very reasonably priced, especially by Montparnasse standards.In any case we loved this hotel and would defo stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    192
    32
    3
    0
See reviews for
84
222
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hiroshima, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have stayed here for the past two summers and we liked it so much that we can't really think about staying anywhere else. The hotel itself is elegant, I would even say chic as far as the rooms go. The rooms are small, but this is Paris and space is at a premium. But it's not at all uncomfortable. Bathrooms are big enough, nothing feels cramped. This year breakfast is now a buffet, but it's the same price and you can't beat the deal. The staff is great. Friendly, welcoming, ready to help, but also ready to leave you on your own if that's what you want.
I love the neighborhood, it's a more laid-back section of Montparnasse. But it's convenient to transportation, and you can find plenty of action down the way. Restaurants in the neighborhood are great, there's a laundromat around the corner, a small grocery store around the corner. There's bakery right next to the hotel, but since we go in August it's been closed. I can't think of anything I wasn't happy with. I slept like a log, the bed was great. Got air-conditioning, but both years the weather has been so gorgeous we didn't need it. We slept with the window open and there wasn't any noise to keep us awake.
Can't wait to go back.I want to try it out in the fall or even around Christmas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here with our 9-month baby. The hotel staff was very friendly and gave us a lot of useful information about Paris. Although there is no refrigerator in the room, they let us store our baby food in their refrigerator in the kitchen. The room is very modern and clean. The size is somewhat small but they provide a competitive price. Location is good. very close to subway. I would definitely consider to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my spouse for the last week of August.
This really is a lovely hotel run by a kind, gentle, and helpful staff.
The decor is adorable, it's easy to get to the sights from here by metro or bus, and the neighborhood itself has loads of excellent restaurants and cafes nearby.
The bed was verrrrrry comfortable. Even more so than our bed at home, and it was easy to regulate the temperature of the room. Since I like it colder than my wife, she wanted the extra blanket. Our first extra blanket was a little scratchy, so it was swapped out promptly and cheerfully by the nice lady who cleaned our room every day for one that was soft.
Our room was spotlessly clean and had a great window that opened easily with a view of the street in front.
The only small caveat I had was that the room was quite small. It was not easy to navigate around the bed and there wasn't much room for our stuff. That being said, space for us was not a priority, and we did reserve one of the smaller rooms. I seem to recall from the website that they have larger rooms available as well.
The bill at the end was exactly what I expected to pay. There were no hidden charges tacked on.
Breakfast was good and plentiful. Most cafes in the area will charge between 7 - 10 euros for a "Petit Dejeuner Formule" - a prix-fix breakfast consisting of a croissant, a piece of buttered, toasted baguette, jam and a hot beverage, sometimes with a glass of orange juice, sometimes not. With HdlP's breakfast, 9 euros gets you all the above plus yogurt, ham, cheese, a selection of cereals, and probably one or two other things I didn't see. It's also buffet-style, so you can eat as much as you like.
I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice, adorable, authentically Parisan place to stay in a great location at a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

very nice small hotel in a good location. the family room was convience for a couple with 2 children in Paris terms. the desine of the hotel is very nice but a bove all the hotel team and specially the reception group were very good and very helpfull. the onlt think I would like to suggest is to improve the breakfast and its not a big deal.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, I would suggest to take a room with the garden view and not the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A fantastic bijou hotel ideally located close to the Raspail métro stop in Montparnasse. The recently refurbished rooms take nothing away from the atmosphere and the lobby, though not at all Parisean, has a distinctly haut couture flavour with its antique/steam punk/Scottish highland decor (believe it or not, it does work beautifully!).
The Madame at reception was fantastic: friendly, obliging, and always smiling. No request was too difficult - from ironing boards to afternoon coffees, to directions, we were left feeling glad that we'd asked.
The petit dejuner buffet, which we did not have, looked great and was a good price for Paris standards at €9 per person.
We would certainly stay here again. A wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksdale, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I really enjoyed the location of the hotel. It is in a very quiet part of town with very little traffic, but is quite near two convenient metro stops. At the closest, the Raspiel stop, you can catch the subway, line 4, to one part of the city and at the Notre Dame des-Champs stop, you can catch line 12 to the rest of the important sites. Also, there are some very nice restaurants within a couple of blocks, including La Cupoule, Tavola di Gio and Le Bar à Huitres. There is also the famous Dome, but I have not eaten there. Also, within a block or two you can find a nicely stocked little grocery store, several pastry shops and a self-service laundry. It is also quite easy to get there. From the Charles de Gaulle Airport you can take the B3 train, located at the train station within the terminal, all the way to the Denfert Rochereau stop, which is only one subway stop from the Raspail stop, and you are right at your hotel.

This was probably the most friendly hotel I've ever stayed in. All the persons at the desk and the young lady who served breakfast were always smiling and courteous and ready to help you with anything.

The hotel was small and charming, with a nice sitting area in the front. Wi-Fi is included, and I had a good signal on the 5th floor. The rooms I stayed in were a bit small, but everything was nice and clean and the air conditioning worked very well. I stayed there a total of 9 nights and would certainly stay there on a return trip.

Room Tip: I stayed in the smallest room and the larger room. I would pay a little more for the larger room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Address: 225 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the very heart of the gathering point made famous by painters, writers and poets, just a stone’s throw away from the Tour Montparnasse and the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Hôtel de la Paix welcomes you to a warm and friendly setting.Whether for tourism or professional stays, the hotel’s 39 bright and soundproofed rooms will charm you with their comfort and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.