We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse to your Saves list
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€85 (EUR)
Ranked #269 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my spouse for the last week of August.
This really is a lovely hotel run by a kind, gentle, and helpful staff.
The decor is adorable, it's easy to get to the sights from here by metro or bus, and the neighborhood itself has loads of excellent restaurants and cafes nearby.
The bed was verrrrrry comfortable. Even more so than our bed at home, and it was easy to regulate the temperature of the room. Since I like it colder than my wife, she wanted the extra blanket. Our first extra blanket was a little scratchy, so it was swapped out promptly and cheerfully by the nice lady who cleaned our room every day for one that was soft.
Our room was spotlessly clean and had a great window that opened easily with a view of the street in front.
The only small caveat I had was that the room was quite small. It was not easy to navigate around the bed and there wasn't much room for our stuff. That being said, space for us was not a priority, and we did reserve one of the smaller rooms. I seem to recall from the website that they have larger rooms available as well.
The bill at the end was exactly what I expected to pay. There were no hidden charges tacked on.
Breakfast was good and plentiful. Most cafes in the area will charge between 7 - 10 euros for a "Petit Dejeuner Formule" - a prix-fix breakfast consisting of a croissant, a piece of buttered, toasted baguette, jam and a hot beverage, sometimes with a glass of orange juice, sometimes not. With HdlP's breakfast, 9 euros gets you all the above plus yogurt, ham, cheese, a selection of cereals, and probably one or two other things I didn't see. It's also buffet-style, so you can eat as much as you like.
I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice, adorable, authentically Parisan place to stay in a great location at a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    241
    38
    3
    0
See reviews for
106
269
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

very nice small hotel in a good location. the family room was convience for a couple with 2 children in Paris terms. the desine of the hotel is very nice but a bove all the hotel team and specially the reception group were very good and very helpfull. the onlt think I would like to suggest is to improve the breakfast and its not a big deal.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, I would suggest to take a room with the garden view and not the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic bijou hotel ideally located close to the Raspail métro stop in Montparnasse. The recently refurbished rooms take nothing away from the atmosphere and the lobby, though not at all Parisean, has a distinctly haut couture flavour with its antique/steam punk/Scottish highland decor (believe it or not, it does work beautifully!).
The Madame at reception was fantastic: friendly, obliging, and always smiling. No request was too difficult - from ironing boards to afternoon coffees, to directions, we were left feeling glad that we'd asked.
The petit dejuner buffet, which we did not have, looked great and was a good price for Paris standards at €9 per person.
We would certainly stay here again. A wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksdale, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I really enjoyed the location of the hotel. It is in a very quiet part of town with very little traffic, but is quite near two convenient metro stops. At the closest, the Raspiel stop, you can catch the subway, line 4, to one part of the city and at the Notre Dame des-Champs stop, you can catch line 12 to the rest of the important sites. Also, there are some very nice restaurants within a couple of blocks, including La Cupoule, Tavola di Gio and Le Bar à Huitres. There is also the famous Dome, but I have not eaten there. Also, within a block or two you can find a nicely stocked little grocery store, several pastry shops and a self-service laundry. It is also quite easy to get there. From the Charles de Gaulle Airport you can take the B3 train, located at the train station within the terminal, all the way to the Denfert Rochereau stop, which is only one subway stop from the Raspail stop, and you are right at your hotel.

This was probably the most friendly hotel I've ever stayed in. All the persons at the desk and the young lady who served breakfast were always smiling and courteous and ready to help you with anything.

The hotel was small and charming, with a nice sitting area in the front. Wi-Fi is included, and I had a good signal on the 5th floor. The rooms I stayed in were a bit small, but everything was nice and clean and the air conditioning worked very well. I stayed there a total of 9 nights and would certainly stay there on a return trip.

Room Tip: I stayed in the smallest room and the larger room. I would pay a little more for the larger room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited Paris in August for 4 days having 38'C and we've been very happy to enter an air conditioned room. The staff is very friendly and in general the atmosphere is very familiar. Of course the rooms are not so large but they have a very nice inventory which came from an old school I assume i.e. an old blackboard with French verbs... The hotel is just beneath the Metro station "Raspail" so you're downtown in just a few minutes. The area Montparnasse itself is also very interesting and you'll find some typical french restaurants in the neighbourhood. We had a very nice stay in Paris and will definitely come back to. this hotel. :-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and a 4-year-old child stayed in this lovely boutique hotel for 4 consecutive nights and then an additional night when we came back to Paris from Brittany. As is standard for Paris hotels, the rooms are not large, but the Superior Double room with an extra bed (for 15 euros extra per night) was sufficiently big enough for us and luggage. The lift, which everyone else has mentioned, is tiny and stops between floors, but we managed just fine, and even our little boy's legs managed to climb up and down the stairs to and from the 4th floor. The service we received from all the front desk staff were very good, especially with directions and restaurant bookings even before we arrived in Paris. We thought that the hotel's location was very good: close to Denfert-Rocherou station, an RER B train station with direct connection to the Charles de Gaulle Airport; very close to Raspail Metro station serving both Line 4 and Line 6 which got us to all the Parisian tourist attractions; and walking distance to Jardin du Luxemburg (great for kids), Tour Montparnasse (for great views of Paris without the crowd) and Gare Montparnasse (for the TGV and other trains to and from the west and south-west of France). There is a bakery nearby to pick up breakfast on the way out to see Paris, as well as a supermarket and laundromat for other necessities important to a family with small children. Countless restaurants are nearby too. I don't have anything bad to say about this hotel other than the small-ish size (but I dare you to find bigger for the price and location!).

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor if you have issues with climbing stairs and/or waiting for the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for four days on our first trip to Paris. The hotel room was tiny but we fine considering we didn't spend much time here. It was a great value and very close to two Metro stops which made it easy to get around the city. The location was a bit out of the way which probably would have been fine if it weren't our first trip to Paris. Considering the value and location near the metro stops, I would recommend the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#322 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,484 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
#258 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Montparnasse
Aiglon Hotel
Aiglon Hotel
#238 of 1,793 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#144 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Montparnasse
Max Hotel
Max Hotel
#169 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#261 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Address: 225 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the very heart of the gathering point made famous by painters, writers and poets, just a stone’s throw away from the Tour Montparnasse and the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Hôtel de la Paix welcomes you to a warm and friendly setting.Whether for tourism or professional stays, the hotel’s 39 bright and soundproofed rooms will charm you with their comfort and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.