We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Save Saved
You added Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Clarksdale, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I really enjoyed the location of the hotel. It is in a very quiet part of town with very little traffic, but is quite near two convenient metro stops. At the closest, the Raspiel stop, you can catch the subway, line 4, to one part of the city and at the Notre Dame des-Champs stop, you can catch line 12 to the rest of the important sites. Also, there are some very nice restaurants within a couple of blocks, including La Cupoule, Tavola di Gio and Le Bar à Huitres. There is also the famous Dome, but I have not eaten there. Also, within a block or two you can find a nicely stocked little grocery store, several pastry shops and a self-service laundry. It is also quite easy to get there. From the Charles de Gaulle Airport you can take the B3 train, located at the train station within the terminal, all the way to the Denfert Rochereau stop, which is only one subway stop from the Raspail stop, and you are right at your hotel.

This was probably the most friendly hotel I've ever stayed in. All the persons at the desk and the young lady who served breakfast were always smiling and courteous and ready to help you with anything.

The hotel was small and charming, with a nice sitting area in the front. Wi-Fi is included, and I had a good signal on the 5th floor. The rooms I stayed in were a bit small, but everything was nice and clean and the air conditioning worked very well. I stayed there a total of 9 nights and would certainly stay there on a return trip.

Room Tip: I stayed in the smallest room and the larger room. I would pay a little more for the larger room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    196
    32
    3
    0
See reviews for
85
228
26
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited Paris in August for 4 days having 38'C and we've been very happy to enter an air conditioned room. The staff is very friendly and in general the atmosphere is very familiar. Of course the rooms are not so large but they have a very nice inventory which came from an old school I assume i.e. an old blackboard with French verbs... The hotel is just beneath the Metro station "Raspail" so you're downtown in just a few minutes. The area Montparnasse itself is also very interesting and you'll find some typical french restaurants in the neighbourhood. We had a very nice stay in Paris and will definitely come back to. this hotel. :-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and a 4-year-old child stayed in this lovely boutique hotel for 4 consecutive nights and then an additional night when we came back to Paris from Brittany. As is standard for Paris hotels, the rooms are not large, but the Superior Double room with an extra bed (for 15 euros extra per night) was sufficiently big enough for us and luggage. The lift, which everyone else has mentioned, is tiny and stops between floors, but we managed just fine, and even our little boy's legs managed to climb up and down the stairs to and from the 4th floor. The service we received from all the front desk staff were very good, especially with directions and restaurant bookings even before we arrived in Paris. We thought that the hotel's location was very good: close to Denfert-Rocherou station, an RER B train station with direct connection to the Charles de Gaulle Airport; very close to Raspail Metro station serving both Line 4 and Line 6 which got us to all the Parisian tourist attractions; and walking distance to Jardin du Luxemburg (great for kids), Tour Montparnasse (for great views of Paris without the crowd) and Gare Montparnasse (for the TGV and other trains to and from the west and south-west of France). There is a bakery nearby to pick up breakfast on the way out to see Paris, as well as a supermarket and laundromat for other necessities important to a family with small children. Countless restaurants are nearby too. I don't have anything bad to say about this hotel other than the small-ish size (but I dare you to find bigger for the price and location!).

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor if you have issues with climbing stairs and/or waiting for the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for four days on our first trip to Paris. The hotel room was tiny but we fine considering we didn't spend much time here. It was a great value and very close to two Metro stops which made it easy to get around the city. The location was a bit out of the way which probably would have been fine if it weren't our first trip to Paris. Considering the value and location near the metro stops, I would recommend the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Booked a twin room, with an extra bed for our daughter, at the start of a two week tour around France, Luxembourg & Belgium - we chose this hotel based on a combination of location & price.
We received a warm welcome & our room on the sixth floor was just right for us all.
We used the small lift for our luggage - be aware that it actually stops between floors, so you need to walk up or down a few stairs to get to your room.
Bathroom was small but just big enough, we had a great view out of the front of the hotel, free wi-fi & the air con was a most welcome addition - no hot drinks facilities in the room though...
Continental breakfast was cool with a good choice.
There is no parking, but the hotel sent me details of nearby parking at around €25.00 a day.
We were only a few hundred yards away from Raspail Metro station, near shed loads of restaurants & a short walk up Boulevard du Montparnasse to Tour (tower) Montparnasse, a 210 metre skyscraper where you can go upto the rooftop to view the rest of Paris - definitely worth the charge.
Only about a 1.5 mile walk past/through the Jardin du Luxembourg to Notre Dame; we went East down the Boulevard du Montparnasse (which becomes the Boulevard du Port-Royal) & then walked down Avenue des Gobelins & past The Pantheon towards Notre Dame for all the fabulous independent shops.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Tucked away from the hurly burly of Blvd Montparnasse on the Blvd Raspail, this charming hotel offers very good accommodation and excellent service as well as reasonable prices for Paris. Rooms vary in cost ( and size) from 110 euros for a standard double upwards to the Junior Suite. We had a family reunion here with three generations and it was a great success. Metro, RER and buses are all handy and the fabulous Jardin de Luxembourg is just a stroll away. Breakfast in the charming , homely dining area is 9 euros.Service is impeccable, as is the cleanliness. This is one for those who want a real Parisian experience ( with quality AND a smile) and do not wish to stay in hotel chains! If you choose to have breakfast out, why not treat ypurselves to a wonderful breakfast at the historic La Coupole, just around the corner?

Room Tip: If you need extra space, ask for the Superior Double. We had the standard and are both slim, so it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Outstanding place. Outstanding people that work there too. Staff very welcoming and accomodating. Always please and always helpful. Once we figured out the metro system and discovered the correct exit, this place fit everything we wanted. There is even a small bakery less than half a block away from the hotel and on the same side of the street. The bakery employees were quite friendly, accomodating, and worked with our minimum level of French language skills.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor. Great rooms but long walk up the stairs. We only used small lift (elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Address: 225 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the very heart of the gathering point made famous by painters, writers and poets, just a stone’s throw away from the Tour Montparnasse and the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Hôtel de la Paix welcomes you to a warm and friendly setting.Whether for tourism or professional stays, the hotel’s 39 bright and soundproofed rooms will charm you with their comfort and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.