We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Save Saved
You added Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #196 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Obviously, for the price we paid, I was not expecting a luxory hotel. This is just a nice and simple hotel.
Positive - location and cleanliness
Negative - room with bad sound proofing. I could listen to every step of my neighbors, every door that was closed, etc. Of course, this is a problem also created by bad behaviour of other guests but the bad sound proofing definitely helps.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    200
    32
    3
    0
See reviews for
86
234
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with three friends and we all loved it. Yes, its small but well laid out and contains everything you need. Its slightly quirky and the staff are very friendly and helpful. we hadn,t booked breakfast but ended up having it in the hotel for two of the mornings and it was just what we needed, coffee, croissants, cereal etc. There is a "bar" but its basically just a trolley in the reception area - good brandy though! The location is ideal, far enough out to be less tourist but near enough to be able to walk places - probably about 20 mins walk to the Seine? And the Raspail metro stop is practically right outside the door if you are tired ! If you are coming in by train from the airport the RER B stop at Port Royal is only a 5-10 min walk from the hotel. Will stay here the next time I'm in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very clean, comfortable, nicely decorated and 1 min away from the Raspail metro station. The area is very quiet so you'll be sure to get a good night's sleep. The staff was extremely helpful and nice and you can stay out late as there's a 24h consierge service. The bed was oddly short but this is maybe due to the small rooms. If you're very tall, better check the bed sizein advance. Overall, the hotel was perfect for our stay in Paris.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This review needs few words. Hotel de la Paix Montparnasse exceeds expectations from the moment you walk in the front door.

Firstly, it is located 50m from one Metro station, 100m from another. It is in the middle of a safe, up-market suburban neighbourhood filled with shops, restaurants, cafes, and apartments. We had the junior suite (1 double + 1 single) room 50, which was excellent. The small lift will be an experience but adds some extra charm to the staying experience. This surely has to be the best value for money property in Paris.

The rooms are newly renovated, very clean, and quite spacious for Paris. Double glazing blocks out street noise, and the air conditioning is very efficient. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. All spoke good English. It really is more like staying in someone's home (albeit a very large home) than a hotel.

The breakfast has little choice but you will find so many options within 100m of the front door, if you like something different. The only suggestion for improvement would be larger, softer bath towels and some glass tumbler glasses (rather than plastic) for the room.

Excellent stay of 4 nights that we enjoyed very much. Thank-you Hotel de la Paix.

Room Tip: For a little more space, choose the Junior Suite which is extremely well priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here two nights on either end of a trip to southern France. Chose based on other Trip Advisor reviews and easy access to Montparnasse station. Friendly, welcoming staff. Rooms are clean and charming. Room 40 was larger and quieter than Room 12. None of the rooms are large, but that's typical for Paris. Breakfast was a perfectly fine French standard - coffee, juice and croissants. The lift is small and quirky (careful stepping out onto the landing as others have said), but I only used it if I had to and took the steps on trips downstairs. Very walkable to Montparnasse station--it only took me 10-15 minutes with luggage. Also convenient to a number of restaurants, Luxembourg Gardens and St. Germain. I highly recommend and would stay here again on a future visit.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel de la Paix on the recommendation of a friend. It was a lovely hotel staffed with kind, gracious people, situated in an excellent location. The room was quaintly furnished and comfortable. The bathroom was... cozy. Ok, my husband would say "lose the code word, the bathroom was tiny." Ok, it was small, but completely modern with really nice finishes. And I didn't go to Paris in search of an enormous bathroom, so I didn't mind the size at all. Hubs is a tall, broad-shouldered guy, however, and found it a little uncomfortable. The hotel offered breakfast each morning, which was served in a charming little dining area.

The location was fabulous! Close to transportation, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of other great neighborhoods and lots of great sites (keeping in mind that Paris is made for walking).

My only "warning" is in regards to the lift...it is SMALL (no code word here). It stops between floors, and you either walk up or down eight curved, narrow steps to get to your floor. No luggage, no problem. Lug a ginormous suitcase stuffed for a European vacation, and it felt a little perilous getting to and from the room.

But the overall impression and experience was terrific. We would stay here again, and recommend it completely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great hotel. Friendly, helpful staff who made stay in Paris so much easier. The atmosphere was what we expected from a typical Paris hotel. The level of cleanliness was impeccable.
Great location with metro a minutes walk away & 5 minutes to great eatiers & 10 minutes to the best Creperies in the world!
Small rooms but everything you would want.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Address: 225 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the very heart of the gathering point made famous by painters, writers and poets, just a stone’s throw away from the Tour Montparnasse and the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Hôtel de la Paix welcomes you to a warm and friendly setting.Whether for tourism or professional stays, the hotel’s 39 bright and soundproofed rooms will charm you with their comfort and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.