We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for sight seeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Save Saved
You added Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location for sight seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This brilliant hotel is within walking distance of a lot of the major sights in the city, or at least a stones throw from an underground station to get you to those further away. Spotless, good service from the reception staff, couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    192
    32
    3
    0
See reviews for
84
222
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This cute little boutique hotel is conveniently located 2 minutes from the Metro, about 10 minutes from the RER for the airport. The room was pretty spacious for Europe standards. Bathroom was very nice - modern and clean. Staff was friendly, but I felt they weren't that great with recommendations as other hotels we've stayed in. (I had to help the guy give another tourist advice on buying tickets for the Metro).

It is a 10 minute walk to Tour Montparnasse if you want to see the Eiffel Tower from high up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Couldn't think of a better place to stay in Paris . . . a charming little hotel away from the big ones near the tourist sites. Hotel de la Paix is a short walk from both the Metro and the RER to the airport, I loved this place because it felt like staying in a quaint little apartment building vs. a hotel. The staff was wonderful and offered great tips how where to go and the best stop to get off at to see view of Eiffel Tower (hint: it's not the Eiffel Tower stop). We stayed in a junior suite which had a double bed on one side of the room and a twin on the other side for our daughter. The room also had a small desk, ample storage space and had two showers which worked really well for us. Note, this hotel has a winding staircase along with a really cool lift that's big enough for 2-3 people without bags or 1 person with one bag.

Though I had previously suggested this hotel to my sister based only on what I'd seen on their website, once she stayed there and had such a positive experience I knew I couldn't stay anywhere else once I returned to Paris. Glad I made that decision!

Room Tip: Junior suite #36 has two sets of windows that open out to the Rue Raspail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent 8 lovely days in Paris at hotel de la Paix. This hotel, small and our idea of typically French, proved to be wonderful. A 5min walk from Raspail Metro station, it was located close to many delicious eateries, walking distance to Montparnassse Tower. Our room was decorated beautifully, had a very comfortable bed, desk, chairs, wardrobe & safe. No fridge and a compact ensuite which was clean with a very hot shower. Although on a busy road, it was extremely quiet unless you had the window open. The staff spoke English, some better than others, & were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was an extra charge. A small lift (for 1 &a suitcase) stopped vetween flores, and a fantastic tight, oval staircase took you either up or down to your room. All in all, we loved our stay, and were pleased with our choice booked online ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at Hotel De la Paix.
30 metres from a metro stop and close to a main street, the hotel is ideally located for travellers.
We stayed over New Years and the reception staff provided many suggestions for restaurants and ways to celebrate.
The room itself, although small, was clean and felt new.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights during our honeymoon and it really complimented our wonderful time in Paris. Located in the 14th but right near the Vavin and Raspail metro stops and a 20-30 min. walk from the Seine, it is incredibly convenient and allowed us to both walk or take the metro to other sights around the city. The surrounding neighborhood is a bit more residential and quieter, which made for a serene place to stroll and sleep. There are some lovely local bakeries, cheesemongers, and creperies just blocks away.

We found the room to be cozy but just what we needed. It was artfully decorated, clean, and comfortable with a newly-renovated bathroom. Note that the elevators only stop between floors, so you will have to carry your luggage up or down a few steps.

The staff is superb and incredibly helpful (both if you know and don't know French). My husband got sick during our trip, and the concierge really took care of us -- helped us call a doctor and also helped me heat up soup for him.

The 9 euro breakfast did seem expensive, but we realized it was because they serve a LOT of food (mostly baked goods). You will be stuffed afterward, but it's also possible to get items a la carte.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has nice decor and is clean. The only complaint is the rooms are quite small, but for a central location (we walked to most places) that's expected. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Address: 225 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the very heart of the gathering point made famous by painters, writers and poets, just a stone’s throw away from the Tour Montparnasse and the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Hôtel de la Paix welcomes you to a warm and friendly setting.Whether for tourism or professional stays, the hotel’s 39 bright and soundproofed rooms will charm you with their comfort and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.