We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a convenient but quiet neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Save Saved
You added Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place in a convenient but quiet neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights during our honeymoon and it really complimented our wonderful time in Paris. Located in the 14th but right near the Vavin and Raspail metro stops and a 20-30 min. walk from the Seine, it is incredibly convenient and allowed us to both walk or take the metro to other sights around the city. The surrounding neighborhood is a bit more residential and quieter, which made for a serene place to stroll and sleep. There are some lovely local bakeries, cheesemongers, and creperies just blocks away.

We found the room to be cozy but just what we needed. It was artfully decorated, clean, and comfortable with a newly-renovated bathroom. Note that the elevators only stop between floors, so you will have to carry your luggage up or down a few steps.

The staff is superb and incredibly helpful (both if you know and don't know French). My husband got sick during our trip, and the concierge really took care of us -- helped us call a doctor and also helped me heat up soup for him.

The 9 euro breakfast did seem expensive, but we realized it was because they serve a LOT of food (mostly baked goods). You will be stuffed afterward, but it's also possible to get items a la carte.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    191
    32
    3
    0
See reviews for
82
222
26
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has nice decor and is clean. The only complaint is the rooms are quite small, but for a central location (we walked to most places) that's expected. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for only one night in a room for 3. Happy with the room - small but as expected. Clean. Bathrooms tiny but fine (two bathrooms but only one had a toilet). Comfortable beds, nice character, good AC/heating. Basic toiletries provided, no tea/coffee etc in room that I found. Friendly service. Convenient location especially if travelling by train to other parts of France. Would have been nice if continental breakfast was included as the room was quite price, but overall we were pretty happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great location, basic facility, close to tube station, friendly staff. We were able to keep all our bags with them when we checked out as our train was late evening.
The tube station is very close and very convenient to travel anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at this hotel...Sept. 26 - Oct. 2012. I can not say enough good things about it. It was utterly adorable and cozy and perfect. This was our first trip ever out of the United States. Our first encounter with Paris was magical, and this little hotel only added to our pleasure. The staff was so sweet and helpful. The location was great. We felt like we were out of the way, away from the crowds, but so close to the Raspail metro that we travelled everywhere easily. It felt like a genuine encounter with Paris, not a congested touristy cliche. I would HIGHLY recommend.

The rooms were very small and the bathroom even tinier, but impeccably clean and cutely decorated. I LOVED all of the vintage schoolhouse decor - school desks and shelves and books and reading charts and maps. Adorable. Our room opened onto the street, but with the windows sealed shut, it was silent. The king-size bed was very comfortable. The spiral stair was steep and creaky and we loved it. It just added to the ambiance. Even the tiny elevator was charming. Nothing like anything we've ever experienced in Texas!

We didn't plan to eat breakfast at the hotel, but after we tried it the first morning, we were hooked. We ate breakfast there every day. The two of us split one breakfast, which was 8 euros, I think. He drank the orange juice, I drank the French-pressed coffee (HEAVEN!!), and we split the bread basket in half. I claimed the chocolate croissant every morning. The little dining room was so homey and cozy, and each morning we met and talked with other guests from around the world. It was fun muddling through translations to communicate with sweet strangers.

Every day we logged miles and miles walking all over the city and visiting as many sights as we could squeeze in. And every night, as we returned to the hotel, we were met by the welcoming golden glow of our cozy temporary home. I cannot wait to travel to Paris again and stay at the "Hotel of Peace." I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I head to Paris between Christmas and New Year and after extensive research chose the Hotel de la Paix based on Trip Advisor reviews and their own website, as offering good value for money . We were not disappointed with our choice at all.

Location: We arrived via Eurostar at Gare du Nord which was a straight line 4 on the Metro to Raspail. The journey was less than 30 minutes. We came out of the Metro stop and literally 2 or 3 minutes’ walk and there was the hotel. We also used this metro stop to take the 10 minute or so journey to Eiffel Tower on Line 6. We walked out of the hotel and turned right and after a few minutes’ walk we were in the area of Montparnasse with its many restaurants and bars and Galeries Lafayette.

Reception: The decor in reception was just like somebody's front room, very appealing and welcoming. The staff were very friendly and took our bags as we arrived at 1pm just before our room was ready, although the couple in front managed to get checked in at this time so its worth trying if you arrive before check in time.

Rooms: We had taken a superior and was on the 3rd floor facing the courtyard at the back of the hotel. In terms of traffic noise we never heard a thing, obviously being at the back would have helped. The room was small but that is to be expected in Paris but it was tastefully decorated and had a certain charm about it. There was a school desk beside the bed, that was very quirky but only added to the appeal of the room. The bathroom was spotlessly clean but I agree with other reviewers about the shower as the handle part protrudes too far into the cubicle area that it does get in the way whilst showering. Having said that the shower was powerful and very hot. We didn’t really watch the television as it was mostly French tv but there was a small flatscreen on the wall. There was a safe in the wardrobe but I couldn’t get it to work despite following the instructions! There was free Wi-Fi which seemed a little patchy on our phones but was fine with the iPad so we used this to look up local information whilst in the room.

Yes the staircase was spiral and a bit tricky to navigate but it didn’t bother us. We both managed to fit in the lift with my small suitcase and a holdall and we aren’t the smallest of people either, no one else would have got in but it was perfectly fine for 2.

We didn’t eat breakfast at the hotel so cant comment but it was 9 Euros if you wanted to.

Overall the location was excellent, the staff were friendly and spoke good English and the room was modern and very clean, what more could you ask for? We would not hesitate to return or recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 4 nights here from 13 December and would gladly return given the chance.

Its in a great location within Montparnasse, right next to a subway station. Other subway lines are a few minutes walk away, as are 2 RER stations(10 minutes or so away ) and it is in close proximity to shops, restaurants, cafes and a bizarrely large amount of cinemas.

Loved the interior and warm welcoming reception lounge. Getting to the rooms is fun in itself as its either up a tiny tiny lift or up a tight, squeeky wooden staircase - some may find that problematic, but I thought it added to the authentic, homestyle feel.

Room: did the job and is a decent size, although the shower cubicle is pretty cramped, it is hard to move without inadvertently moving the tap. Quirkiness continues in the decor and instead of a lounge style chair we had an old wooden school chair and school table, as well as a jotter containing hand written guest information.

The double glazing is exceptional at cutting out the exterior noise (it is on a fairly busy main road so this is needed) however it can get a little stuffy, even in the cold month that we went. Also the bed seemed to get exceptionally hot at times for some reason.

Staff were friendly and welcoming, and they `will store bags for you without issue. Overall it was clean, comfortable enough and in a superb location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Address: 225 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the very heart of the gathering point made famous by painters, writers and poets, just a stone’s throw away from the Tour Montparnasse and the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Hôtel de la Paix welcomes you to a warm and friendly setting.Whether for tourism or professional stays, the hotel’s 39 bright and soundproofed rooms will charm you with their comfort and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.