We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lumen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lumen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lumen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Rue des Pyramides | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #350 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I recently spent four nights at the Hotel Lumen. As most of the other reviewers have noted the hotel's location is excellent, perfect for walking to the main tourist-sights in Paris plus also the shopping districts and some great cafes/restaurants. On arrival, the gentleman at the reception was friendly and helpful as was the porter who showed us to our room. The room was great, quite big by Paris standards and well-furnished. Just like the pictures on the hotel's website. Our room overlooked Rue des Pyramides and I can honestly say that the street noise did not bother us at all. The room was surprisingly soundproof. Breakfast was good with all the usual 4-star breakfast offerings. The french yoghurts and all the really fresh pastries were a highlight. Breakfast was included in our room rate, however if you book a room without breakfast I suggest that you go to one of the close-by cafes as it was not really worth 22 Euros per person. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your nice comment.
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to paris in the future.
My best regards.
Adeline SURAULT
Director of sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    123
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
31
172
37
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is remarkably fantastically located; there are restaurants and bars galore within a few hundred metres' walk, as well as many of the Parisian sights, such as the Louvre and the Jardin des Tuilleries. The front desk staff ranged from being civil (at best) to thoroughly unhelpful, despite my insistence of conversing with them in university level French. The room was well maintained and stylishly furnished, comfortable and clean. That said, a room facing the Rue des Pyramides is fairly noisy, which is far from ideal in July when the temperatures are in excess of 30c and the balcony doors must be kept open for comfort. Overall I enjoyed my stay very much, but the sullen attitude of the staff soured it somewhat.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Rue des Pyramides are considerably louder than those facing the Eglise de Saint Roc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
First of all we would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre.We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed about the attitude of our staff.
We sincerely apologize.
.I remain personally available for any new inquiry,so we could be able to give you an other idea of the Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre.
Please feel free to contact me personally at +33 1 44 50 77 01 or at resa@hotel-lumenparis.com.
My best regards.
Adeline Surault
Director of sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Located very close to the Louvre, Hotel Lumen is a lovely place to stay. Friendly staff with great rooms and within easy walking distance to great restaurants (search on Tripadvisor).
We upgraded to a suite which looks just like in the photos. Funky and interesting with an extra room that you can leave your open suitcases so you're not tripping over them all the time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Next time you come and stay with us, you will have to stay longer to enjoy our jazz evening on saturday.
We will be delighted to welcome you back at the Lumen.
My best regards.
Adeline SURAULT
Director of sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in July and enjoyed the hotel, location, food and of course Paris in summer. ‎The location is great for anyone who wants to walk to Paris’s tourist highlights. Its an expensive ‎area of Paris so you have to expect to pay for this convenience. The room was very comfortable. ‎Not large, you are in Paris but enough space to relax in. We had a room at the back of the hotel ‎looking over a lane towards a church. I would recommend these as you don’t get the constant ‎street noise. Great bathroom. All the rooms are varied so I cannot say what the others are like. ‎Service is good. We arrived at midday and the room was not ready so we had lunch in the ‎restaurant downstairs. Not too cheap but great Italian style food. We had another meal there later ‎in our stay. Great hotel for a short getaway.‎

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your impressions with us and fellow travelers.
I couldn't agree with you more, that the hotel is located in one of the most amazing areas of Paris. It has a genuine neighborhood feel to it and the streets are filled with restaurants, cafés, boutiques and just a short walk from the major historical monuments...
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Adeline SURAULT
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Lumen in early July. Travelling with a family of four (2 daughters 11 & 13), Hotel Lumen was a great place to stay, although the rooms were tight, we had no trouble feeling comfortable in the updated room. Very safe and the staff were excellent. Pullout for the two children made the room feel even more compact, but to be expected when staying at a boutique type hotel in the center of Paris. Easy walking to most major attractions, and a short block or two to the Hop on Hop off bus. Metro station (Pyramid) two blocks away. Enjoyed Hotel Lumen and would recommend. We opted put of the breakfast as we like to take in the cuisine on the go, but did eat at "Oscars" one evening and was excellent.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for sharing your experience with fellow travellers.
We are very pleased to read that your stay with us was such a success and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Lumen paris Louvre in the future.

Best regards,
Adeline SURAULT
Director of sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just spent four nights at The Lumen. The room had all we needed for a comfortable stay. The weather was very hot but we slept well with windows shut and air con on. Reception were happy to book restaurants and taxis for us. Breakfast was good and the staff pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us and fellow future travellers. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed yur stay with us. Hopefully we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Paris in the future.

Best regards,
Adeline Surault
Director of sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Having driven into paris on the day of the finish of the tour de france it was perfect to find secure parking directly opposite hotel lumens. Reception was very welcoming and the attractive young lady spoke perfect English. Temp on the day was 34 deg so wonderful to enter the oasis of a room with the aircon on full blast. Lovely Views of Saint-roch church and a very nice bottle of complimentary bordeaux... All this from a budget priced hotel! Will definitely be booking again. Buffet Breakfast was also very good, excellent service from professional attentive staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and fellow travellers. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you particularily enjoyed our quality of service. I will make sure to share this with my colleagues.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Paris and Hotel Lumen paris Louvre in the future.

Best regards,
Adeline SURAULT
Director of sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lumen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lumen

Address: 15 Rue des Pyramides | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#308 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#418 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lumen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant designer boutique hotel situated in the most sought-after area of Paris, the Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre is just a stone’s throw away from the Louvre, the Place Vendôme and the Opera House. Located on the corner of Rue Saint Honoré, a fashionable Paris shopping boulevard, the hotel is “the place to be,” either for a business trip, a romantic getaway, a shopping excursion or an entertaining evening in the City of Lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lumen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumen Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lumen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.