We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Lumen Lourve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lumen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lumen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lumen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Rue des Pyramides | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #348 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Hotel Lumen Lourve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Small rooms, but all else is great about this hotel. Very friendly staff and wonderful service and a bottle of wine welcomes you to the hotel. Location is just awesome, with the Louvre museum just 2 minutes walk away. Nice bathroom amenities though very small. Also it is very close to Line 1 of the metro and thus very convenient for travel through out the city. Also the Cityrama offices are 1 minute away and is very convenient if want to book tours of the city and disneyland. The departures are from there also.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    126
    42
    16
    11
See reviews for
39
184
38
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Think small rooms, and you'll think of hotel Lumen. Eveything else is good about the hotel: location good beds, nice bathroom amenities from Hermes, a bottle of wine to welcome you....
Staff is very friendly, except for the grumpy guy with glasses in the restaurant. But it may just have not been his day...

Room Tip: 5th floor, away from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed at the hotel lumen it was very friendly and comfortable we found the resturant very good value and the staff were very friendly we would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: We had a suite and we found it very comfortable .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This was our second stay at the Lumen, and we had one of the Business Suites. Separate bedroom, smallish bathroom with tub, and really complicated shower controls.
The Lumen is a kinky little property, very well run, in the heart of the 1st arrondisement. Location, location, location. Very helpful front desk staff. We walked everywhere. Two blocks from the Louvre and Tuilleries. The hotel could use some freshening, but is very well priced. Included breakfast very good.

Room Tip: Get a suite. We've heard the rooms are quite small. Higher floors, facing the St. Eglise Church...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The Lumen Hotel in Paris is a special place.
I travelled on business to the Lumen and I have to say that as a Lady travelling by herself I was very impressed by how safe I felt and how easy I was able to reach the hotel.
From Gare De Nord it is extremely easy to reach , less than 15 minutes and one change and you’re right there. Located not even 5 min walk from the Pyramids Tube station.
I checked into my lovely room which had everything I needed to feel extremely comfortable. Went to the Oscar Restaurant in-house and it was amazing, felt welcomed from the minute I walked in, I was looked after until I left as well (if not better) as everyone else. Sometimes as a single lady travelling alone you tend to get pushed into corners or sat around the outside, my amazing waiter made sure I was at the heart of everything which made a refreshing change. The clientele were a mixture of locals, American, German and English guests. The food was just wonderful and fresh (the best I had during my stay in Paris) I wish I had eaten there more than just once.
The breakfast was served in the restaurant as well and was lovely, plenty of choice.
Thanks again to the staff and everybody at the hotel and restaurant. I work in the travel industry and have seen many hotels during my 10 years’ experience but I felt extremely comfortable in the Lumen without speaking a word French, still finding my way around easily.
I will hopefully return to the Lumen when I visit Paris again soon on leisure and have found my new favourite place to stay. The only reason I’ll look elsewhere is if they’re too busy to take me which will hopefully never happen. Top marks for The Lumen

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel just for one night as we were transiting through Paris. We had booked it after having read about it in a book called "Cool Hotels of Europe".

We stayed in the Zen suite which is located at the very top of the building and is the room featured in the opening page of this site. It has a very large spa which dominates the room (God only knows how they got it in there). They make very ingeneous use of the reamining space with a downstairs shower, just inside the entry.

The room was comfortable and light but had obviously seen some very good nights previously with some significant signs of wear and tear, however it appears that all of the rooms are undergoing a complete revamp.

I note that some of the other reviews have commented on the miniscule nature of the rooms. Unfortuantely that is pretty much par for the course in Paris. This suite is certainly larger and comfortable.

The service, it has to be said was outstanding. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble.

The breakfast was adequate but not as good as some others we've had in Paris. It is served in the room adjacent to the hotel which serves as a resturant /cafe during the day and night.

The location is sensational, with very convienent access to just about everything you need to see in Paris. As a boutique hotel it suffers from a lack of a car/taxi reception bay (we had to be dropped off across the road by the taxi), but it really was only a minor inconvienence.

Mainly because of the very welcoming reception and attitude of the staff we will almost certainly stay there in the future and will look forward to the rennovations.

Room Tip: Would suggest enquiring about suites rather than standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Addeline Surault
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Hotel Lumen is a small boutique hotel in a fabulous location, just minutes away from the Louvre! If your on a budget this place is great. It's small and has a funky ambiance. Our room was small and I believe some renovations were going down while we were there. Our head board was removed from the room. Bathroom is tiny but great shower and Hermes soap, shampoo was a plus. The concierge was super friendly and accomodating. They recommended restaurants and gave us directions, very helpful. I had some stomach issues and they arranged for a doctor to see me in our room in the middle of the night which was really great. Overall, we had a great stay and the service was good. Next time in Paris, we will probably go with a hotel that offers ammenities and is nicer but really no big complaints the hotel was just ok.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lumen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lumen

Address: 15 Rue des Pyramides | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#254 Family Hotel in Paris
#313 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lumen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant designer boutique hotel situated in the most sought-after area of Paris, the Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre is just a stone’s throw away from the Louvre, the Place Vendôme and the Opera House. Located on the corner of Rue Saint Honoré, a fashionable Paris shopping boulevard, the hotel is “the place to be,” either for a business trip, a romantic getaway, a shopping excursion or an entertaining evening in the City of Lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lumen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumen Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lumen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.