We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photos & Description nothing like reality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris Terminus Nord

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Paris Terminus Nord to your Saves list
Mercure Paris Terminus Nord
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12, Boulevard de Denain, 75010 Paris, France (Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1,072 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Photos & Description nothing like reality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My partner arrived here the day before I did and paid an extra €30 to upgrade the room, when i got there the next day our room smelt of vinegar, the air conditioning was leaking, the paint was peeling from the bathroom door, the hair drying fell apart every time you touched it, there were stains all over the carpet, tiles in the bathroom were cracked and the wifi wouldnt stay connected (last one not a biggy i know). Also they maid hadnt cleaned our coffee cups from that morning.

I went to see the manager who apologised profusely and said that the money we paid for an upgrade was only for a larger room, which this one didnt actually seem any larger and he said to go out for the day and by the time we got back, our luggage would be moved to their prestige room at no charge and he gave us 2 free drink vouchers for the bar. It seemed very generous until we got home and the hotel had charged us for the drinks in the bar despite not even mentioning those charges on check out at all.

All in all this is a shoddy run hotel, with bad maid service and the rooms are in desperate need of an upgrade!!

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent stay at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

I was very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I do extend it with all sincerity. I certainly empathise regarding the points you mention in your review, especially the fact that your room was not fiting your expectations. This level of service is certainly not acceptable and will be addressed with the concerned party.

We remain at your entire disposal to organize your future stay among us. Therefore feel free to contact me at jean-louis.descoins@book-inn-france.com.

We will be in contact to discuss further with you . Again, please accept my apology, and I hope that this hasn’t put you off a return stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    612
    464
    187
    98
See reviews for
193
475
254
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised when I got an excellent price for 4 nights in this hotel through web booking. Also it included Breakfast.
When i actually landed in Paris, i had just cross the lane in front of Gare du Nord and there i found mercure.
The room was very clean, reasonable size, friendlt English speaking front office staff, spacious lifts, 2counters for checkin and a huge buffet breakfast room.
All this in the heart of Paris.
God, i was cheated by other hotels in the same area with narrow rooms, poor ergonomics and always paying for Breakfast.
Go for Mercury and be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Hotel Mercure Paris Terminus Nord and for taking the time to share your comments with others here on TripAdvisor.

The fact that you mention that you recommend to anyone our hotel and that you were pleasantly surprised by your stay means a lot to us!

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and our helpful staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon with us.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Situated directly opposite the main entrance to the Gare Du Nord railway station the Mercure Paris Terminus Nord hotel is ideally positioned for first time visitors to Paris who have travelled using Eurostar. It eliminates the need for taxis or the metro both which can be daunting prospects for anyone unfamiliar with the Paris transport system.
The hotel offers various room types but there are limited numbers available above the basic entry standard double or twin. Our room was a standard double.
One major bonus is the fact that the hop on hop off tour bus has a stop 20 yards to the left of the hotel entrance.

STANDARD DOUBLE
We were on the top floor (6th) with an outside aspect and veranda.
The room was on the small size with little room either side of the standard double bed but not a problem. There was only sufficient space for one armchair and a small table, a 20 inch flat screen TV and kettle with tea and coffee supplies were in situ. A decent size bathroom with shower above bath and hair dryer were to a reasonable standard. There is a safe in the wardrobe but unfortunately ours did not work and we had to use a safe in the reception area which was very inconvenient and our electronic room key failed everyday which was extremely frustrating.

RECEPTION
All reception staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful, courteous at all times and more than willing to converse in English.

BREAKFAST
We opted to pre purchase what the hotel refer to as a continental breakfast and to our very pleasant surprise we discovered that it was far more than that. A good variety of the usual meats, cheeses, breads, fruits and preserves were supported by a cooked option of eggs (various) bacon and sausage each day all nicely presented and pleasant to eat.

CONCLUSION
A good mid range hotel but not quite 4 star at the standard level.

Room Tip: Busy traffic at front of hotel, double glazed doors and windows eliminate most street noise but for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Ian,

Thank you very much for sharing your hotel experience you had with Mercure Paris Terminus Nord with others here on TripAdvisor.

We love to read that you enjoyed our convenient location, our helpful staff and our buffet breakfast that offer a various selection of fresh products !

We thank you for your compliments that have been shared with the entire team.

We hope to have you back soon with us.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
184 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location of this hotel is fantastic if you are arriving or departing on the train/TGV/RER. It also has a Metro station about five steps away from the front door.
We had a room on the 5th floor which was comfortable and as expected for Paris - reasonably compact. The bed was good and had nice sheets. You could open the large doors/ windows and let in cool air. There was a kettle and tea/ coffee available. The bathroom was large and had a bath. The tiles on the bathroom and toilet floors were cracked but were ok.
This is a really busy hotel so dont expect personal chatty service, but everything we asked about was answered helpfully. The breakfasts were good - lots of variety and good quality. We got an online B and B deal so the stay worked out to be excellent value

Room Tip: The 5th floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Hotel Mercure Paris Terminus Nord and for taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.
The fact that you mention that our hotel is an excellent value means a lot to us!
We love to read that you enjoyed enjoyed the 5th floor and I guess the superb view on the Sacré Coeur and the Gare du Nord historic building !

We hope to welcome you back soon with us.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

chose to stay here because of its rave reviews but it was a disappointment for us, paid 189 euros for a night. Gave it a three star because of the service provided by the concierge and reception on our arrival 28th june , got an early check in and were friendly and when we check out and left our luggage at the concierge (29th june) and its location but was not impressed by few things:

1. the reception service at our first night there 28th june evening, while I was waiting for my boyfriend to come back from the shops he actually asked me "Do you have a room here?" with a condescending look while I was sitting at the sofa with shopping bags. would not even get that kind of treatment in a three star hotel. It was my first time ever to be asked that kind of question.

2. the room - safety deposit box was not working, curtain could not be drawn across, cracked hair dryer on its side, made it impossible to hold on to it for more than 2 mins. we have to get our own dental kit from the reception itself. i know this is not a 5 star but still it's a 4 star and it's a mercure which supposed to be good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Emma,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Hotel Mercure Paris Terminus Nord and for taking the time to share your comments.

Allow me to tell you how truly we regret your disappointment regarding your stay with us. I certainly empathise regarding the points you mention in your review, especially with your feeling following the way our reception staff asked you the question and with your disappointment regarding the condition of your room. This level of service is certainly not acceptable and will be addressed with the concerned party.
Furthermore if you need any more assistance for your future reservation, feel free to contact me at jean-louis.descoins@book-inn-france.com.

By hoping that we will find back your trust and will have the chance to welcome you another time.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

THe hotel it is very good. We needed to do a early check in, so we sent an email to the hotel who answered our request politely and without charge nothing more for it. The room is not very big, but it is comfortable and has everything that you could need. The bathroom is big, old and very clean. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The bed is comfortable. The hotel is located directly across the Terminus Nord, so it is not the best location for tourists, but you can take subways to anywhere in Paris at the station which is next to the hotel. I would stay again at this hotel and I would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your hotel experience you had with Mercure Paris Terminus Nord with others here on TripAdvisor.

The fact that you mention that you would stay again and recommend our hotel to your friends means a lot to us!

We love to read that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the friendly service of our staff which we shared with the entire team!

We hope to welcome you back soon with us.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Hor
#191 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Styles Hotel Paris Gare du Nord TGV
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
#988 of 1,791 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Entrepôt
Mercure Paris Gare Du Nord La Fayette
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Kyriad Paris 10 - Gare Du Nord
Kyriad Paris 10 - Gare Du Nord
#1,294 of 1,791 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
#1,235 of 1,791 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Terminus Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Terminus Nord

Address: 12, Boulevard de Denain, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#371 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Terminus Nord 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with 236 airconditioned rooms, located near the Gare du Nord (Eurostar & Thalys), Stade de France (5min), Paris Nord Exhibition Centre (15 min), Roissy & Le Bourget airports (20 min). Dedicated to business & leisure, this hotel will seduce you withits high level of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Paris Terminus Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Terminus Nord Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.