We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical small Paris hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Venise Hotel

Save Saved
You added Venise Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Venise Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, rue de Chaligny, 75012 Paris, France (Reuilly)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #806 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Typical small Paris hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Once again I find myself wishing that TA had a rating between average and very good. This is very much the sort of perfectly adequate small hotel that you can find all over Paris - offering a reasonably clean and comfortable small room in which to put your head down, a TV for those who want it and not much else. and like most such hotels it seems a bit pricey for what you get. It is well-located for the Gare de Lyon (less than 10 minutes walk to a side entrance to the station); near some good little restaurants; and has front desk staff who were pleasant and helpful. It is a little better than average, but does that make it very good? I cannot say that it does.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
5
43
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had to be in this neighborhood... nothing special there, but nice restaurants.
This is a petit hotel, English speaking reception, helpful. Compared to other options, good value for its price. Small rooms, but quiet and clean. Big flat TV, no payTV services (I do not care, others might).
Breakfast is extra, at 8.5 euros, not so rich in choices, but you can start your day, eating "at home".

Room Tip: The higher, the quietier! There are also rooms "hidden" after the escape stairs, which ben...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel was easy to find and a short walk from Gare de Bercy / Gare de Lyon Train station. It is in a good and safe neighbourhood within walking distance of restaurants, groceries, local sights and the Metro. The hotel has an elevator that fits 2 with luggage. It is convenient because the elevator also goes to the basement right into the breakfast room. Breakfast was 8 Euros a morning but they had a breakfast buffet with cook your own soft or hard boiled eggs, various breads and buns, delicious coissants, jams, cereal and milk, cheese, yogurt, coffee and tea. The reception area is a bit cluttered and could use a good cleaning but the hotel room although small, was clean, comfortable and a very good price for Paris. The walls are very thin so people talking in the halls is very clear as well as washroom noises. The staff were helpful and courteous. Don't arrange an Airport shuttle unless you have a large group. We had arranged a 2 person pickup the night before and the shuttle didn't show up. When the guy at the desk called the shuttle they said they had a different date however I was present when all arrangements were confirmed the night before. The guy at the desk said the shuttle companies often bump 2 passenger pick ups for the higher paying larger gropus. We had to scramble for a taxi at the last minute since this hotel is quite far from the airport. If we had more time that morning we could have figured out the Metro train to the Airport or travelled part way by Metro before hailing a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

On a budget in Paris, decided on a cheap stay and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Did everything It needed for a few nights stay in Paris. The area is nice enough with one of the main stations nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 10.00am. No problem room was ready. I asked for a double room with street views, which is exactly what I got. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Initially i was a little apprehensive about staying here from reading some of the previous reviews. As with a lot places in France, if you can speak just a little French, even just pleasent phrases and nice manners, it goes a long long way as to how you will be treated.
Lots of nice restaurants and bars etc in the immediate area, and just a 4 min walk to the metro station. So a great location overall.
Stayed there for 3 nights, enough for most cities I think!


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concepcion, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel may be cheap, in a good place close to the Lyon Station, but at the end it became the worst choice I did because I was stolen in the security box. In addition the hotel staff was completely unhelpful. I do NOT recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was a huge mistake that we booked Hôtel De Venise for 3 nights. The person at reception was incredibly rude, unfriendly and unprofessional. On Booking.com it says that Check in is from 10:00am, so we said that we will arrive at 10 in the morning, but the room obviously wasn’t ready, because the check-out time is at 12:00.
The man at reception with Lebanese appearance yelled at us all the time. First he yells at us because we must leave the room key at reception all the time, but no one told us this information when we checked in.
The worst behaviour ever was from the same person last day, when he started phoning us in the morning and complaining that other people need our room. So we asked why they put illogical information on Booking.com and how is it possible to Check in at 10:00am and check-out at 12:00? He started blaming Booking.com that it is their mistake and that he doesn’t care about Booking.com. It makes you wonder why they bother to be listed on Booking.com.
We tried breakfast one morning, it was also a big mistake, the selection was poor and the quality horrible, we felt really bad after eating the breakfast.
The room was very small and there was no space for two suitcases. The wooden chair in room 19 is extremely uncomfortable and it is not possible to sit by the desk because the desk has some decoration below and you can’t put your legs there.
The Reuilly Diderot Metro Station is approx. 500m far from the hotel and has no lift or escalator so we had to carry our luggage on the stairs.
On our departure we said bye but this guy didn’t even bother to respond. These amateurs need to learn good manners in hospitality and we recommend that people should avoid this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venise Hotel

Address: 4, rue de Chaligny, 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #806 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Venise Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Venise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.