We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with good location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Denfert Montparnasse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Denfert Montparnasse to your Saves list
Hotel Denfert Montparnasse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Rue Daguerre, 75014 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Saphir) (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,314 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Basic hotel with good location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel is very close to Montparnasse station so it's very convenient if you need to take a TGV or go to Orly.
The rooms are basic but with everything you need for a short stay. There should be free wifi but I didn't had time to check.
Stayed on the last floor and the bathroom was quite small...
The people in the reception were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
8
26
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Location is quite good, with a large number of restaurants in the vicinity. Rooms are simply furnished and I missed having a proper chair to sit on: there is only a stool. WiFi is free and worked well, even though I was on the top floor. Selection of channels on the TV is indeed mainly French, but contrary to some previous comments there are one or two English channels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff were very nice at the desk and helpful. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable enough and the in-suite washroom was cozy but functional and convenient. The hotel website claims to have sound proofed rooms but I seriously doubt that - we could hear just about everything inside the hotel and out. The location was convenient enough for us to have easy and close access to the metro and RER (the station is denfert-rochereau), and rue daguerre is cute with its patisseries and various little eateries and vendors. For ?95/night, a double bed, shower, toilet, and free wifi, you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The location and price are good, but the hotel leaves something to be desired. The rooms are reasonably clean and comfortable - of the basic standard you expect at 2 stars. But there was a broken knob in the bathroom, which was generally in need of updating, and the wifi worked only in the lobby, which is extremely annoying

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is in a great location next to the Daguerre Village. Staff were friendly but, unlike the day staff, the evening staff could not speak any English. He was very sweet and tried to be helpful but just couldn't understand what we were trying to ask. The room was typical for Paris--small. The room had a decent sized bathroom for Paris. Unfortunately, the bathroom smelled overwhelmingly like mold. The curtains had a large area of food (i hope) crusted to them. Also, the bed linens and towels were full of holes. Also, a couple of the light bulbs in the stairwell were burned out. This place has potential to be nice if the owners would spend a little effort and fix things like new towels and light bulbs. Also, they say they provide satellite TV but the only TV is a 13" CRT from the early 90's and they have very few channels and all were in French.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I am never a review writer but I figuredbecause I used this website to help me choose a hotel the least I can do is help someone else. I would rate this hotel with a 8 out of 10, and the only reason why it looses 2 points is because they didnt have any English stations on TV. But thank God for my Laptop and since they have free wifi I was able to play games, watch movis and stay on facebook whenever I got to the room and couldnt fall right asleep. The hotel is directly across the street from H&M, the Gap and Zara. While its also 6 stores away from Mcdonolds. I also found a subway and pizza hut around the corner. The location was GREAT!! A half of block from the Metro (subway) La Motte Picquet Grenelle stop. We walked to the Eiffel Tower and when it got cold we took the subway the 2stops back. he Hotel was VERY clean and quiet. the lady at the desk in the day was absolutly great and the man in the evening wasnt as good as she was but hey. The outlits are not for American plugs there so you have to ask the front desk for an adapter. The rooms are just that a room lol the bed, a small bathroom and a desk. Its not for a large family just 2ppl. But my child and I were comfortable. The stairs to go up are narrow and spiral so becareful if you have large luggage you should ask for a room in the front. Also its connected to a bakery. Overall I enjoyed my stay here and since Paris is soooooooooooooo expensive already I wouldnt spend alot of money 2 go to a big hotel this place is fine enough for me.

Room Tip: Bring a dvd player with you if you dont speak french there isnt any English tv stations
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is a fairly cheap hotel close the Denfert Rochereau area of Paris. Don't expect any luxuries - it is very basic, but reasonably clean, and includes wireless internet in the room. Main tip - don't take the 7 euro breakfast. You can get the same croissant+coffee for 2 euro at any boulangerie on Rue Daguerre, or go up to the cafes at Denfert Rochereau, and people watch for the same price.

Room Tip: I don't think they have 'good' rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Denfert Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denfert Montparnasse

Address: 70 Rue Daguerre, 75014 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Saphir)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,314 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denfert Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Denfert Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Denfert Montparnasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.