We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Glasgow Monceau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Glasgow Monceau to your Saves list
Hotel Glasgow Monceau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 rue de la Felicite | 17 Arr., 75017 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #500 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Booked this hotel because the travel agent recommended it - booked on Hotel Glasgow's own website as it was cheaper. Paid £280 (appox) for 4 nights for 2 people, We didn't book transfers but managed to get a bus from the airport easy enough, it dropped us off at the Arc De Triomph & we jamp in a taxi to the hotel which cost us about 8 Euros. Reception were all lovely and helpful. Gave us a map and marked on it where everything was and what busses and metro's go where. We just stuck with the bus which was cheap and stopped a minutes walk away from the hotel, its also not that far to walk to the centre if you enjoy walking, We even walked to the eiffel tower in about 1 hour! The only time we used the metro was to go to disneyland which was only about 1 hour away and definitely worth booking an extra day to make time to go there!
The room was nice - we had requested a bigger room via Facebook after booking which we were upgraded to for free! only bad comment would be that the bathrooms could be upgraded a bit - but was still nice and clean and shower was hot. The hotel lobby was beautiful and relaxing. The hotel lift was tiny tiny but never had any problems with it, theres also stairs if you don't like lifts. Breakfast was so yummy! croissants, toast, cereal, fresh bread, orange juice etc ect. Also during the day they had free tea, coffee and hot chocolates on offer along with a basket of pastries! The indian across the road is fine but not amazing, all the resturants in paris are quite expensive - however found a chinese near the hotel which was amazing and really really cheap. If I was visiting Paris again I'd definitely be staying here. The bad reviews on this hotel make no sense to me.

Room Tip: request a bigger room on Facebook or by e-mail!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickHayatHotels, Directeur général at Hotel Glasgow Monceau, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Lisa,
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and share our love for Paris.
I am glad that you booked directly with us and reached out on facebook as we could make sure to offer you the best deal and meet all your expectations.
You sure did a lot of things during your stay and really dwelled in a true Parisian experience, way to go!
Feel free to ask us for new recommendations for things to visit and new restaurants to try out on your next stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Sincerely

Carima Boggio
Director of the Hotel Glasgow Monceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    104
    45
    11
    13
See reviews for
40
123
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laxton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We now used this hotel on many occasions when we visit Paris. We are always happy to come back. The hotel is great and very typical of Paris (style and location) with a great staff that are so helpful and really take the extra mile to help you whatever the request is. Rooms are very good and very clean and you'll find the overall stay is great great great value for money. The location is also really good to visit paris since it is calm, quiet but vey close to everything... I mean a walk of 20 max brings you under the "Arc de Triomphe" walking through the "Parc Monceau"... I find this really cool. You'll find many REAL cafe, REAL bakery and REAL restaurant around, you can't go wrong to get a taste of Paris with the locals. Last stay I organised many family members to come around (Six nation rugby) we had 4 rooms booked and all went perfect from booking to checkout, can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickHayatHotels, Directeur général at Hotel Glasgow Monceau, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Mikael,

It is always our great pleasure to welcome rugby fans at the Glasgow hotel and it is a delight to welcome you each time.

We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your Parisian getaway, the hotel rooms and staff.
I totally agree with you about the bakeries and restaurants around the hotel, they are amazing…we are blessed to be in an authentic Parisian neighbourhood with lots of great shops and venues.

We are looking forward to seeing again you soon. Good luck for your rugby team even if we are slightly partial to the "Blue Frenchies"

Sincerely
Carima Boggio
Director of the Glasgow Monceau Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Really good value for money. You feel welcome here! Located pretty close to Place de l'Etoile, this hotel gives really good value for money. You feel welcome here! Check in is fast, rooms pretty large with a nice bathroom. All is clean and has been refurbished tastily a year or so ago. I definitely like it for business and for leisure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickHayatHotels, Directeur général at Hotel Glasgow Monceau, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you dear Fabrice for your very nice feedback about your stay with us.
We really try to make you "feel welcome" as you said and feel "at home". It is the privilege of small and quaint hotels :) Thank you for noticing the fast checkout, as it has been one of our big efforts recently, to make is smooth and fast for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next Parisian getaway! Feel free to contact us directly, it will be our pleasure to give you the best price available as always.
Have a wonderful new year in Rome.

Sincerely,
Carima Boggio
Director of the Glasgow Monceau Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We came to Paris for Christmas with my wife. We loved this cute boutique hotel decorated with good taste. The hotel is situated on a cute quiet street in the center of Paris near many restaurants and markets close by. Just a short walk from several different metro stations.. Free wifi, great breakfast, and very friendly staff. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we loved the breakfast room in the cellar and the breakfast itself! A lovely christmas holiday in Paris!

We would absolutely recommend this hotel to friends and family and return to next time in Paris!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickHayatHotels, Directeur général at Hotel Glasgow Monceau, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you Chris for your lovely feedback about your stay with us at the Glasgow Hotel. It was a delight to have you and we are glad to see that you had a wonderful Xmas in Paris.
The street is indeed very quiet. So nice to see that you enjoyed the famous rue Levis farmer's market, it is a must in the area.

I hope that you made it safely back to Australia and we wish you a lovely summer over there. Happy New year!

Sincerely,
Carima Boggio
Director of the Glasgow Monceau Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We just returned from a 6 night stay at the Hotel Glasgow in Paris in the 17th district. I will start with the positive.

Pros -
The staff was friendly and spoke english, no one was rude to us during our stay. The rooms were super small (we expected this, so it's not a bad thing) and clean. We had maid service everyday. The rooms are only 135 sq ft. It is a little tricky for two people to move about, but it's dobable. Especially since you don't spend a lot of time there. The bathrooms were good sized with good water pressure and also plently of hot water. The toliet flushed well too! There was a good Indian Resturant across the street. I would recommend that if you want a meal close to your hotel - it's about 5 steps out the door! There is a metro stop (Villiers) that is about a 7 min walk - it's not the closest one, but it seemed to be the best one for us. Takes you right to the Champs Elysees and links up with other lines easily. There is also a market near by, Levis Market on Rue de Levi, that I would recommend. It has lots of fresh good and bakeries. We stopped there every morning for breakfast versus eating at the hotel.

Cons-
This hotel is an older hotel and everything is very loud. Noise carries and I had a lot of sleepless nights. You can hear the street traffic, people walking and talking (I even heard someone kick a soda can down the sidewalk). The noise within the hotel is loud too - people talking, walking, running water, showers, we could hear the person use the bathroom above us, the lift, opening and closing doors. Walls are thin, so either bring ear plugs or be prepared to be awake or woken up a lot. The hotel is also about a 25 min walk to the Arc, so it's not really in a good location. You have to walk, take the metro or a cab in order to get to and from - it is an eas walk/metro ride, but if you want to stay out late it's kind of a pain to figure out how to get back.

Overall, I would spend a little more money and stay somewhere closer to City Center and just based on the noise alone I would not stay here again or reccomend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you do stay here ask for a room on a higher floor not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickHayatHotels, Directeur général at Hotel Glasgow Monceau, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guida,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Glasgow hotel.
We appreciate your nice comments about the friendly staff and your room. We are truly sorry about the noise you encountered during your stay. I checked the register and it has been an unfortunate combination of events, as there was some road work in the street at that time and the Holiday season is great but with many families and festive guests who make more noise in the inside as well. We gave you a room on the street because they are very bright and pleasant but I realize now that with the construction work, it may have induced some trouble during the day. The construction is over now.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to have you try another room and get a better experience.
Have a wonderful snowy winter in Illinois, we hope that you are not in the middle of the big storms we hear about .

Sincerely

Carima Boggio
Director of the Glasgow Monceau Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were looking for an unexpensive hotel, which is difficult in Paris, so this is a fine option... Its location is not far from a few subway stations. Staff and breakfast don't impress and rooms are small, but for a short stay it's enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickHayatHotels, Directeur général at Hotel Glasgow Monceau, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you took advantage to the nice hotel location in the 17th area of Paris, close to the subway and touristic attractions.
The breakfast is a continental breakfast buffet and maybe you were expecting a full breakfast with omelets and more. I have to say that I was a little surprised by your comment about the staff as we really thrive on welcoming our guests and make sure they have a great stay in Paris.
I hope that we will have the pleasure to see you again and give you the best experience ever.

Best wishes for 2014 to you and your family!

Sincerely
Carima Boggio
Director of the Glasgow Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We booked this hotel for price alone.
It was in a good location in that it is 5-10 minutes walk from the nearest Metro.
The exterior and entrance of the hotel are lovely and the reception staff were very helpful and friendly.
The rooms are small but very clean, they were cleaned, tidied and stocked every day. We had a number of rooms for our party and the difference in bathroom size was vast, I had a shower that could fit two people but one of the other rooms you could barely lift your arm in the shower, which was unfortunate.
The rooms had air con which was good.
My main negative about the room is that it had only one electrical socket, in this day and age this is not acceptable! You also had to take out a lamp to be able to use it!
Breakfast buffet was adequate and staff very attentive.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickHayatHotels, Directeur général at Hotel Glasgow Monceau, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi ,
Thank you for choosing the Glasgow Monceau Hotel for your last Parisian getaway. I am glad to hear that you had a good time in Paris and that you appreciated the staff and room tidiness. It means a lot to us.
About the size of the bathroom, we are nested in an old renovated Haussmann building and we offer rooms in all sizes, shapes and prices. That's part of the hotel charm, different from hotel chains. And it seems that you got a smaller and less expensive one. The difference is not big, especially if you book directly with us, so make sure to ask for a bigger room next time you will bless us with your visit.

Happy Holidays!
Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Carima Boggio
Director of the Glasgow Hotel, Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Glasgow Monceau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glasgow Monceau

Address: 3 rue de la Felicite | 17 Arr., 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#262 Business Hotel in Paris
#570 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Glasgow Monceau 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Glasgow Monceau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Monceau Hotel
Glasgow Monceau Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Glasgow Monceau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.