We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place to stay!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of New Parnasse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added New Parnasse Hotel to your Saves list
New Parnasse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Rue Vandamme, Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,627 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Bettendorf, Iowa, United States
1 review
“Terrible place to stay!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I woudn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy!!! The place is filthy, badly managed, small and cramped, and to top it all the manager is really unpleasant. I had a brief overview of the cleaners going through the rooms and that scared me. They spray the rooms to stop the place from smelling like cigarettes, we had to open the windows during the day to be able to sleep at night! The staircase is so narrow and steep, you could kill yourself if you miss a step. It's basically an old apartment building turned into a hotel with as many rooms as they could put in. Our bathroom was so tiny, all you could do was stand in front of the sink and don't move. On the way to Paris fom Chicago, our flight was delayed and we lost a day travelling. We called the hotel immediately from our cell phone to change the reservation, and they still charged us because apparently any change needs to be made via the net. So much for service and understanding!

Room Tip: Don't go there at all !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    26
    19
    25
    33
See reviews for
14
29
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

I was at first hesitant to stay because of some bad reviews but booked anyway as there were so many extortionately priced hotels around. We were 4 girls wanting somewhere central, clean and safe for a weekend away in Paris. We had 2 rooms on different floors and were a bit concerned about the elevator because of it's narrow size but it was fine. We spent the days out touring and found the location perfect to navigate to and from. The clubs and cafes outside were buzzing at night which gave a nice atmosphere to the place yet not loud enough to keep you awake. The staff were as helpful as they could be and when you're paying less prices you expect less than you actually get with this hotel. The rooms were small but it's always difficult to find big rooms for small prices in Europe.
Overall a very pleasant experience and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Thin walls - could here everything from surrounding rooms and with the lift being an arms reach from most rooms there was continuous slams of the outer lift door. Shower and towel rail broken, rooms basic. Location was good- v close to metro Gaite and a good selection of shops. The hotel definitely wasnt worth €100 a night and if like me, it's a toss up between several other similarly priced/ located hotels, go with another!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Although in Montparnasse it's a little too far for walking to the South Bank. It's not a "stone throw".
But area is improving with new hotels. Good curry house( ha) on corner of Vandamme & excellent cafe, La liberte, for breakfast on the corner of Gaite and Edgar-quinet, close to the Metro.
Luxembourg gardens a must and don't miss Le Dome or La Coupole on Bd de Montparnasse

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

No wifi in the 5st floor, lack of understanding between different people of staff, messy channels TV, bath broken (you only can use the shower but the pipe is broken too), if you're close to the elevator you can hear ALL people using it, room with smelt of cold tabac, horrible even if you're smoker, ...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Parnasse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Parnasse Hotel

Address: 7 Rue Vandamme, Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,627 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Parnasse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New Parnasse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Parnasse hôtel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Parnasse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.