We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contrast of stays -some ok and the last time left my daughter in desperate situation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jean Bart

Hotel Jean Bart
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Jean Bart
Save
You added Hotel Jean Bart to your Saves list
9 rue Jean Bart | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,314 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Contrast of stays -some ok and the last time left my daughter in desperate situation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This past spring I stayed in this hotel ( as recommended by Rick Steves) a total of 3 times .. the first for 2 days (one room), one week later for a total of 6 days (renting 2 rooms for my sister and her family and myself and my daughter) and then 1 month later for one nite (one room) . so I have quite a bit of experience with them. They are a budget hotel that is fine .. I am a very well traveled person (as are my kids!) and am fine with basic. The good - great location, cheap rates and OK breakfast. The not great - be careful as many of their rooms are very dirty, carpet stained, the bedding was very old and stained and the mattress all caved in in the middle but the worse is their customer service. When I booked the place I talked with the Madame but then never saw her again.. the people there are very gruff even when we spoke perfect french to them ( they refused to speak any english to any of us- I am OK with that as in France!). However, the worse was that on my last hotel visit I had booked and then confirmed 2 nites in June for my daughter and her friend on their 2 days of their European month long trip - even received an email confirmation. When my daughter arrived that nite the manager said there was no such reservation. This is 9:30 at nite in Paris in June .. there is no where else to go. He was so rude to them.. even when they showed him the paper copy of the email and the actual online email from their phones. I called him from Canada while they were still there to ask him to at least help them find a place since the Hotel had lost the confirmed reservation. He refused. He basically kicked them out of the lobby .. 2 young girls in Paris at the highest of tourist time. So I know he had no obligation but really they were desperate and it was the hotel's fault .. he could have made some calls or at least told them to call from the lobby area. No kicked them out. and all that after I had stayed rented 2 rooms for a total of 10 days.. terrible from a customer and person point of view!!

So even though it is a great location and I could live with the very run down rooms for the price I will never stay there and recommend you do not either.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
6
10
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The Hotel Jean Bart is hidden away in Rue Jean Bart in the 6th arrondissement - very close to the fabulous Luxembourg Gardens (Jardin de Luxembourg) food places very close including a mini supermarket right near the hotel.
I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past and in more recent times I suggested some friends stay there for lengthy periods on two recent occasions. Since the original owner (Monsieur Jean) passed away several years ago, he made sure the hotel would continue to be held by his close relatives and a gradual transformation seems to be taking place with some romms now having new bathrooms.
My friends have a real liking for wines and were given use of the hotel refrigerator to keep some whites cool.

This really is a family hotel and I have rated it very good simply because with breakfast included, together with good security, a fantastic location, metro & buses close to hotel , mini super market opposite , train to and from Charles de Gaulle Airport stops close by, 5 minute walk to hotel.
It must be said that this is not a hotel for back packers - the hotel doors are locked late at night. I distinctly can remember the previous long term owner - Monsieur Jean telling me many years ago "dans cet hotel nous dormons" - "in this hotel we sleep"
Typically this is a hotel for couples, family , friends who are looking for accommodation to sleep and rest rather than expecting all the comforts of home. like T.V's etc.

Value for money - all things considered this hotel accommodation is great value. Also worth remembering that travellers cheques or cash are the methods of payment.
Obviously room rates differ depending on size and facilities etc.
An elevator exists but it is very small, like many of that era. Wi-Fi also available.
68 Beds - 33 Rooms - Languages spoken French & English

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel was recommended by Rick Steves and described as 'spotlessly clean', which is why we picked it. Although we didn't expect much from a 2-star hotel, it was not very clear at all. The carpet was very very dirty, the bedding was very old and stained and the mattress had caved in in the middle, and the bathroom had dust and grubbiness all over. For example, the inside of the toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years and there were cobwebs on the bidet. The room was a good size and had nice wardrobes to keep your things and the decoration was very cute and the breakfast was included (and free WIFI), which was nice. But if you want somewhere clean, the room we stayed in was not. I don't know how the rest of the hotel is but just a warning- we left after the first 2 nights because I was grossed out.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011 via mobile

We have stayed numerous times at this quaint family run hotel. The rooms are simple and comfortable given the very reasonable price. The location is incomparable and it is easy of access yet off the major streets. The family is sweet and very accomodating, but their English is limited. This is France afterall!

I will return again and often.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We chose the hotel for its location behind the magnificent Jardin du Luxembourg on the Left Bank, within walking distance to Paris' most fascination boulevards, St Michel and St Germain. The hotel itself is modest, with bare rooms but brand new, excellent attached toilets and showers. The breakfast too was minimal. Run by a family, its staff was helpful and courteous, but spoke only French. I speak French, but am not sure if not speaking French would help.

Room Tip: Rooms 17 and 18 look out on the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This budget hotel offers good value for money - clean, comfortable and fairly spacious rooms a nearby walk to Luxembour gardens/St. Michel. Breakfast is basic (croissant, bread, coffee/tea/juice) and is optional. Rooms without showers are definitely budgets and there is only one shower on the bottom floor. But,as mentioned before, the rooms are inexpensive and as long as you're OK with the shower issue, it is overall a good value. Rooms with bathrooms/showers are definitely nicer in layout and convenience. Staff were friendly and i would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra, get a bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

Wonderful little hotel situated in the centre of the Paris Arts district and best food area. Hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. Noise of the lift and room doors were fine!
Great Place, Amazing location and valued price range! Hope you enjoy your stay here as much as we did!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jean Bart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jean Bart

Address: 9 rue Jean Bart | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,314 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Number of rooms: 32

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jean Bart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.