We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My expectations were low to begin with, but even then this hotel couldn't meet them” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Floridor Etoile

Save Saved
You added Hotel Floridor Etoile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Floridor Etoile
35 avenue des Ternes | 17 Arr., 75017 Paris, France (Batignolles-Monceau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,161 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My expectations were low to begin with, but even then this hotel couldn't meet them”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Let me walk you through the first 15 minutes of my experience with this hotel. I got out of my cab, opened the door and was faced with a flight of approximately 15-20 stairs I had to lug all my luggage up. When I got to the top, I was in the reception/ restaurant area, which looked like someone had plopped some tables and chairs into my grandmothers aged basement. Smelt like it too....

I checked in, and the staff was less then friendly. I was actually told to wait 10 minutes as the receptionist made a couple phone calls before she'd give me the key.

When I walked off the elevator I was in an incredibly narrow hallway which was filled with garbage bags. Perhaps the maids were cleaning? But the result was about 5 opened garbage bags abandoned in the hallway which I had to lift my bags over. The hallway was also filthy, with stained rugs and dust bunnies coating all the edges.

I opened the door to my room and the first thing I noticed was the smell. It stunk. So immediately I opened the windows. I also went to turn on the desk fan (as it was a hot day), but stopped when I noticed the blades were black with dust. The bedding was torn, yellowed and stained, and there was dirt (hands and finger marks) all over the walls.
I turned down the bedding and debated if it had been changed. Found several hairs, so each night I was there (2) I laid down towels before I went to sleep.
Surprisingly the cleanest part was probably the bathroom, but this is only because it smelt as if the whole thing was just sprayed with bleach. I still showered wearing flip flops...

The location however was terrific. That was about the only thing I was happy with. That and the free wi-fi.

On my last morning there however, I had to leave during rush hour to catch a plane. At checkout, I asked for help calling a cab and they out right refused. They told me to wait outside and flag one on my own, and despite my trying to reason with them, they wouldn't call one.

So yes the rooms are cheap, but based on my experience, I still think they're over priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
8
16
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We struggled to find a family room in Paris without paying through the nose. This hotel only cost 290 euros for 2 nights which in Paris is a good price.

We wanted a central location next to some of the major tourist attractions and near a metro line as this is the first time we took our children with us (aged 7 and 11). This hotel delivered all of these. We stopped off at Disneyland Paris for 2 nights first and caught the RER line A to central Paris. When we walked out from the station the first things we saw were the Arc De Triomphe and the Eiffel Tower. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Arc De Triomphe down rue Mac Mahon and about a 20 min walk to the Eiffel Tower

Upon arrival there are a steep set of steps to reception. The reception area has some sofas, telly and drinks vending machine. The staff on reception were friendly. There is a lift to each floor. Our room was large, 2 twin beds pushed together and 2 single beds. A t.v, fridge and fans available. The bathroom was small but functional, the downside was the bathroom was a bid smelly and there was no hook to put the shower hose into when trying to shower (no bath) but it was clean.

The bedding was a bit off putting as it looked grubby but again it was clean. Saying that, this hotel is only a 2 star and when considering the price was good value for money.

The best thing about this hotel is its location. The nearest metro station is Turnes which we took to Monmartre. There are also plenty of restaurants, shops etc next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Quadruple room number 502 located at the back and off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I didn't have high expectations given the reviews, but felt stuck at this hotel because of the busy season and the expense of staying in Paris. I'd never stay here again. The location was convenient, but the room was really run down, smelled bad and the bathroom really was as horrible as the reviews said. It was also hot unless the windows were open and the neighborhood was really loud with noise all night long. Next time I'd look for an apartment with a kitchen and save on the food costs instead.

Room Tip: plan ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

I stayed in Hotel Floridor Etoile for two weeks for my honeymoon, it's location is really good, 5 minutes from the metro station and the arc de triumph and Charles de Guel street.

Since it's on a main street, it's really noisy all the time. The hotel is clean and the rooms have free Wi-Fi connection.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Suites, Mid-ran...
Show More
Hotel des Deux Avenues
Hotel des Deux Avenues
#1,273 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Business, Batig...
Show More
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel des Pavillons
Hotel des Pavillons
#887 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Quiet, Independ...
Show More
Hotel Du Midi Paris Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Char...
Show More
Passy
Floride Etoile Hotel
Floride Etoile Hotel
#663 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Room Service, M...
Show More
Batignolles-Monceau
Doisy Etoile Hotel
Doisy Etoile Hotel
#819 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Business, Budge...
Show More
Hotel Elysee Etoile
Hotel Elysee Etoile
#623 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Floridor Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Floridor Etoile

Address: 35 avenue des Ternes | 17 Arr., 75017 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,161 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Floridor Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Floridor Etoile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.