We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a Weekend away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel

Save Saved
You added First Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
First Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 boulevard Garibaldi | 15th Arr., 75015 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #572 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Weekend away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is ideal for relaxing in Paris, me and my partner enjoy to walk everywhere but you do have the convenience of an underground station across the road if you prefer. The station is well connected to most of the main lines, saves a lot of train hopping. The hotel its self is lovely, staff were great and the rooms where clean, would defiantly stay here again when I return to Paris.
PS, beautiful parisian bakery only 100yards away, first stop every morning for a fresh croissant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    130
    42
    12
    13
See reviews for
31
150
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is part of a row of shops. The room is quite small and facing a metro station. The hotel is overpriced and does not come with breakfast and there is no coffee making facilities in the room. However they gave me a kettle to come down and take hot water anytime. The breakfast area can only accommodate 10 people.The room is equally small.

Eiffel Tower is just 3 stations away. The hotel is just outside the cambronne metro stop. The whole hotel has a black and white color concept which actually makes the rooms and pathway look gloomy.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Loved the look of this hotel online especially the super cute top hat lights and the sleek black colour scheme, it was a nice break from all the 'pretty french' accommodation we had been enjoying but... it has some faults and should be cheaper than it is.
The room although non smoking smelt like cigarettes and cigars and the planter box out the window showed all the evidence
The size of the room was good, the bathroom very nice and a great size to spread out but...
there was no water left the first night of the stay and the next night very little hot water, no one seemed to care, and we were told there were no other rooms available to move to, after a full day of walking around Paris all we wanted was a nice hot shower!!!
Then when you do finally fall into slumber a fire alarm at 1am when you are on the top floor is not ideal, and again no assistance from staff.
We paid extra for an Eiffle tower view which was lovely but you had to really hang out the window a but to appreciate it, plus it was a little further away than we thought it would be
Directly out the front of the hotel is the train metro line and station, great for convenience and I must admit not as loud as you would think, with the window closed we heard nothing.
We found the neighbourhood a little quiet and ethnic, we were glad we had heaps of activities planned (Tennis, Disneyland, Museum tours) and we were only really using the hotel as a base to sleep.
Wouldn't really recommend to people looking for great food or the 'French experience', much prefer arr. 5&6 but... in saying that there is a great bakery out the front and to the left

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

After setting out our ideals with Flight Centre for our anniversary weekend we were very much pressurised by FC to select First Hotel Paris. Quotes used were "only one room left" "very few seats on flight", in hindsight i now recognise as great tactics to get you to commit. When booking I had limited time to research and decided to trust a professional in the market, I had a quick look at reviews and on the face of it the plan seemed ok. In reality ALL WAS NOT OK.
In short all but one staff members were very cold and abrupt. When we sent a request for minor adjustments they were either ignored or lame excuses were used as to why we could not be helped. The rooms are barely big enough to walk around. You literally have enough space to open your wallet on the floor that is it! The rooms are not very well insulated. We had a night of disrupted sleep due to this. We called reception to see if they could ask the room above to limit the jumping around in the early hours, after 30 mins or so we had a call from reception with an update saying " the man in the room is a big black man, I cannot tell him what to do" what!? Needless to say we tried leaving after the first night and were told by Flight Centre the only option we have is to pay for business class flights (£800) and try to claim back on our return. However this was not guaranteed and so we thought this was reckless and endured another terrible night.
Since returning I have given both companies the opportunity to rectify the situation but neither have any interest in valuing their customers satisfaction.
With this in mind we WILL NEVER use Flight Centre for any travel arrangements and most definitely WILL NOT be returning to First Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bénédicte C, Responsable réception at First Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear John W.,

First of all, thank you for taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor about our First Hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, we would to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

But as we explained by e-mail, we could not refund your all stay because you never told us that you wanted to leave, and during your check out you never mentioned a problem.
We already made apologize about the noise made by other customers, but we cannot control every customer.

Every day, we try to improve our service and make all the best for our customer. I am very sorry that you did enjoy your stay at the First Hotel.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so we have the chance to provide you an unforgettable experience !

Kind regards
Bénédicte Cahuzac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fork, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I really rely on tips and reviews on Tripadvisor when choosing a hotel. I really loved this hotel. The location is perfect. If you want something in a cute little neighborhood with yummy bakeries, little cafes and right next to the metro this is your hotel. It literally is right off the metro Cambronne stop. We took RER B directly from Charles De Gaulle Airport, you change lines at Denfert-Rochereau (direction Etoile) directly to Cambronne, just a few stops after Denfert-Rochereau. Then from Cambronne you can go anywhere the location is central and a perfect starting off point. We arrived earlier than check in time, there were 4 of us in two rooms. Our room was ready which was just fine we put all our stuff in it and took off. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. We stayed in room 101, it faced the Metro but I never heard it. One of our favorite parts was the heated towel bar in the bathroom, so nice to have warm towels after a shower. The bakery next to the hotel (exit and head left 2 doors down) was amazing! The croissants were the best I've ever had. Some staff at the hotel was nicer than other, The only negative thing I would say is when we left on the last day the guy at desk (Indian I think) was all put out we wanted to pay our room taxes on two cards. Two separate rooms, two cards right? It's not like each room is traveling with another room in the hotel, finally I just put both rooms on my charge card. This was also the guy who was not nice to my Mom (which I will explain)
That being said I liked our stay and would stay here again.

But if my Mom was to write a review it would go something like this:
We got to hotel early and our room was not ready, no big deal my daughter's was ready and we put our stuff in her room. We were fine with this, we were the ones there early. When we returned at 6pm and went to our room the girl who we just saw go in the elevator just before us was cleaning our room. Like she JUST started cleaning it when we got back to hotel. It was 6 pm and check in time is 3pm. The worst part is it was NOT ready until 7:30 pm. Then when finally done our key would not work and we had to go back down to have it re-keyed. Finally we get in our room. On our 3rd day I realized I forgot some important travel documents that needed printed, they front desk man (Indian guy) said email then to him. He made us sit for an hour waiting for them, while we kept asking if he got them, he would not even respond. Emails are sent immediately. He was just being mean for some reason. I mean he would not even respond to us. We just sat in the lobby for an hour. On our final day then same man would not let us pay our tax for our own room on our own card. He put up a big stink about it. Finally we put in on one card. So absurd, each and every single room staying there had to pay the tax and use their own card right? He again was just being mean to us for some reason.

We loved the location and for the most part the staff. But they need to keep in mind that even small things make a difference to their paying customers who have a big big pot to choose from in hotel choices.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hotel was an absolute brilliant find! Situated literally 28 steps from the metro it made our trip to Paris amazing! Right from the moment we walked in the staff could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The newly refurbished hotel was absolutely spotless, the room was divine, maids came in daily, towels could be changed every two days. There was a fridge and safe in the room that you could use free of charge, no deposit needed. There was a hair dryer and toiletries in the room. We stayed in 201 and overlooked the metro however the room was very quiet, with blackout curtains.
The bedding was crisp and fresh and very very clean. The rooms had a tv, desk and ample space for clothes. They look exactly like they do on the internet.

Another review mentions no lift working and poor stairs.... That was not the case, very fast lift and stairs were fine as it is only a 3/4 story building.

The staff were incredibly helpful, they provided daily help with the different tourist attractions, trains, platforms and provided maps. They walked you to the door wishing you a good day. The hotel was in a prime and safe location, 3 stops on the metro to the Eiffel Tower. There was breakfast at the hotel, however we did not try it as we were up and out visiting the sites!

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel, it was an absolute treasure and was very cheap hotel compared to others we looked at!

Would definitely recommend this to everyone!

Room Tip: For reasonable and cheap food that doesn't skimp on quality, eat at the Latin Quarter near Notre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I don't normally do reviews but am pretty obsessed with reading them before booking anywhere (especially now I have the app on my phone) so thought I should start to help others.

My fiancé and I stayed here in June so apologies for this review being so late. The staff were helpful, providing information on the train across the street and warning us of train delays when we had to leave for the airport (we ended up having to get a taxi and made our plane by half an hour, stressed is not a strong enough word). When we arrived the man behind the desk was friendly, spoke good English (our French was diabolical) and set everything up quickly. The room was small but I expected nothing less and it didn't take anything away from the trip. It was clean and smart and the bathroom in black tile looked really nice, I don't see why you'd need anything more when you're hopefully out of the room most of the time. This hotel is great for a couple wanting to try and see everything in as few days as possible in a nice looking hotel that doesn't kill the bank. Very easy to get there from the airport, the metro literally across the street was perfect and the café just round the corner had delicious pizza breads for lunch and morning pastries (also friendly staff who spoke English).

I would definitely go back again...especially considering the boyfriend pulled off proposing at the top of the Eiffel tower!

hope this helps someone in their decision!

Room Tip: We chose a view of the Eiffel tower and it definitely added to the trip - the window opened fully an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel

Address: 2 boulevard Garibaldi | 15th Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#251 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#352 Business Hotel in Paris
#504 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ideally located in the middle of the business and the pleasure districts close to eiffel-tower many rooms with exceptionnal view, invalides, unesco.Hotel completly renovated one years for the renovation openning first september 2010 HIGH STANDING HOTEL UNLIMITED WIFI CONNECTION Near to the porte de versailles exhibition hallAwarm welcomand quality know-how are the trump cards that will help make your stay in the capital a successful one ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your First Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.