We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern, very clean - lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel to your Saves list
First Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 boulevard Garibaldi | 15th Arr., 75015 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #441 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very modern, very clean - lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Amazing long weekend in Paris - our room was comfortable, well-appointed and modern. Look out for the gnome in reception and bowler hat lampshades!
There's a metro on the doorstep (cambronne) but we didn't use it - you can walk everywhere easily as long as you're not in a rush.
The bar next door is easily the best value pint we had during our stay, and the Eiffel Tower was a 10 minute stroll away.
Overall, I can't comment on the price of the hotel as I was whisked away for a romantic weekend, but the hotel was lovely and the staff were helpful; really enjoyed my stay and would happily recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    203
    59
    15
    13
See reviews for
42
220
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had I arrived late at night to Paris and had reserve a studio apartment at another aparthotel in Ave. Kleber and as there was no front disk I had to call ahead. To my absolute shock, my initial reservation had been cancelled because "it was late!", never mind the fact that I had mentioned in my booking that I was expected to arrive at approximately 23:00.
Anyway, luckly I had my beautiful companion who patiently guided my to several hotels in the area which are were all fully booked plus it was midnight in the streets of Paris! After hopping to atleast 7 or 8 hotels we stopped to check First Hotel! I immediately thought "this hotel is too nice, its gotta be fully booked, right?". Wrong, there was one last room in the corner of the last floor!
I was saved, immediately I felt relaxed thanks to the night shift manager. I would've never even suspected the rooms to be so clean and brand new. It's design was kind of art-deco much to my liking!
Next morning, I thought of having breakfast at the hotel but since its a continental breakfast I thought I'd be better off discovering my surrounding first since I was to preoccupied at light to even ask where the hotel was situated. Luckly it was right behind the Eiffel Tower and surrounded by plenty of brasseries to have my morning croissant and coffee in other words a typical parisian breakfast.
The hotel is exactly as pictured above and the room size is the best considering all other hotels in the same price range which aren't even as well kept as the First Hotel.
Althought it my honest opinion about the hotel I felt obliged to write up this review, after all they save my life and changed my thoughts about the french and Paris as a whole.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I booked this hotel 2 months prior to staying, having stayed here twice before. The hotel is directly opposite a Metro station, although not on the most useful line. Very modern decor.

However, this stay was disappointing. I had requested a 6th floor room upon booking but was given a 2nd floor room. My request wasn't even acknowledged. As we were checking in there was a woman complaining about her room.

There are no real drinking glasses in the room. They were cheap plastic.
The complimentary toiletries are very low quality
The mini bar was completely empty, and not cold
There was chewing gum on the carpet by the bed
There were hairs still evident in the shower tray
Windows would not open in the bathroom; in the bedroom much force was necessary to open windows
Bed side lamps were difficult to switch on; switches on the individual lamp and on wall
I requested two additional pillows before going out to dinner. Upon return they had not been delivered to the room.
Only four clothes hangers were supplied in the wardrobe, and they were the type that assume you are going to steal them.
Dust on the central ceiling lamp shade.

In short, when this hotel was refurbished it was riding the crest of a wave. The seas are now calm. This hotel is on its way down. Attention to detail is SO lacking. It wouldn't take very much to make this an outstanding hotel.

Oh so disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for Eiffel Tower view, and on the highest floor possible. Although don't get your hopes up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights this week. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The room I had (304) was comfortable albeit a little compact and looked onto the railway line but was very quiet and you could see the Eiffel Tower when lit up at night (through the tree!!). Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Stephanie. We only had breakfast on the first morning which was ok but expensive at €15. Some nice restaurants nearby too. Annoying thing in room was that the bedside lights didn't work. Overall it was clean comfortable and very friendly and I would recommend staying here when in Paris.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here in April for 4 days. If you are having a city break and want somewhere nice to return to after a day of sightseeing, this is the place to be.
The hotel is very nice, all black and white themed and modern. We loved the look.
Our room was on the small side but the bed was big enough, the shower was great so nothing to complain about really. We had a juliette balcony which faced the effle tower. I loved this. At night the view was out of this world.
I found all the staff we spoke to very nice and the lady on reception was overly helpful.
The hotel is right outside the train stop so it was so easy to get to from the airport.
We went for room only so we did not eat at the hotel at all. We were out early and back late so there was no need.
Paris is expensive so I thought we got our moneys worth here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Nice rooms but really [--] service! We payed for 3 rooms x 4 nights in advance by credit card in advance. before we got to Paris this card expired and we brought with us a new card. This caused massive trouble and really chocking suggestions from the management, as to pay once again for the stay - and keeping us including a lady aged 81 year old to wait for hours before we could get into our rooms!! The easy way would be just to check their account and see that the money actually had been credited. Mangement and some of the staff members don't seem to be in touch with what problemsolving vrs. customer service is about.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nice paris hotel close to it all. Important for the wife was that it was clean, and man was it. The room we had was on the third floor and we had a nice little view of the local square. The Hotel also suggested a personal shuttle to the airport which was awesome as they took care of all the details

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel

Address: 2 boulevard Garibaldi | 15th Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Business Hotel in Paris
#229 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#387 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ideally located in the middle of the business and the pleasure districts close to eiffel-tower many rooms with exceptionnal view, invalides, unesco.Hotel completly renovated one years for the renovation openning first september 2010 HIGH STANDING HOTEL UNLIMITED WIFI CONNECTION Near to the porte de versailles exhibition hallAwarm welcomand quality know-how are the trump cards that will help make your stay in the capital a successful one ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your First Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.