We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Academies et des Arts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Academies et des Arts to your Saves list
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 rue de la Grande Chaumiere, 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
jakarta
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We love the hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this 6th arrondisement hotel on the left bank. The area is great, very alive and feel really normal french day life in Paris. The hotel is small, particularly the room is very small which is probably the usual size of rive gauche boutique hotels. The service is excellent, the staff speak english, very helpful n friendly , also knowledgeble. We will come back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your kind review!
Our hotel is located on a quiet street in a nice and convenient area with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4, 6 and 12).Our guests can easily discover Paris during the day, and come back to a quieter place in the evening to relax. Moreover, there are countless typical restaurants and bistros close to the hotel as well.
At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
Regarding the rooms of our boutique hotel, we paid a lot of attention to each single details in order to use the best way possible the size of each rooms.

The whole team hopes to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    123
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
35
381
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The 6th is a great area of Paris - close to Luxembourg Gardens, Odeon and well serviced by metro. Also lovely shops and cafés and restaurants within walking distance of hotel. Have stayed here 5 or 6 times over several years. Nice rooms and service. Pricing is more than in line with comparable Paris hotels. Highly recommended.

Note to large bodied Americans -- you may find the rooms/bathrooms on the slightly tight side. It's not a North American hotel but, rather, a boutique European hotel. So, if you're 50lbs overweight and travel with a suitcase the size of a small fridge - it might not be for you.

Room Tip: Rooms 51 and 54 are favourites. Quiet and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted that you came back to our Hotel already for several times upon your different stays in Paris!
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4,6 and 12). Moreover, there are countless restaurants and bistros in the neighborhood
Our hotel is a boutique hotel, i.e. a small hotel with exceptional service. We would therefore like to thank you for noticing it.
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests. Our staff is always delighted to recommend restaurants or places to visit in Paris.
We truly hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I, and our 10-month old son stayed at Hotel des Academies et des Arts for a weekend in October to celebrate my husband's birthday. Upon entering the hotel reception I first noticed the minimalist but stylish decor. The service was extremely welcoming and accommodating. Our room was elegantly designed and the space was used efficiently. The shower and bathroom amenities kit were luxurious .The location is fantastic - we walked through St Germain, to the Mairie and back and could have walked anywhere we desired from the hotel location.Overall a great experience, fair value for money with caring, hospitable staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear guests,

Many thanks for your kind review!
Our guests can therefore easily discover Paris during the day, and come back to a quieter place in the evening to relax. Indeed our hotel is located on a quiet street in a nice and convenient area with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4, 6 and 12). Moreover, there are countless typical restaurants and bistros close to the hotel as well.
Regarding the rooms, we paid a lot of attention to each single details in order to use the best way possible the size of each rooms.
At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.

The whole team hopes to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is an overdue review - we stayed in June/July 2013.

The hotel was ok, but not great - especially for the prices they are charging.

Positives - The hotel is very nicely decorated, and our room was clean. The staff were helpful upon check in, but as there is only one person at reception we had a bit of wait while they were checking others in - not too much of a problem though. We loved the location, especially if you enjoy exploring Paris by foot (the best way to do it in my view), but if not the Metro is just metres away. There are still some tourists around but it is still a reprieve from the more touristy areas. We received a good recommendation from the staff for a nearby restaurant, Let Parc Aux Cerfs, where we had a very reasonably priced and delicious meal served by very helpful staff ( it was a million times more pleasant than many of the well known restaurants around the hotel).

Negatives - the room was beyond small, hardly room for our suitcases! We didn't even have the smallest room but I couldn't imagine that they could actually get smaller than what we had! I know people say that this is typical of Paris, but be prepared because if you have 2 suitcases you will have to climb over the bed to get from one side of the room to the other.

All in all, it was okay but definitely not amazing. We wouldn't be tempted to return next time we are in Paris as there are so many options.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend choosing the biggest room they have available, as even the club rooms are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guests,

We thank you for having stayed in our hotel and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
What you have liked about our hotel is exactly what we try to offer to our guests and the reasons why they decide to stay with us (“nice decoration, cleanliness of the rooms, helpful staff with good restaurants’ recommendations, location”).
As described on our website, our 3 categories of rooms (Classical 14 square meters, Club 16 sm and Superiors 18 sm) are typical and actually a little larger than what is proposed in a 4 star boutique hotel on the left bank of Paris.
We understand, however, that this is not the main reason why guests should decide to select our hotel.

Hoping to welcome you back among us,

Best Regards,

Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great location and cozy. This small boutique hotel is most artfully done, we appreciate the amount of details putting a small space room very cozy and comfortable.
Total of 20 rooms, each room is adorned with a different signature figure painting by the artist; we stayed in room 54, queen size bed in a small room, but oh my! the bed is the most comfortable that I have ever slept in most hotels.
This room has plenty of windows and in the toilet, window opens to a walls painted a giant signature figure by the artist and it is lit by a spot light at night.
Room is small but they really try hard putting all necessities in and is very comfortable.
The different concierge are all very helpful, a night shift gentleman who even went of his way to print out directions and train stop and time allows for travel for my husband's next day business meeting.
there are several Metro station in the area, great restaurants, walking distance to Le Gardin du Luxemburg.
One down side: one of the cleaning lady was extremely impatient with us, waited huffily outside of our room, her attitude could kill, yikes!
Apart from the small room we got and the cleaner tried to make her point with loud noise and attitude, this is a great boutique hotel, I would recommend anyone to try it.

Room Tip: Do specify your need and they will do their best to accommodate. Definitely request rooms on higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Owner at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for having stayed in our hotel and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Charlotte created a really nice and unique atmosphere in our hotel, where arts are omnipresent from the lobby to the rooms, as well as in the staircase. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and more particularly the bedding.

We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests. Our staff is always delighted to recommend restaurants or places to visit in Paris or providing any other type o service. It is very important for us that our guests enjoy their stay as much as possible.

However, We are sorry that you felt some issues with the noise caused by the service of our staff when cleaning the rooms. We take good note of your remark and will do our best to improve on this particular aspect.

The whole team hopes to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly, helpful, and professional. The hotel rates better because of that. Overall it was ok. The location is good. However, the decor was a bit dated and the bathroom needed some updates. The details of the room were a bit cheap (towel rack, shelving) and the some of the walls were stained. Just not on the same level as typical 4 star hotels I stay. Btw, we had the superior room. The staircase is cool!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,
We thank you for having stayed in our hotel and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
Our hotel is ideally located and all our staff takes great proud in offering our guests the best service possible: we are happy that you have appreciated those points on which we insist strongly.
We are sorry that you felt some issues could be improved and will do our best to improve on those.
Hoping to welcome you among us in the future.
Best regards,Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Lovely little hotel, very friendly helpful staff. Close to Metro, less than 2 minutes walk. Macarroons were a nice touch on arrival. Restaurants close by. Well decorated with artistic flare, would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guests,
What a pleasure for us to read your warm review!
Charlotte created a really nice and unique atmosphere in our hotel, where arts are omnipresent from the lobby to the rooms, as well as in the staircase. We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests. Our staff is always delighted to recommend restaurants or places to visit in Paris. It is very important for us that our guests enjoy their stay as much as possible. We therefore pay a lot of attention to every single detail in our hotel: music, fragrance, welcoming note and small gifts…
The whole team hopes to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Academies et des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Academies et des Arts

Address: 15 rue de la Grande Chaumiere, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#88 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#180 Business Hotel in Paris
#236 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Academies et des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, AvailPro and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Academies et des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Academies Et Arts
Des Academies Et Arts Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Academies et des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.