We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Academies et des Arts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Academies et des Arts to your Saves list
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 rue de la Grande Chaumiere, 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
1 review
“Outstanding !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and just loved it. The accommodation was just outstanding. This is a quality place where no expense has been spared in getting the decoration and atmosphere perfect. The people here are committed to ensuring you are happy and that's exactly how it worked out. We would definitely stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,
What a pleasure for us to read your warm review!
Charlotte created a really nice and unique atmosphere in our hotel, where arts are omnipresent from the lobby to the rooms, as well as in the staircase. There are four different ambiances in the rooms. Moreover Charlotte asked Jérome Mesnager to add a personal touch in each room with his famous “white-bodies”.
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests. Our staff is always delighted to recommend restaurants or places to visit in Paris.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    123
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
36
381
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful boutique hotel in a great location, easy to get everywhere! The decor is fabulous, the beds are ultra comfortable, the staff are so warm and welcoming... And having a/c in the middle of a heatwave is an absolute winner!

The only gripe I could find - and it's a tiny one - is that the shower wouldn't stay up on the pole and I got hit in the head a few times whilst standing underneath it! But heading downstairs afterwards for the hotel's ultra fluffy croissants and chocolat makes that forgotten pretty quick!

Oh and the other comments about rooms being small are correct, but this is Paris... All rooms are small here!

Love it and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,
We were delighted to read your comment.
Our hotel is indeed a boutique hotel, i.e. a small hotel with exceptional service. We would therefore like to thank you for noticing it.
Charlotte created a very unique atmosphere for our hotel where art is omnipresent: video art, sculpture, paintings…
At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
We hope to welcome you again and again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel four times and always find it excellent. The rooms are small but comfortable and the whole property is beautifully decorated and swish. Nice breakfasts and pleasant and helpful staff. Location is terrific: near a number of different Metro lines and walking distance from the Gare de Montparnasse. The Luxembourg Gardens are a couple of blocks away as well.

Room Tip: Although on a quiet street, the hotel is near a fairly large intersection so if you are at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,
It was a pleasure for us to read your kind review.
Art is one of our passions. With that in mind, Charlotte created a very unique atmosphere for our hotel where art is omnipresent: video art, sculpture, paintings…
We were delighted to welcome you again and really pleased to see that you still enjoy our service.
It is really important for us to provide the highest level of service at all time for our guests. Our staff therefore does their best to make our guests’ stay as enjoyable as possible: answering questions about the neighborhood, making dinner reservations, booking tours…
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…
We hope to welcome you again and again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Half a block from the Vavin metro stop, the hotel was in a great location for exploring Paris. We really liked that it wasn't in a too touristy area. There was many restaurants, cafes and bakeries. There is even a great wine shop/restaurant directly across the street!

The standard room was quite small, but there was a queen sized bed. Personally, I'd rather have a queen over a double and give up some space. Plus, it's Paris, not the US. The shower was awesome! Also, the the A/C worked decently well (not American standard, but I wasn't uncomfortable). The rooms were clean upon arrival and cleaned each day. I would highly recommend this hotel for those traveling to Paris.

Room Tip: Check out the wine shop directly across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for kind review.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4,6 and 12). Our guests can therefore easily discover Paris during the day, and come back to a quieter place in the evening to relax. Moreover, there are countless restaurants and bistros in the neighborhood.
We have 3 different types of rooms, with different sizes as well. Several photos are available on the hotel’s website.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We really enjoyed the location of the hotel in Montparnasse. It was near Luxembourg gardens and a quick walk to three different subway lines. The room was pretty small - expected for Paris - however its lay-out worked really well, where a couple wont trip over each other. All and all, I still find it hard to shake the fact the rooms cost $270/night - only in Paris!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,
First of all we want to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4,6 and 12). Moreover, there are countless restaurants and bistros in the neighborhood.
We have 3 different types of rooms, with different sizes as well. Several photos are available on the hotel’s website. On our website, we also have different offers depending on the periods of stay and availability.
We truly hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Lovely boutique hotel situated conveniently near the Vavin metro station. Staff so helpful. Hotel beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Really enjoyed the breakfast - fresh ingredients and beautiful presentation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,
Many thanks for your kind review
Our hotel is indeed a boutique hotel, i.e. a small hotel with exceptional service. We would therefore like to thank you for noticing it.
Charlotte created a really nice and unique atmosphere in our hotel, where arts are omnipresent from the lobby to the rooms, as well as in the staircase. There are four different ambiances in the rooms. Moreover Charlotte asked Jérome Mesnager to add a personal touch in each room with his famous “white-bodies”.
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff! Wonderful boutique hotel, clean, quaint and conveniently close to metro station and several restaurants. Walk to center of town is reasonable, and you can pass through Luxembourg gardens on the way!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your kind review.
Our hotel is indeed a boutique hotel, i.e. a small hotel with exceptional service. We would therefore like to thank you for noticing it.
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests. Our staff is always delighted to recommend restaurants or places to visit in Paris.
We truly hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Academies et des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Academies et des Arts

Address: 15 rue de la Grande Chaumiere, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#88 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#185 Business Hotel in Paris
#237 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Academies et des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, AvailPro and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Academies et des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Academies Et Arts
Des Academies Et Arts Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Academies et des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.