We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, staff, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Academies et des Arts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Academies et des Arts to your Saves list
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 rue de la Grande Chaumiere, 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great room, staff, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel was beautiful, located with easy access to three different metro lines. I never had to go anywhere in Paris that required me to switch trains more than once. The rooms were very nice, if small, service was top notch, and the neighborhood was beautiful - bustling but not touristy. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and the level of service provided by our staff. Three metro lines (line 4,6 and12) are indeed very close to our hotel. Our guests are therefore able to discover major touristic places in Paris very easily during the day and come back to a quieter area at night.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    115
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
368
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tequesta, Florida
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was our 1st visit to Paris & I struggled with deciding on which location & hotel to choose. We were very happy with this hotel & found the location very convenient to everything a visitor might want to see. Great shops & cafes nearby. The Metro is "right there". The Luxumborg Jardin was very close & a delight! Service was good. Hotel had a great decor & was very clean. I liked that the window opened up & could let in fresh air & allow for me to stick my head out for a look.

I would have given 5* but for the tiny, tiny rooms & the "weird" shower situation. I know rooms are small in Paris. It was smaller than a cruise ship stateroom! The shower.....I fought with that thing every single day. It had a lovely, huge rainforest type shower head in the ceiling & then some side sprayers as well & then an additional hand held shower. The problem was, if you turned on more than just the hand-held, the water was too much & it overflowed & went all over the bathroom floor. The hand-held would not stay in the "holder" & kept smashing to the floor. The stall itself was tiny & shaving legs was no easy feat! The water was absolutely scalding & tricky to adjust.....you could get burned if not careful. None of this was enough to ruin a stay and it is just being chalked up to a "Euro" experience but it is simply why I took off the fifth star rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
The Hotel des Académies et des Arts is indeed located in a really nice and lively neighborhood with lots of restaurants within walking distance. Moreover there are three metro lines (4,6 and12) very close to our hotel, which gives our guests the possibility to discover major touristic places in Paris very easily. The Jardin du Luxembourg, one of the nicest garden in Paris, is located only a few minutes’ walk from our hotel.
We also wanted to let you know that following your comment the shower was fixed.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This review is a little out of date but we have only just started reviewing our hotels. This was our first trip to Paris and what a fantastic spot to pick for our visit. We viewed lots of hotel sites before picking Des Academies on the basis of its bohemian location and chic decor. The size of the rooms seemed small but I guess that's Paris, a friend works there and her whole apartment is 80m2! So maybe the rooms are typical.

We arrived late at night on a wet winter and the whole of Paris glistened in the rain drops on the cab windows. The Hotel was warm and comforting as we tumbled in from the road, a quick turn round and off out to sample our first Parisian dinner in a restaurant straight from a Hemmingway novel just a block away.

The hotel is decorated in a plush chic comfortable feel carried through all the public areas and into the rooms. We stayed for three nights and initially could only have a standard double but spent the next two in a superior double. Well worth the extra for the superior room as it had two windows over looking the street, maybe noisy for some but we enjoyed the ambience especially as when we woke the next morning to my nearest and dearests normal early morning humour.
"Its snowed!" I just rolled over and groaned, but it had and Paris was transformed into a picture postcard city. Here the Hotel excelled with breakfast in bed at 12!! Whilst we planned our snowy day. Vin Chaud was much appreciated.

The location is great close to restaurants of all budgets we tried expensive, cheap and a trip to a Folie show. Loved it all. We did not find any grumpy waiters! We walked miles, but quickly found the Metro simple clean and easy to use. Lots of shops sell macaroons!

The staff and owners were very helpful and friendly and made us feel most welcome. On the last day our flight home was quite late and we were able to leave our luggage with reception and made our way by train to Charles de Gaulle.

I hope you all enjoy this hotel as much as we did.

Room Tip: Our recommendation would be a superior double a little larger and with street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Paris and in our hotel.
Charlotte the co-owner created the very unique and contemporary design of our hotel and asked Jérome Mesnager, the famous street artist who invented l’Homme en Blanc (white body) to collaborate in this project.
As you mentioned, there are also lots of restaurants within walking distance. Our staff is always very pleased to make restaurants or tour reservations for our guests and to answer any question they may have.
It is our pleasure to keep our guests’ belongings after check out so that they can enjoy freely their last day in Paris before a late flight.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and loved it! The front desk staff offer fabulous recommendations for restaurants in the area. The rooms are interesting and well appointed, although not large, they are average for Paris.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is fantastic and made our experience in this wonderful city even more enjoyable. Staff was extremely nice and helpful, giving us great restaurant recommendations. The rooms are tiny but carefully arranged and super clean. It is very close to Luxembourg Gardens so the walking in the area is as romantic as it could be.
For sure, this hotel is going to be our hotel everytime we return to Paris!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
We were delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay.
The neighborhood of our hotel is indeed typically Parisian with lots of bistros, restaurants and of course the romantic Jardin du Luxembourg and Saint Germain des Prés, all within walking distance.
Our staff is always happy to give tips to our guests for restaurants and brasseries.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I went with my friend and colleague Mel for a few nights break this summer. We had a wonderful time. The hotel is bijou, but beautifully and sensibly designed to feel larger than it is, and has lovely dark shades of purples, golds, and wood browns in the lobby and eating area. It felt cosy.

We had a twin room, which was extremely comfy (the pillows and mattresses, mmmmmmm). Mel was a little surprised by exactly how close the beds were together, but this is Paris after all and space is at a premium, and well we know each other well enough now.

As she is a Mr and Mrs Smith member, on arrival there was macaroons and champagne.I'd recommend this as a wonderful start to an evening before you go out.

The hotel is situated in really easy reach from Gare Du Nord, straight down to Vasy on the Metro, and then literally 300 yards away. It is in an easy five minute walk from The Luxemborg gardens, for relaxing in the sunshine, and two minutes from there is the best creperie in Paris. (Lovely wholewheat brown crepes with cheese and mushrooms).

I stupidly don't have a washbag, just shove everything in a carrier bag. I left this in the bathroom when we went out, which had a bottle of Chanel perfume (mostly empty, but enough for a few days, and had huge sentimental value to me as I bought it on my first solo trip to New York). However, I came back to find the housekeeper had chucked it out thinking it was rubbish. I did explain to the hotel that it wasn't and could they find out where it was, and they were absolutely wonderful about it all. Although it couldnt be retrieved (and they must have thought me a little mad asking for a nearly empty perfume bottle to be retrieved form les poubelles), they did give us complimentary breakfasts, which were excellent.

A wonderful few days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Jérome Mesnager, the famous designer who invented le “Corps Blanc” (white body), created, with Charlotte, the very unique and contemporary design of our hotel.
The Hôtel des Académies et des Arts is located in a really nice area with restaurants and bistros within walking distance. The Jardin du Luxembourg, one of the nicest gardens in Paris, is also one minute walk from our hotel. There are also 3 metro lines close to our hotel (line 4, 6 and 12).
Our staff is always delighted to help our guests and answer any questions the may have.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Academies et des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Academies et des Arts

Address: 15 rue de la Grande Chaumiere, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#68 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#81 Business Hotel in Paris
#269 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Academies et des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, AvailPro, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Academies et des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Academies Et Arts
Des Academies Et Arts Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Academies et des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.