We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Empire Paris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added L'Empire Paris to your Saves list
L'Empire Paris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 rue de l'Arbre Sec, 75001 Paris, France (Les Halles)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #398 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Moscow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed as a family with 2 kids in late September 2012. To be very honest we chose this place because there was hardly anything else decent available in the whole central Paris. We wanted a room or a suite where we could all fit but sleep in different rooms. Luckily they had such room for us so we were happy to finally find a place to stay, however, the price was quite high.

Location
Near Louvre on Rue de Rivoli it is located fairly conveniently. Everything is about 7 min walk including nearest metro/RER station, Louvre, Cite (maybe slightly longer but still very manageable). Rue Saint Honore is next turn and is offering nice choice of café, restaurants, and shops, becomes main boutiques street after 10 min walk. It is an old district so you can expect nice architecture and a very nice ambience around.

Room
It is half-way to design hotel. At least some of the amenities are definitely there for beauty not for use. Light switches are not where you want them and they puzzled us initially by their operation. Sanitary equipment was not in good order. Toilet could not be used too frequently as it would not accumulate enough water in reasonable time. Bathroom tap was not broken but slightly worn out with some parts missing.
Otherwise the room was clean. Room cleaning service brought no issues. Wi-Fi was free, however, it was dropping signal all the time.
Our room windows were facing the street and as we are used to open them at night we had to survive through terrible noise made by construction site nearby, which apparently never stopped activity even at night. No one really made any note about this to us when we were booking or checking in but we are used to this kind of things in other places as well.

Other
Breakfast facility is not big enough. It is actually very small. If there are more then 10-15 people having breakfast at once you will not be having yours. We faced it at least once. We had to wait for at least 15-20 minutes and when we expressed our dissatisfaction with this issue we were grilled by the attendant at the facility that it was actually our own fault that we wanted a table for four and they never offered us any alternative. Otherwise the breakfast content was quite good with a very good choice of top class bread, croissants, meat, etc.
Reception was mostly helpful. We can only note that their choice of nearby restaurants was quite limited. It could be that there are just not many good family restaurants nearby though.
There is only one small lift so traffic jams are not unusual in the peak hour. It is essential as the hotel is very narrow but has many floors.

Overall
If not location it would be a pretty average experience. We think it deserves its place in Tripadvisor ranks. Not more not less. It is maybe OK for Paris but in European context it is not value for money.

Room Tip: Try avoiding rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    128
    44
    25
    23
See reviews for
65
206
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Ideally situated in the centre of Paris close to the Louvre this hotel was a pleasant find in the city. It is a boutique hotel in a modern style. The staff are friendly and efficient and rooms well appointed. The breakfast was wonderful with a good selection. My room was quiet and it the hotel is just a little bit removed from the busier main streets in the area. There is some renovation/construction work going on in the building next door but there was no noise from that area except during the day. Definitely better than the large chain hotels in Paris or the rather run down three stars with grumpy staff and plastic breakfasts that are so common in Paris.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We've stayed in Paris a number of times and would have to say that this hotel's location is excellent for exploring all areas of the city. It's within walking distance of the Louvre and easy walking access into other areas of Paris.

Check in was fast and the front desk staff very friendly, in fact all staff here were helpful and attentive. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was excellent and service prompt and friendly. Our room was on one of the lower floors, the hallway was a little dark and the carpet needs some attention, it was a little scruffy, which did detract from the overall experience. The room was quite large and we had no problems with the cleanliness nor housekeeping service whilst here. Internet access was easy to set up and the speed was fast enough for me to upload fairly large files, so this is a good choice if you like to use fast Internet service.

There are a number of restaurants surrounding the hotel, which provide very good quality meals so you don't need to walk to far.

Very nice hotel that we sincerely recommend for location, service and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

These are the strong points of L'Empire: The staff! The rooms! The service!
This is the soft point (which is out of anybody's control, but still nice to have): The Location!
All of the above were perfect and made our stay in Paris (6 days, 5 nights) in late October a treat.
The staff is very, very helpful, to the point that they will try to solve your problems, even before they even occurred.
Our room (junior suite) was just redone, had a large twin bed, a television in each room, a big bathroom with shower and bathtub, more than enough space for two people. It could have slept four, as there was also a foldout couch.
Location in Paris is essential. The L'Empire is situated close to the Louvre, the Notre Dame and it is in the trendy Marais area of Paris. Restaurants, shops, galleries, it's all there. The wife loved it, so did my credit card company. I did, too. The statement hasn't come yet...
Having said all this, please remember, you are smack in the middle of a huge city! There is traffic, there is construction, there are garbage pickups. So no, it is not quiet, but you will not have that in any city. If you want quiet, visit the Paris cemeteries.
We will have to come back, as there are some things we didn't see, and we will surely book in the L'Empire again.

Room Tip: Try to get a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helend68
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent location, so many attractions within walking distance. Friendly staff all with good English. Large suite which comfortably slept a family of 5, a bottle of champagne on arrival. Valet parking (35 Euro per day). Excellent buffet breakfast
We stayed for 4 nights which gave us 2 full days sight seeing in Paris and one day at DisneyLand. Disney was an easy day trip by train from the hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMPIREPARIS, Gérant at L'Empire Paris, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Madam,

We would like to take this chance to send you a sincere thanks for having chosen L’Empire for your stay in Paris, and to let you know how much we appreciated the comment you’ve made in our establishment.

We were happy to realize you were very pleased with our location, staff and facilities, and that your family passed a comfortable stay with us. From our side we will keep on working hard to maintain and improve our performance, in order to be at the level of our clients’ expectations.

In the meantime we stay at your disposal for any information you might require and look forward to see you again in your next trip to Paris.

Best regards,

Guillaume,

The general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bendigot
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at the L'Empire for 5 nights in Oct/NOV in a superior room. We loved the location it is easy walking to most attractions and shops. Bathroom could do with a up grade and a jug and cups etc in room would make it perfect. The receptionist staff were among the best we have come across they couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMPIREPARIS, Gérant at L'Empire Paris, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Madam,

I would like to take this opportunity to send you a sincere thanks from all the staff members of L’Empire, who were quite glad and proud, when reading the lovely comment you’ve made on our establishment.

It is always very fulfilling for us to realize that our service keeps up with our clients expectations. We are aware that we have to keep on working hard, but it’s good to know we’ve started from a good basis.

Concerning the bathrooms, we already took the necessary measures for the upgrades since we’re refurbishing all of our rooms, floor by floor. Even so, we’re grateful for your suggestion.

We stay at your disposal for any further information and hope to welcome you once again on your next trip to Paris.

Best regards,

Guillaume
The general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and found the staff pleasant and helpful. We arrived four hours before check in time and as expected our room was not ready. The front desk placed our luggage in storage and told us they should have our room ready in an hour. When we returned from lunch, our room was ready and our luggage had already been placed inside. We also found that all the staff members we encountered spoke excellent English.
Well appointed, comfortable standard room. Very good bed but the pillows could have been better. Nice bar/lounge and good buffet breakfast.
After we checked out and were waiting for our taxi, which was late, the front desk came outside twice to check on us. They made us feel like important guests. We recommend this hotel and would stay here again. The only downside to our stay was some construction activity outside but this was beyond the control of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMPIREPARIS, Gérant at L'Empire Paris, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Sir,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing L’Empire for your stay in Paris and for sharing with us your opinion about our hotel.

We were glad about being capable of giving you the room before check-in time, which is something hard to do most of the times, especially when we have late check-outs. We fear mostly for our clients, such as yourself, that come all the way from distant countries and arrive early in the morning. It’s normal you want to have your room ready to rest after such a tiresome trip, that’s why we try to have them finished as soon as we can.

In what concerns the comfort of the pillows, we ought to inform you that the type that we work with is the one mostly recommended for our hotel category. We also have some which are a little bit smaller and less consistent, but those are normally used for children. We’re sorry if this caused you any sort of discomfort.

Even though we have some rough days, in which we don’t have the possibility to show our service the way we would like, we were glad to acknowledge you really felt our assistance.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel and stay at your disposal for any further information.

Best regards,

Guillaume
The general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Empire Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Empire Paris

Address: 48 rue de l'Arbre Sec, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#171 Family Hotel in Paris
#212 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#319 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Empire Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your L'Empire Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Empire Paris Hotel Paris
l Empire Hotel Paris
Lempire Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Empire Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.