We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, superb rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Empire Paris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added L'Empire Paris to your Saves list
L'Empire Paris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 rue de l'Arbre Sec, 75001 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #417 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, superb rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The location couldn't be better, just around the corner of Le Louvre (metro Louvre-Tivoli) and only few steps away from Rue de Rivoli.
Very friendly and helpfull service, clean, spacious room, OK breakfast.
Then why we do not rate it excellent: the gangways could have been cleaner and/or refurbished and there were always trolleys (day and night) in the corridors what gives it a bit a messy look. Also the breakfastlounge is fairly little: we never had problems but sometimes guests need to wait for 20 minutes before they could have a table.
We also had a chambre supérieure which, as other guest say, is in the basement: weird feeling but once you get in the room you don't notice it at all: even these rooms have daylight! Of and the shower: superb!!
We certainly revisit Paris and book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    123
    43
    23
    23
See reviews for
62
195
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I really enjoyed the Empire Paris! It is a lovely boutique hotel, steps away from the Louvre and many other attractions. The hotel staff is really lovely and quite helpful, and it is recommended that you get the rate that includes breakfast - the breakfast is WONDERFUL and extremely filling! I highly recommend this hotel - and I believe it is also a wonderful couples retreat (although I went with friends), since there is something quite romantic about it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMPIREPARIS, Gérant at L'Empire Paris, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Madam,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you, not only for having chosen L’Empire for your stay in Paris, but also for the great comment you have made on our establishment.

We really appreciated the way you described the hotels’ location and staff. It provided us with the motivation to keep up with the good work. In what concerns breakfast, we were also very happy to know it corresponded to your expectations. We try to use as many fresh products as we can and tend to make it varied, so our clients, who come from so many different parts of the world, have more to chose from.

We hope to welcome you once again in your next trip to Paris and stay at your disposal for any information you might require.

Best regards,

Guillaume
The general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

we had a lovely room on the 4th floor for 3 nights - looked very similar to the picture. The location is fabulous, as you are a on a little side street, one block from the Louvre. We enjoyed the modern decor, the bed was very comfortable, the plumbing worked fairly well (the water faucet located at the small bar area dripped unless you fiddled with the handle). The staff was very friendly and accomodating, though we got the impression that management was somehow lacking (one hand not knowing what the other was doing). The maid service was fine the first night, non existent the second (where we were charged for mini bar items that we didn't use... hmmm???), and then back on track for the last day. The check in staff were very understanding, and trusted us with the mini bar issue, and overall were helpful and friendly towards us.
The buffet breakfast at 25 e is a bit pricey (though you kind of come to expect this in Paris) - but we found the items served to be fresh and of good quality - and no, the tomatoes were NOT the same from one day to the next, so don't know about lamimiva's experience in that regard.

Our room had 4 skylight windows that looked out onto a non-discript courtyard - the room was fairly quiet, except for evening #2 when someone living/staying in the building on the opposite side of the courtyard began entertaining us, first with some crummy, retro 80's disco, then when that stopped, with her own alley cat wails as it was obvious she was being turned on by her vibrator or some other kind of love interest.

In all, not bad, not great - and priced at about what you'd expect for the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel was chosen based on the reviews on tripadvisor. It seemed like a good value for money, but I expected a bit more.
While the rooms are trendy and ok, the cleanliness is average, which is a shame since it could benefit the hotel a lot. There was an odd smell in the corridor and the room. Rooms are spacious for Paris standards (Superior Room). However, you'll notice quickly that they've chosen for image and not so much for quality. In the room there was a tap dripping that kept me awake a couple of nights, and overall the finishing of the rooms and interior is not that good.
Breakfast was adequate and ok.
Staff was friendly but maybe somewhat inexperienced.
I know that there are better places to stay in Paris for this money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as a last minute change to our travel plans as we were not going to visit Paris on this trip. We have usually stayed in the Trocodero area but were really pleased with the location of the Empire.

The hotel has recently been refurbished and our rooms were just lovely with really comfortable beds which is so important with all the walking you do in this city.

It was a great location for shopping and sight seeing as it was so close to the Louvre and Notre Dame.

We found all of the staff to be friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMPIREPARIS, Gérant at L'Empire Paris, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Paris, and for the lovely comment you have made on our establishment and staff.

As I can perceive you have stayed in one of our refurbished rooms, and we were very pleased to know you appreciated its décor and the room itself. We have been refurbishing our rooms floor by floor in the last couple of months, using different colors to make them even brighter and more modern. We’re hoping to have the opportunity to show you another one once you come back to Paris.

I would also like to take this chance to send you a sincere thanks from all the members of our staff. They were very satisfied to know their efforts had been rewarded. We were all quite surprised when we saw the picture you had taken of your room, and we’re grateful for your gesture.

We stay at your disposal for any further information,

Best regards,

Guillaume
The general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a small hotel with renovated rooms and baths and friendly staff in a GREAT location in Paris (Louvre). The neighborhood has many “local” dinning choices and the hotel Bar is a good place for an evening drink. The hotel is in a quiet street just off the main road, 2 blocks from the river (Pont Neuf) and in walking distance to Notre Dame, Louvre, Quartier Latin.
Would recommend for couples visiting and for business.
Will stay again!

Room Tip: Request rooms with blackout curtaind as mansard rooms to not have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMPIREPARIS, Gérant at L'Empire Paris, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen L’Empire for your stay in Paris. We were very glad to welcome you and hope to see you once soon in our hotel.

We were very pleased to acknowledge you were happy about our facilities, location and staff. It is true that some of the main Parisian attractions like Notre Dame or the Louvre is just a couple of minutes walking as well as the main subway stations. Concerning the hotel staff, they were very glad to know you appreciated their efforts, and that you found them friendly. I’m sure they’ll continue working hard to keep up with your expectations.

We stay at your disposal for any information or service you might require and look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Best regards,

Guillaume
The general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a nice hotel in the center of Paris...Is near the Louvre Museum.... Breakfast is a big buffet with eggs, ham juice and yogurt.
Sfaff is very frendly and the speaks also Italian... We spend only a night there.
Thank you and see you next time...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Empire Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Empire Paris

Address: 48 rue de l'Arbre Sec, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Family Hotel in Paris
#202 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#397 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Empire Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your L'Empire Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Empire Paris Hotel Paris
l Empire Hotel Paris
Lempire Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Empire Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.