We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paris suburbs !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Regency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Regency to your Saves list
Royal Regency
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   69-71 Rue Defrance | Vincennes, 94300 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Paris
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Paris suburbs !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We enjoyed 3 nights here for our umpteenth time in Paris! We have resort points and so were using the Regency for the first time, and although it's not FREE it felt like it having purchased our holiday points in April......I am now on a crusade to use them.
We were not disappointed.Good accommodation, good location,good helpful staff and wow! an underground private car park.....we had driven down from London..... that's where the car stayed because the metro is so good and easy.
Previous reviews say it all, we too will use the Royal Regency regularly.
Small tip if you haven't done it before.....to get a great view of Paris and see the Eifel Tower, go to Montparnasse Tower.Don't pay to go to top floor, go to restaurant floor, half way up, sit at bar and have a cocktail,that;s cheaper than the top floor, same view and a great cocktail!
Christmas markets were interesting and you can get all the way across town to the surreal Defense area and its markets.

Room Tip: We had balcony room on front and didn't find it too noisy and would be happy there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Royal Regency, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Royal Regency – thank you for your review! We strive to provide an excellent standard of service to all our members and guests, and we’re delighted that our team were able to provide you with all the assistance you needed during your stay.

We’re really pleased that you’ll be returning here, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Stephane Torcheux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    65
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
54
64
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed twice on our recent trip (Oct 14th and Oct 30th). In between stayed at Club Mougins in south of France. Two very different properties, so it is not fair to try comparing the two. The Royal Regency is well located, near the end of the Metro 1 line (an all automated line, not shut down even if Metro workers on strike) AND near the RER A station in Vincennes. To us, the Regency is more of a place to sleep, eat breakfast, plan excursions, and shop the street market for treats if you want to cook in rather than eat out. Plenty of very good restaurants nearby, we really liked L’Hedoniste near the RER A station.

The staff, especially Nicholas, and both Stephanes, were very helpful in suggestions, making dining reservations and booking tours. We were allowed to leave a bag in the secure area when we went to Southern France (overpacked for our 6 week tour), and it was waiting for us in our room on our return. House keeping was also very well done.

Rooms are spacious by Paris/Amsterdam standards, but may feel tight to folks from USA. Kitchens were adequately stocked, but we just did breakfast and light snacks after day excursions.

As for wireless, we used an iTouch and an Android phone for all internet, except printing boarding passes. Coverage was spotty in both apartments, but by attaching the charging cords (not plugged into wall), the reception was greatly enhanced. Unfortunately there is only one fixed computer in the lobby for printing boarding passes / other items, so you need to be thinking ahead to prevent having to wait (use is limited to 20 minutes per person, which helps keep things flowing)

Trip tips – use the RER A train to go to/from the far side of Paris, much faster that the Metro 1. For a first trip to orient yourself on Paris, take the Metro 1 to Nation station, transfer to the 6, which has a large part of its run above ground, letting you get a bit of a feel for the city center. The 6 line ends at Charles De Gaulle Etoille (Arc de Triomphe) or you can get off near the Montparnasse Tower, go up 56 floors and get a real birds eye view of the city.

Using TaxiG7 to book cab to Orly is easy and came in at 40 Euro. The hotel booked van to Charles De Gaulle was 55 Euro, but can get 4 people and bags easily so that was better choice than going through TaxiG7, especially if two couples split the ride,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Royal Regency, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for this detailed review – we’re delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visits to the Royal Regency! We strive to provide an excellent standard of service to our guests, and we’re really pleased to read that our staff were able to provide you with all the assistance you needed during both of your visits.

We really hope that you’ll come back here for another stay, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Resort Manager
Stephane Torcheux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Over haddon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here at the end of October 2012 and also six years ago and found that the hotel had been pleasantly refurbished. We had a spacious studio apartment equipped with everything we needed that was cleaned regularly. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the atmosphere relaxed. The neighbourhood also seemed to have improved, and in addition to the lovely little patisseries/boulangeries and greengrocers that we remembered there is a decent supermarket (Carrefour) within a few minutes walk and an excellent Lebanese restaurant (Beitna) just near the supermarket. The town centre of Vincennes is also going through a refurbishment scheme and looks more attractive than previously. We found a good choice of restaurants near the metro station where you could have just as good an evening meal much cheaper than in the centre of Paris. The Chateau has also been re-opened since we last came and the old Keep (Medieval royal palace) and Chapelle are well worth seeing, as is the Parc de Vincennes, especially the Parc Florale.
We used the metro to get to and from central Paris (20 minutes) and bus No 118 from just near the hotel to the metro station and found that getting a "Paris Pass" well worth while. It cost about £30 each for 5 days and works on metro, buses and trains and also gives discounts on some visitor attractions.
In the centre of Paris we visited the new museum of Ethnography (don't let that put you off!) at Quai Branly, which was superb, and the old Opera (Garnier) which is magnificent, just to wander around inside. I should think the performances are pretty good too!
We look forward to coming back to the Hotel Regency.

Room Tip: Apartments in the extension at the rear are really quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for a few days so that we could see the last day of the Tour de France at the Champs Elysees. It's only 10 minutes walk to the Metro and so easy to get into Paris, we did this for 3 days out of the 4 we were there.
The hotel staff are very friendly and always happy to help. The rooms are a good size, we had a 1 bedroom apartment for 2 adults and 1 child and there was plenty of room. It was all nice and clean.
Not far to go for the morning 'un pain', I loved walking about in the area. We also used our bikes and rode to the massive park to play tennis.
I would definitely recommend staying here, nice place, nice rooms, nice people. Can't fault it. In fact we were looking to go back next year but cannot find any availability - says it all!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Royal Regency, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for this lovely review – we’re delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Royal Regency! We strive to provide an excellent standard of service to all our members and guests, and we’re really pleased that our team were able to provide you with all the information and assistance you needed during your stay.

We’re really sorry that you weren’t able to secure a booking here for next year, but we hope that we’ll see you again!

Resort Manager
Stephane Torcheux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

After a wild drive through Paris traffic and circling several times around the block trying to find the entrance to the parking garage, we finally let my niece out to run in and yell “open sesame”! The garage was a tight squeeze for the giant SUV we had rented for our trip to Reims and Germany. I was dreading trying to pull it out the next day so we could return it to the rental agency after seeing all the paint scrapes against the wall.

Jemone checked us in and came out to help us carry our luggage in (no carts!). The expression on his face when he saw the mound of luggage for only 4 women was priceless! We lugged it all up in the lift (several trips) and began looking around. We rented the 3 bedroom and it had a nice sized kitchen, a full bath, ½ bath and ensuite bathroom & balcony in one room. The beds were comfy and everything looked new. The living room had a large balcony, plenty of seating and also contained a large dining table that seated 8 comfortably. We walked out onto the living balcony to look around and spotted a market right up the street.

The neighborhood is nice and we quickly found our favorite places to get our nightly wine, baguette and cheese (so cheap!!). There are several nice restaurants in the area but our favorite was the one Stephan made reservations for us the last night. It was 6 blocks away (not a long walk) and small with only about 7 tables. There is a fireplace against the back wall where the owner cooked our duck (right in front of us). He also brought out complimentary champagne to drink with our escargot (yes we were addicted at this point).

The staff at the Royal Regency is top notch and goes out of their way to help the guests with everything from dinner reservations to transportation (email them before your arrival and they will set up a cheap shuttle ride to the airport).

We found the ride into the city center not to be a big issue. My mother used a wheelchair so we mostly took the bus (took about a half hour this way) but the metro is about 15 minutes if stairs are not an issue. There is also complimentary computer time in the lobby but don’t buy the wifi. Reception is terrible and they use a third party company so refunds were not immediate.

A washer and dryer in the rooms, better oven and being located in Paris would have bumped this visit up the final star for me. Nothing they can do about the location but the washer and dryer is actually listed on the website.

We had the time of our lives. I wish we could go back….

Julie

PS A shout out to Stephan for making the awesome dinner reservations the last night. It was our favorite meal. Sorry about threatening you with the baguette! ;)

Room Tip: we heard someone complaining about his very small room. Make sure you don't rent the efficiency.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Spent just 2 nights at this hotel and have to admit was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews. However, our experience was a good one. After a delay on the ferry crossing we didn't reach the hotel until after 1am, but when we arrived the guy on reception was very helpful and showed us to our apartment, which was clean with plenty of space. We had the bedroom and my partners 12 year old slept on the sofa bed which he said was very comfy. If we had been staying longer I am sure we would have made more use of the kitchen which had everything you would need including a dishwasher! There was a small super market across the road and it was only a 5 minute walk into the main town where we found several bakeries, bistros and brasseries. Although we don't speak French and the locals spoke very little English (apart from the hotel staff) we managed to make ourselves understood. The metro was only 10 mins from the hotel and it only took another 10 to 15 mins to reach central Paris. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Regency, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Royal Regency. We put great emphasis on delivering exceptional customer service and making our guests feel welcome at all times; hence we are very pleased to read that your impression of the resort and the team was a positive one. Hopefully we will see you again and for a little longer, so that you can make more use of the self catering facilities provided, but most of all, fully explore the beautiful area we are located in.

Kind regards
Stephane Torcheux
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Royal Regency 3 times. There is a bus station to the metro one block away. 3 supermarkets and 3 bakeries within walking distance. Only thing missing is a good restaurant around. Room is very spacious compared to the Paris standard hotel room. Will go again next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Regency

Address: 69-71 Rue Defrance | Vincennes, 94300 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Regency 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is with good reason that Le Chateau de Vincennes has been home to many former kings of France.This regal Paris neighborhood harbors pockets of historical Parisian culture, city-center sightseeing and the gastronomic delights we've come to expect of Europe's favorite destination.A short walk from Le Bois de Vincennes, the largest park in Paris, Royal Regency has tastefully decorated and spacious city accommodations, a residential lounge and a relaxing sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Regency Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.