We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gay-Lussac

Hotel Gay-Lussac
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Gay-Lussac to your Saves list
Hotel Gay-Lussac
29, rue Gay Lussac | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,343 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
“Pleasant Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very basic but pleasant hotel in the Latin Quarter near the Sorbonne, the Law School, and the Pantheon, and only a few blocks from Luxembourg Gardens and the metro. Walkable to the Seine, Ile de la cite, and Notre Dame. Very clean rooms, a charming balcony overlooking the street, and a friendly staff who are very accommodating. The room décor is simple and basic, and the bathroom is tiny--but the bathroom was just remodeled with completely up to date features. This is a good value on a quiet street in pleasant neighborhood.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have a lot of light and a pleasant, if not spectacular, view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    26
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
13
18
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The location of the hotel was terrific, just few minutes walking from Pantheon. For being that central the price was quite convenient. However, the place wasn't very clean. The wi-fi connection, which was crucial for me as I was travelling for work, was very poor and when I complained about it, they just shrugged.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the street if you're bothered by street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Comfortable, clean, cozy old hotel with a Fourth Republic aura; ideal for those on a budget but who really want to stay in the Latin Quarter. A bit hidebound but in a charming way (they don't do third-party bookings), you can still either get a complete hotel room or one where you share w/c and/or shower. Breakfast is ample for 8 euros and good for people like me who need a cup of coffee in the morning before facing the world even on holiday. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

In the Quartier Latin, a pleasant neighbourhood, very close to the metro, just 3 stops from Gare du Nord.

It;'s a cosy hotel because it's small and the owners are sweet. The place is somewhat worn-out, but very clean with fresh sheets and good towels. So for people who don't expect fancy things but are happy with clean, good location and a friendly smile from the staff, this is good value for money. One of the few places in Paris I can afford and still be comfortable in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Gay Lussac is a very old and battered hotel. Almost everything shows wear and tear, from the broken ceilling lamps in the stairs to the curtains of the rooms. Some repairs are almost unbelievable, such as ventilation piece nailed to the wall with huge nails sticking out by several centimeters, or a bedlamp cord broken and tied back with a crude knot. The decoration of the hotel and the rooms feels like 1940s or 1950s, and I think this is not just a feeling.

My room had two very small beds. It reminded me of my old boarding school. That, added to the constant noise of the very large street (2nd floor, no double glazing) and the cold (no double glazing again), I cannot say I slept well there.

The breakfast was not very good. The orange was coming from a machine but OK. The coffee was overcooked. The only choice of food was bread, chewy croissants (capital crime in Paris!) and undercooked chaussons aux pommes.

The network was free but a bit erratic, sometimes good, sometimes almost inexistent. This despite the efforts to put several routers at different levels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I've stayed here three times and the only reason I hesitated to review it was a selfish one - I was afraid it it had more publicity, more people would come and it would be harder to get a reservation. It's a very clean hotel, with a friendly staff. The rooms have just gone up a bit, but are still VERY reasonable for Paris. There are rooms without private bath and shower though for those who want to save a few euro. Breakfast is included, and is really excellent- croissants, baguettes, yogurt, coffee, orange juice, etc. Very convenient to the Latin Quarter, Pantheon, Luxembourg Gardens, etc. The nearest RER is Luxembourg, but two bus lines stop in front of the hotel.. I believe it's family run, and has been in business since the early 1960's. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in Paris over the last 20+ years - but I just love the simplicity of the Gay Lussac...not to mention the fabulous location. Yes it is a bit tired and old-fashioned, but I have always found it to be clean and welcoming. Let's face it, in Paris the only reason for being in your hotel room is to shower and sleep - so this hotel is more than sufficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gay-Lussac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gay-Lussac

Address: 29, rue Gay Lussac | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,343 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gay-Lussac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gay Lussac
Gay Lussac Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gay-Lussac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.