We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Agenor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Agenor to your Saves list
Hotel Agenor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 rue Cels | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #1,489 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Paris was my second destination with my boyfriend for our europe trip. This hotel has small but rather clean and nice rooms, the bathrooms are nice as well but also small. However, there were some issues upon arriving there. 1, our hotel room wasn't ready for us when we arrived (and we came way past check-in time), so the person working at the desk gave us a key to another room instead so we wouldn't have to wait. Now, when we get to this new room and open the door we find someones stuff is still in there (uhh??). This makes us a bit skeptical, we return downstairs and tell the staff and they apologize and give us another room, thankfully this time its ready and no one is still occupying it. We had a good experience after that until our last day. The maid, who doesn't speak English, tried to enter our room (without knocking) to clean (its 9 am). She comes back 10 or 15 minutes later and tries to enter again, without knocking. This really annoyed us and made us quite mad. What if you're butt naked and the maid decides its time to clean (AT 9 AM)??. Not cool. So if you're planning to have some alone time with your significant other, be aware that maids will come in at any time in the early morning, and they also don't knock.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    18
    5
    11
See reviews for
19
34
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Opted for this hotel because of its proximity to Montparnesse station and lots of cafe and eating out places with different cuisine all in walking distance. Since the station was really close, I could take metro to virtually anywhere in the city. It wasn't difficult to find and had decent room for the price charged. Person at the reception became really good friend and he helped us in planning our complete paris tour. He also informed us about the France day parade on champ de elysee which was the attratcion of our tour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my Aunt for five days. The location was perfect- close to the train station, places to eat, bakeries, cafes, shops, at the Metro. We walked to the Eiffel Tower the first day, though that was quite a hike there and back. For later trips to Paris central, we could get there in 10-15 minutes via the Metro.

There is no AC, but in late May/ early June, opening the windows was just perfect. At night, we kept them open and I'd sit next to them and just enjoy the noise of the city.

I couldn't tell if the shower was just old or if it needed a better scrub in the corners. The rest of the bathroom was clean.

In our room specifically, we had a laugh at the light switch placement- on the headboard, right behind the pillow spot.

The staff was VERY nice. I admitted I only knew a little French upon arrival, and when I looked up how to ask for our room key (Thirty Three, please!) in French, the manager was thrilled. They gave us maps and recommendations for exploring the area.

Overall, I'd call this a great place to sleep, shower, and get back to exploring the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

For Paris is the Price/Value rate good. Very smal rooms. Simple Breakfast with industrial products. Around the a hotel some nice bars.
Tip: No spaces for cars around. You will get a Ticket very fast for wrong parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Montparnesse station and price. We only stayed one night as we were catching the train to the west coast of France. It meet both these criteria well. It was about a five minute walk from where the airport bus dropped us at Montparnesse station. The room was clean, with a newly renovated bathroom. Yes the room was small but it was at the back of the hotel and quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful eventhough they spoke only a little english. The room appeared not to have air conditioning but was heated. There was a lift which was very small as with most Parisienne hotels, it stopped between floors on a small landing so if you are not fit or carry large luggage this hotel may not be suitable for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hotel Agenor (Montparness) - After spending 5 nights at this hotel, I'm on the fence as to whether I would recommend it to anyone. If you're thinking about staying here, set your expectation bar on the lowest setting and you might not be disappointed. Extremely small room. Bed is old and tired. Carpet is desperate need of cleaning. Grout in shower is moldy in places. And in all my travels, I have never met a set of towels that needed to be relegated to rags more than what we were given each day. On the positive side, the water pressure in the shower was phenominal. By far the best we experienced on our trip.

Although the hotel is on a side street, there was so much street noise coming from Rue de Maine that both my wife and I had to use earplugs to get a decent night sleep. We had breakfast at the hotel only one time. Not a discriminator either way.

The front desk folks were very pleasant. But for full disclosure, most of them knew little to no english, which would be fine except their website definitely stated they do. If you're looking for an affordable place to crash at the end of each night with basic ameneties, this might work for you. We were a little disappointed, but I think we set the expectation bar a little too high.

Note: When we made our booking a few months ago, they were ranked #683 out of 1838 hotels in Paris on Trip Advisor. Currently, they are ranked #1071 out of 1838.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

To make a long story short, we needed to adjust our reservation, shortening from 4 to 2. Since the initial booking was through booking.com, we were instructed by the hotel to cancel the entire booking and rebook only the nights we needed. Did not work, emails to Agenor saying such (and showing concern as for a short while, we were without hotel during busiest time in France) were ignored, so a kind proprietor at a prior b and b spoke French with them by phone. We assumed the price would be our original price divided in half, as we were staying half the nights. Wrong. The "promotion" was for four nights, but booking.com only showed total cost so no way of knowing it was different each night. Instead of 102/night, we were now faced with 130/night. Despite our inability to know that ahead of time, since our emails regarding booking.com were ignored, they were inflexible. After some push back in our high school French, came down to 125 forcash, then somehow 120 at checkout. Not a pleasant experience, made more painful as it not a 130 euro/night hotel. Especially because we had to clean the toilet ourselves when we arrived.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#100 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#803 of 1,791 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Clairefontaine
Hotel Clairefontaine
#1,355 of 1,791 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Ariane Montparnasse
Hotel Ariane Montparnasse
#411 of 1,791 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Montparnasse
le 55 montparnasse Hotel
le 55 montparnasse Hotel
#869 of 1,791 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#134 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agenor

Address: 22 rue Cels | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,489 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agenor 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of PARIS, in a quiet side street of the lively Montparnasse neighborhood, the staff of the 2 Star family run Hotel AGENOR is looking forward to sharing its love of PARIS with you. Our location is ideal: 200 meters to the Metro station Gaîté and 400 meters to the Montparnasse train station and the CDG and Orly Airports Shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Agenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agenor Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Agenor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.