We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has what you need, with a little Paris charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Agenor

Save Saved
You added Hotel Agenor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Agenor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 rue Cels | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,167 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Has what you need, with a little Paris charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my Aunt for five days. The location was perfect- close to the train station, places to eat, bakeries, cafes, shops, at the Metro. We walked to the Eiffel Tower the first day, though that was quite a hike there and back. For later trips to Paris central, we could get there in 10-15 minutes via the Metro.

There is no AC, but in late May/ early June, opening the windows was just perfect. At night, we kept them open and I'd sit next to them and just enjoy the noise of the city.

I couldn't tell if the shower was just old or if it needed a better scrub in the corners. The rest of the bathroom was clean.

In our room specifically, we had a laugh at the light switch placement- on the headboard, right behind the pillow spot.

The staff was VERY nice. I admitted I only knew a little French upon arrival, and when I looked up how to ask for our room key (Thirty Three, please!) in French, the manager was thrilled. They gave us maps and recommendations for exploring the area.

Overall, I'd call this a great place to sleep, shower, and get back to exploring the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
11
32
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

For Paris is the Price/Value rate good. Very smal rooms. Simple Breakfast with industrial products. Around the a hotel some nice bars.
Tip: No spaces for cars around. You will get a Ticket very fast for wrong parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Montparnesse station and price. We only stayed one night as we were catching the train to the west coast of France. It meet both these criteria well. It was about a five minute walk from where the airport bus dropped us at Montparnesse station. The room was clean, with a newly renovated bathroom. Yes the room was small but it was at the back of the hotel and quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful eventhough they spoke only a little english. The room appeared not to have air conditioning but was heated. There was a lift which was very small as with most Parisienne hotels, it stopped between floors on a small landing so if you are not fit or carry large luggage this hotel may not be suitable for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hotel Agenor (Montparness) - After spending 5 nights at this hotel, I'm on the fence as to whether I would recommend it to anyone. If you're thinking about staying here, set your expectation bar on the lowest setting and you might not be disappointed. Extremely small room. Bed is old and tired. Carpet is desperate need of cleaning. Grout in shower is moldy in places. And in all my travels, I have never met a set of towels that needed to be relegated to rags more than what we were given each day. On the positive side, the water pressure in the shower was phenominal. By far the best we experienced on our trip.

Although the hotel is on a side street, there was so much street noise coming from Rue de Maine that both my wife and I had to use earplugs to get a decent night sleep. We had breakfast at the hotel only one time. Not a discriminator either way.

The front desk folks were very pleasant. But for full disclosure, most of them knew little to no english, which would be fine except their website definitely stated they do. If you're looking for an affordable place to crash at the end of each night with basic ameneties, this might work for you. We were a little disappointed, but I think we set the expectation bar a little too high.

Note: When we made our booking a few months ago, they were ranked #683 out of 1838 hotels in Paris on Trip Advisor. Currently, they are ranked #1071 out of 1838.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

To make a long story short, we needed to adjust our reservation, shortening from 4 to 2. Since the initial booking was through booking.com, we were instructed by the hotel to cancel the entire booking and rebook only the nights we needed. Did not work, emails to Agenor saying such (and showing concern as for a short while, we were without hotel during busiest time in France) were ignored, so a kind proprietor at a prior b and b spoke French with them by phone. We assumed the price would be our original price divided in half, as we were staying half the nights. Wrong. The "promotion" was for four nights, but booking.com only showed total cost so no way of knowing it was different each night. Instead of 102/night, we were now faced with 130/night. Despite our inability to know that ahead of time, since our emails regarding booking.com were ignored, they were inflexible. After some push back in our high school French, came down to 125 forcash, then somehow 120 at checkout. Not a pleasant experience, made more painful as it not a 130 euro/night hotel. Especially because we had to clean the toilet ourselves when we arrived.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Although the room and sheets were clean, the bathroom had a bad mold problem and the stench was unbearable. When I tried to tell the staff about it, someone came to look and told me he didn't think it could be mold since the bathroom was cleaned every day, then shrugged and left. I was astonished!

The staff barely speak English and give contradictory answers to things like whether it is required to pay in cash at the end. Some of the description on our online room purchase (like the room having a safe) was false. The room is very small (that was expected) and some of the furniture has marks and deformations (I don't mind that so much as long as it is clean). Some of the staff were very nice, and others were quite rude to us.

I would strongly recommend finding a different hotel, there are others in the immediate vicinity that are the same price but seem much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed 4 nights late May in room on third floor. Room barely large enough for couple & only highlight was being able to open the window for fresh air. The room was not vacuumed during our stay and sheets not changed. Quirky little lift with room for one person and suitcase and circular stairs. Foyer appears to being prepared for painting although no work apparent during our stay. The worst aspect was the filthy condition of the shower stall and shower curtain which were covered in mould and obviously have not been cleaned in a very long time! A request to reception one morning for cleaning of bathroom was met with a nod although I was not sure my request was understood and not surprised that no cleaning was done. Also noticed that many of the tourist brochures and Paris maps offered were wet.....really? In summary this hotel is well located but very dirty, maybe suitable for backpackers as an alternative to hostels but really not suitable for 50's couple. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Agenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agenor

Address: 22 rue Cels | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,167 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agenor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of PARIS, in a quiet side street of the lively Montparnasse neighborhood, the staff of the 2 Star family run Hotel AGENOR is looking forward to sharing its love of PARIS with you. Our location is ideal: 200 meters to the Metro station Gaîté and 400 meters to the Montparnasse train station and the CDG and Orly Airports Shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Agenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agenor Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Agenor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.