We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moldy, no English” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Agenor

Save Saved
You added Hotel Agenor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Agenor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 rue Cels | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,195 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
“Moldy, no English”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Although the room and sheets were clean, the bathroom had a bad mold problem and the stench was unbearable. When I tried to tell the staff about it, someone came to look and told me he didn't think it could be mold since the bathroom was cleaned every day, then shrugged and left. I was astonished!

The staff barely speak English and give contradictory answers to things like whether it is required to pay in cash at the end. Some of the description on our online room purchase (like the room having a safe) was false. The room is very small (that was expected) and some of the furniture has marks and deformations (I don't mind that so much as long as it is clean). Some of the staff were very nice, and others were quite rude to us.

I would strongly recommend finding a different hotel, there are others in the immediate vicinity that are the same price but seem much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    27
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
30
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed 4 nights late May in room on third floor. Room barely large enough for couple & only highlight was being able to open the window for fresh air. The room was not vacuumed during our stay and sheets not changed. Quirky little lift with room for one person and suitcase and circular stairs. Foyer appears to being prepared for painting although no work apparent during our stay. The worst aspect was the filthy condition of the shower stall and shower curtain which were covered in mould and obviously have not been cleaned in a very long time! A request to reception one morning for cleaning of bathroom was met with a nod although I was not sure my request was understood and not surprised that no cleaning was done. Also noticed that many of the tourist brochures and Paris maps offered were wet.....really? In summary this hotel is well located but very dirty, maybe suitable for backpackers as an alternative to hostels but really not suitable for 50's couple. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hotel was booked through Venere. The trick is that they take payment in advance so that once you book you are stuck . Our room was on the third floor. The room was tiny and dirty with no ventilation in the room or the adjoining tiny bathroom and shower. So the windows had to be left open all the time as the room kept filling up with the smell from the toilet. The bed linen and towel were of poor quality. There was a telephone , with no instructions on how to use it. There was a small flat screen TV on the wall again with no instructions. The staff for most part speak no English and are not particularly helpful. The hotel is surrounded by tall flats so other people can see you if you left the window open.The bed linen was not changed despite requesting the same , even after translating in French to the receptionist. The staircase is winding and narrow and is a health hazard. The lift can barely hold 2 people and a suitcase. This hotel is probably suited for students and backpackers.

Room Tip: Do not book through Venere. If you change your mind you cannot get your money back. Try established...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed 4 nights here to escape all the Jubilee celebrations in Emgland. The bedroom was quite small, with no drawer space at all, but decent sized shower room with a window, which was nice. Could have done with a kettle in the room, but maybe that is too much for 2 star! Hotel is supposedly non smoking but ash trays are provided in the reception and bedroom, and on opening the bedroom window there was a full ashtray of cigarette ends in the pot plant area outside! Luckily the room did not smell of smoke. The breakfasts were good but as there are only a few tables people had to wait sometimes. The reception staff changed frequently and not all spoke much English, but why should we expect them to??? They didn't seem able to recommend anywhere much to eat out. We enjoyed Delibay - a Hong Kong restaurant on Ave du Maine and an Italian opposite - La Campagnola. The hotel was located conveniently being 5 mins walk to the nearest metro and a little further to Gare Montparnasse for the Air France bus to Charles de Gaulle airport, and the SNCF train to the beautiful Chartes Cathedral.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The petit déjeuner is superb for Paris hotels! One of the best breakfasts I have had at a Paris hotel. Plenty of croissants and other delicious breads, lots of great coffee, jus d'orange, all brought to me quickly with a smile. In fact, all service was provided with a genuine smile. I liked the price: about 70 euro/night. The location is great if you want a quiet place off the main blvds from which you can catch the train at Montparnasse in an easy walk tomorrow.

Room Tip: I would try to avoid the ground floor, where people walk right by your window, which, in the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days and paid 420 euros, and for this we got a room with a dirty carpet, mouldy bathroom tiles and grey curtains in the room and shower. In the 4 days we stayed the sheets weren't changed once, even on request and the bed wasn't made properly even once.
I agree with the comment of a previous guest about the pillows.
We could hear all the bathroom noises from the next room. The wifi was patchy on the 3rd floor.
One night we came back at 11.30 PM, and made to wait outside for nearly 10 minutes, while we could see the staff twiddling with a computer.
One of the days we were invaded by a strong toilet smell which disappeared by morning, by then we were too disheartened to even complain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Do not stay here. Comfortable beds. Moldy bathroom. Staff do not speak english. No wifi on third floor. Only take cash as payment without pre warning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Agenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agenor

Also Known As:
Agenor Hotel Paris
Address: 22 rue Cels | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,195 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agenor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of PARIS, in a quiet side street of the lively Montparnasse neighborhood, the staff of the 2 Star family run Hotel AGENOR is looking forward to sharing its love of PARIS with you. Our location is ideal: 200 meters to the Metro station Gaîté and 400 meters to the Montparnasse train station and the CDG and Orly Airports Shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hotel Agenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Agenor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.