We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had to come back. Even better the second time. Can't wait to come back again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jays Paris

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jays Paris
Save
You added Jays Paris to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Copernic | 16th Arr., 75016 Paris, France (Trocadero)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hingham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We had to come back. Even better the second time. Can't wait to come back again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed at Jays approximately six months ago and had to come back. The first time was a quick trip while we were in London last Summer. This time we planned a longer stay and thought we could see more of Paris. We, meaning me, my wife, and two children, ages 10 and 6. It is a small hotel, kids need to be on best behavior if traveling as a family. We wanted to again experience Paris away from the big hotels and crowds and Jays fits the bill. Travel enough and all the big hotels start to look the same no matter where you are. The personal touch of such a small hotel like Jays is something very special. When I say small, that only has to do with the number of rooms, not the size of the rooms. We had two adjoining suites and more than ample space for the four of us. Each suite was well appointed and decorated to make you feel you were staying in your fine Paris apartment rather than a hotel. The bathrooms in our suites were large as well. The common areas were spacious quiet and relaxing, also well decorated. The free wifi was an added benefit. If you are considering going to Paris for a short or long trip, what are you waiting for? Go! The first time we went we were a little intimidated about navigating the city as first-timers and with kids in tow. Jays made the city accessible to us. The second time the staff at Jays were at the ready to help us explore and discover more of this wonderful city. From Jay's location it is all right there for you. Walk to great restaurants, shops, sites, through interesting neighborhoods, and the local restaurants are not tourist traps. These are mostly small restaurants where Parisians from the neighborhoods surrounding Jays are dining. Slow down, emphasize your good manners, attempt to speak some French, and you will be welcomed around Paris. For the experience we were trying to get from our trip to Paris, the value was excellent. If you are looking for big hotels with 200+ rooms, four restaurants under roof, a huge gym, a pool, tour bus stops at the foot of the hotel, Jays is not for you, but if you are looking for small boutique hotel that can get you away from the crowds and allow for you to slow life down and enjoy Paris from within a neighborhood, Jays is for you. If you have not been to Paris before and are thinking about it, you can do this. Go to Paris. You will not be disappointed. Enjoy! Thank you to Judy and the staff at Jays for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    16
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
94
256
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Was there in September of 2010 and still remember it so fondly that was prompted to write a review even after so many months... that should say something about the hotel!
It truly is a home away from home. The perfect place to feel as if you own your own place in Paris without any of the hassles.
The boutique hotel (and I would equate it more to a luxurious bed & breakfast) is not that easy to identify -no signs, just a small plaque at the entrance. How lovely.
We had been in Paris at another hotel (not a very good one), then went to Brugges, then to Amsterdam to two amazing hotels so wanted our last night in Paris to be extraordinary.
We took a suite that faced the street. Something magical about opening "your" windows in a robe provided by the hotel to a balcony filled with flowers, while across the street there is an older woman watering her flowers waving a bonjour out to you.
You feel at home immediately. Check-in is done in the lobby/living room as you sip un noisette (expresso with a dash of milk) or surf the internet. (Only complaint I have is that once in the room they were having wireless problems and I was not able to connect in the room at all.)
Pampering is unobtrusive (chocolates and fruit awaiting in the room.) Then a cold small bottle of champagne delivered to our door. Judy, the proprietress is delightful and helpful. May I suggest that if you are not familiar with Paris to contact her first - she knows her city well. We were not in the room much... Paris at our private door entrance awaited for us to bid it farewell, but if there was ever a place that could have kept me inside, it would have been this one. It was the perfect place to end our visit to France!
When we return The Jays will have us on its front step.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

The Jays was undoubtedly a big surprise!
The Hotel turned out to be the Jewel of the crown in this trip, and since our return, I am "marketing" the hotel to all our acquaintances, telling them that this is one of Paris best secrets.
The meticulous attention for details was highly appreciated (Cashmere smuggler...)
The setup, the personal touch in every corner, the attire of the suite and the public spaces were delightful and just "right".
The restaurants album is a masterpiece, and above all - the service, the attitude, the attention and recommendations were suburb.

We are "heavy travellers" so we can spot and appreciate true quality immediately.
The Jays was far and above our expectations, and we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

My mother and I had been staying at JAYS for six nights.All staffs were very friendly and sincerity.Their recommended restaurants and a beauty treatment salon were all nice.The guest rooms of JAYS are only five . There is pretty,neat and clean all time. There are old portraits in the room.This hotel is near to Arch of Triumph , Eiffel Tower and Champs-Elysees street. So the access of the subway is good and there are a lot of fashionable coffee shops , bistros and bars which are open till late.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

This is the absolute best hotel in Paris. I have no doubt.
You will not find better staff. The location is great.
They treat you like family. My small kids love the owner!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I planned a trip to Paris and London for my granddaughters graduation from High School,accompanied by her mother. Since it was to be a surprise, there were many emails going back and forth between me and the fantastic owner and staff, to make this a dream experience. Jays came through on every level with high marks. Beautiful room, luxury bath details, bowls of fruit and other goodies always in the room. Central location near the Champs de Elysse with a view of the Eiffel at one end and the Arch de Triomph at the other, with great shopping inbetween. Jays provided a marvelous list of restaurants nearby that they had tested personally. Helpful directions were always given. They provide transportation to and from airports and rail. Tea and champagne always offered in their lovely gathering room....I could go on and on, but in summation, my girls arrived home glowing with happiness and raving about Jays, who thoughtfully sent me pictures they had taken of them. Our family will return to Jays.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Sorry to be the party pooper on this one - top of trip advisor pops in Paris - but if you are spending €440 per night you have the right to expect something very special. The idea is good - a boutique hotel of just 5 rooms - with a blend of interesting contemporary decor and some antiques, good sized bedrooms and a promise of excellent and personal service.

But the promise was far from fulfilled.

It looked good when we arrived. A pleasant seemingly helpful 30 something guy checked us in over a complimentary drink, giving us the low down on the hotel and with a few tips about the locality and then showed us to the room. Our suite was a good size yes but nothing very special. No view from our room - just a flat internal roof with some plants and a skylight over the manager's office.

It was a cold January weekend but the air-conditioning / heating didn't work properly and wouldn't climb above 19.5C. The management (consisting it seems of two identikit male managers - each doing 12 hour shifts. We saw no other staff during our 2 day stay) couldn't sort it out and in the end had to give us a portable heater on the second night.

The TV system was the most 'unuser-friendly' system I have come across. It was consistently locking off and we had to call the management up six times during our stay to put it right. In the end the day manager gave up trying with a polite but typical gallic shrug.

We came down for breakfast after our first night only to be told that it wasn't available as we should have ordered it before 7pm the previous evening. Perhaps our helpful check-in manager was not so helpful after all. Many apologies were then forthcoming but no breakfast! That evening we were reminded three times to order breakfast so the embarassment would not be repeated. So we did order.

What was on our plates the next morning was the simplest of simple continental breakfasts - baguette, croissant, fresh juice and coffee / tea, Fine. But very much a 2 star petit dejeuner in a four star hotel. (And not included in the €440 per night charge).

When we checked out we asked Day Manager to order a taxi to Gare du Nord. He do so and a few minutes later was helping us and our baggage into the car. As we got in he said to the taxi driver 'Charles de Gaulle, s'il vous plait.' Fortunately I overheard him and put the driver right. Quite sure it was a genuine mistake... anyone could have made it, couldn't they?!

Jays - ok at €200 per night perhaps. But €440 - you've got to be joking. Has the Trip Advisor Number 1 status gone to their heads. Interestingly, only one other room was occupied during our weekend stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jays-paris, Manager at Jays Paris, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
There were 8 managers on duty this weekend, not 2 as alleged above, and they have an entirely different story to the above review. We would however like our readers to know that JAYS’ staff work 8 hour shifts, not 12 hours. Also that our air-conditioning seldom goes wrong for long, as our maintenance company is available 24h/24h to regulate any problems that might occur. We provide guests with free access to over 150 television channels on large flat screen HD televisions with zappers that are simple to use and work perfectly. We serve breakfast every morning to our in-house guests and it is is a high quality Continental Breakfast in keeping with everything else we do at JAYS - and usually much appreciated by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jays Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jays Paris

Address: 6 rue Copernic | 16th Arr., 75016 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#28 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#69 Family Hotel in Paris
#426 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jays Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JAYS PARIS offers an original concept of luxurious hospitality in exquisite surroundings with spacious suites & elegant reception rooms.It is located in Paris’s Golden Triangle, an area which offers the very best in French lifestyle - a short wander to the famous avenue des Champs Elysées, the Arc de Triomphe, Trocadero & the Eiffel Tower.Built in the mid 19th Century, restored in 1999, refurbished & redecorated in 2006, refreshed to new in 2012, JAYS combines old-fashioned elegance with modern technology. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jays Paris Hotel Paris
Jays Hotel Paris
Paris Jays Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jays Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.