We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine as a cheap one-night stay near Gare de Lyon” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Aveyron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Aveyron to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Aveyron
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 rue d'Austerlitz | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France (Bercy / Nation)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,463 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fine as a cheap one-night stay near Gare de Lyon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

As we walked down the street to our hotel we passed a couple of 3 star hotels and then there it was, wedged between two 3 star hotels, the one star Hotel de l'Aveyron. The double room was tiny with only a double bed, a small side table and three coat hangers. The window was covered by two different curtains, one of them not much more than a net curtain. The bed was firm enough but with lumpy pillows. The shower room was so small that it was not possible to sit straight on the toilet because the shower cubicle obstructed it and the tiny washbasin was made worse by the shelf over it that you banged your head on when trying to wash or shave. The hotel is, at least, on a quiet side street. If we were having a real summer the rooms might have been very hot, even with the windows open.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    32
    41
    24
    19
See reviews for
14
48
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The only good thing about this place is location, otherwise stay away. The carpet, curtains, bedspread all stained and dirty. The sheets smelled of cigarette smoke. Bathroom was thankfully clean. No elevator and the stairs are narrow and curved, difficult to maneuver with luggage. Really....find another hotel.

Room Tip: A good room? Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel is really poor and simple but if you want to stay cheap in Paris consider I'Averyon hotel. Hotel is great located near the place de la bastille in the center of "historic" Paris. Don't expect too much but it is a really GOOD place for budget travelers!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed there for a couple of days with spouse and the hotel room was on the 5th floor there was no elevator in the hotel and the room was not well maintianed, the sheets were not clean. We did not have access to wi-fi on the 5th floor.

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor rooms, location is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Location and price were big factors when looking for a place to stay for our honeymoon, but this place is just terrible. All the pictures on booking.com are taken in the foyer, and create a false sense of security and our expectations have definitely not been met.

1. Stairs to the rooms are small, cramped, dirty, slanting to one side and rickety.
2. Our room reeks of smoke, though we booked a non-smoking room.
3. The bedcover has numerous cigarette burns.
4. The bedding wasn't changed during our stay, though the pillows, blanket and duvet cover smell of smoke.
5. The bathroom has a tile missing on the corner of the shower, so all manner of bugs can crawl in.
6. Walls are paper thin, thus noise from adjoining rooms are quite bothersome.

If the hotel didn't already have my card details, we would've left and taken our chances somewhere else. Please, pay more and stay somewhere else. This place is the centre of Dodgeville.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Bad hotel, dirty and full of mold. even.. the sheets are dirty!! The reception is restored and pleasant, but if you climb the stairs.. the "dream" ends! i cant forget.. the stairs were full of dust and the waitress had put the sheets on the floor, indifferent to the customers! the bathroom was painful, and very very small.
Listen to me.. better to spend more and avoid similar dives!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We paid 140 Euro for a room for 4 people including breakfast. Room was clean, functional, but basic. There was no A/C but the fan was welcome and the temperature was not a problem despite the hot weather in Paris that week. The breakfast was small but good. Location was the biggest plus for us- we wanted to be near Gare du Lyon. This was the main factor in deciding on this hotel for our last minute booking. We probably could have done better, but for a last-minute ( 1 week ahead of arrival) find, it was OK.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Aveyron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Aveyron

Address: 5 rue d'Austerlitz | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,463 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel de l'Aveyron 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chilled, recently renovated Paris 2 star hotel combining modern facilities with traditional decor located in a laid-back corner of the pulsating 12th district of Paris, just a 2 minutes' walk from Gare d'Austerlitz rail station and a few steps from the River Seine. Lively urban area offering a wide range of attractions and excellent public transport links to Paris. good choice of cafés, bars and restaurants ranging from Indian, Chinese and Japanese to traditional French brasseries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Budget Places so you can book your Hotel de l'Aveyron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Aveyron

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Aveyron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.